Jenifer P. (count-to-jen) - - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 1/17/2011


I first got swept up in the Dan Brown craze when The DaVinci Code hit the big time. I was drawn into that story and didn't realize the gaping holes in Mr. Brown's writing until I read this book. The story is as interesting as The DaVinci Code, but there are far more disappointing liberties that he takes with this story. The final pages of this book left me so disenchanted with Dan Brown, I tried to swear off his books, but picked up The Lost Symbol, which surpassed even this one in literary malfeasance.


The Camel Club (Camel Club, Bk 1)
The Camel Club (Camel Club, Bk 1)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 661
Review Date: 1/17/2011


David Baldacci writes a good book. His ability to create and shape such a diverse group of characters make his stories fun to read. The Camel Club series of books can be a little far-fetched, but no less enjoyable than other political mysteries and thrillers.


The Collectors (Camel Club, Bk 2)
The Collectors (Camel Club, Bk 2)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 446
Review Date: 1/17/2011


Another great book in David Baldacci's Camel Club series. Great character development, and he stays true to the characters throughout the series. A fun read.


The Color of Distance
The Color of Distance
Author: Amy Thomson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/29/2007


Not a science fiction reader, for the most part, this book is very easy to read. The characters and relationships are fully developed and you can feel for the main character as well as for the aliens. I didn't really want this book to end.


Hawaii Weddings Made Simple
Hawaii Weddings Made Simple
Author: Keri Shepherd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/30/2008


This book is so full of things I hadn't even thought of. It details cultural traditions that you can incorporate into your wedding, but doesn't limit them to Hawaiian traditions. The stories and commentary give you extra ideas that can make your wedding truly unique. Tons of contacts including phone numbers and web sites so that you can shop Hawaiian vendors without being there. Offers tips that have saved my time and my budget and my wedding went off beautifully.

If you're planning a wedding, reception or honeymoon in Hawaii, this book is a must have!


The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 9/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


John Grisham doesn't have his own voice for non-fiction. This was written very much in the style of Capote's "In Cold Blood". Grisham portrays the same sympathy for the characters in the same tone. The jacket of the book claims to infuriate you with the U.S. criminal justice system, but he does little storytelling in the book to prompt any strong emotions. Granted, the facts are well researched, but it wasn't really an impressive work.


The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 5/26/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Looks like I'm the black sheep of The Lincoln Lawyer reviewers. The book was good, though a bit cheesy in parts - typical Michael Connelly style. It was, of course, predictable about 1/4 way through, but the story and characters were sufficiently interesting enough to keep me reading until the end. I wouldn't go out of my way to buy this book, but it makes a great swapper!


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2246
Review Date: 12/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is one book that I refuse to part with even though I will probably never be able to read it again. The characters aren't incredibly formed, but if you know people you can fill in the gaps. The most remarkable thing about this book is it's feeling and the emotional journey it takes you on. It's an incredibly powerful and moving story. The only reason that I doubt I'll be able to read it again is because every single time I picked it up, I cried. Everyone I have mentioned this to has had the same experience.


Survivor
Survivor
Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/10/2010


I'm mostly a Chuck Palahniuk fan. I love his books when I'm reading them (for the most part), but they really don't have characters, a plot or storyline that stick with you. I was looking for one of his books and saw this one. Since PBS doesn't give overviews of books, I tend to go to Amazon to see what they're about, etc. After reading the storyline on Amazon, it sounded vaguely familiar, but it wasn't until I read quite a few reviews that I remembered I already read this. Typically, if I can't remember a book, it's not worth a second read.


1 to 9 of 9