Marcia C. (nursenancy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 50 - Page:
1916: A Novel of the Irish Rebellion (Irish Century)
1916: A Novel of the Irish Rebellion (Irish Century)
Author: Morgan Llywelyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 4/28/2012


This was a quick but interesting read. Taught me a lot about Ireland that I didn't know.


Across Time And Death: A Mother's Search For Her Past Life Children
Across Time And Death: A Mother's Search For Her Past Life Children
Author: Jenny Cockell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 11/16/2007


Not nearly as interesting as I had hoped it would be.


All But My Life : A Memoir
All But My Life : A Memoir
Author: Gerda Weissmann Klein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 4/28/2012


Awesome true story! Incredibly horrible details of what the Jews went through during the Holocaust. An inspiring book.


An Arrow Through the Heart : One Woman's Story of Life, Love, and Surviving a Near-Fatal Heart Attack
Review Date: 1/5/2007


Great story of a woman's return from the brink of death and how she coped with it all. Really made me think about things a little differently.


Best Friends Forever
Best Friends Forever
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 6/29/2014


didn't care for this book, characters boring, never finished it.


The Clothes On Their Backs
The Clothes On Their Backs
Author: Linda Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/17/2015


Tried to stay with this one but just couldn't finish it. I didn't care about the characters. Premise was interesting but the development wasn't there. Don't bother.


The Condition (P.S.)
The Condition (P.S.)
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 8/17/2015


I regret wasting my time reading this book. It started off great but went downhill after the first few chapters. If you like reading about dysfunctional family members who can't pull themselves up and out even when they are adults then this may be the book for you. It definitely wasn't for me.


Conversations With Eudora Welty
Conversations With Eudora Welty
Author: Peggy Prenshaw
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 7/16/2006


copyrighted 1984
"In 26 inteviews spanning a 40 year career, Pulitzer Prize winner Eudora Welty discusses her fiction and her life with writers, friends and critics, including Alice Walker, Reynolds Price, William E. Buckley and Walker Percy. Her wit, quirky charm, modesty and keen insight are irrestible delights....a gift from one of America's most beloved and esteemed writers. "


A Curtain Falls (Simon Ziele, Bk 2)
A Curtain Falls (Simon Ziele, Bk 2)
Author: Stefanie Pintoff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The publishers of this book like to compare it to Caleb Carr's The Alienist......that is pushing it a bit. Yes, the timeframe is 1906 New York City and the plot involves young women being murdered, but the similarity ends there. This was slow moving and I had to force myself to finish it. It finally picked up a bit at the end but by then it was too late.


A Death in Belmont
A Death in Belmont
Author: Sebastian Junger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/2/2010


This book was written by the same man who wrote The Perfect Storm so I was expecting a great read that would hold my interest. I am from New England and remember being very frightened of "The Boston Strangler" as I walked to and from school in the early 60s. Unfortunately the book lost my interest after the beginning chapter when the author told his story of his father hiring a handy man to help with some remodeling at their home. The handy man turned out to be Albert DeSalvo.


Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution
Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution
Author: Robert C. Atkins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 7/16/2006


The cover on mine is white.......


Durable Goods :
Durable Goods :
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 1/27/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This was a quick read and not a very good one. The characters are not well developed and you never really find out why certain characters are the way they are. I don't care for books that leave you guessiing at the end as this one did.


The Falls
The Falls
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 9/15/2006


Held my interest, kept waiting for a big revelation at the end but it never came.


The Gathering
The Gathering
Author: Anne Enright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 9/14/2008


I just couldn't get into this book. I know it had great reviews and all but I just didn't care for it. The characters were odd and the story jumped all over. I would not recommend it.


The Ghosts of Nantucket: 23 True Accounts
The Ghosts of Nantucket: 23 True Accounts
Author: Blue Balliett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/14/2008


Interesting stories of hauntings on the Island of Nantucket.


The Girl from the Train
The Girl from the Train
Author: Irma Joubert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/25/2017


I wanted to like this book....but I didn't. I couldn't wait for it to end and the way it ended was predictable from the start.


Good Grief
Good Grief
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 380
Review Date: 6/8/2006


Story of a 36 year old widow's first year without her husband.
Sad and humorous in spots as she learns to deal with dating again and rebuilding her life. 3 stars


Harvesting the Heart
Harvesting the Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 793
Review Date: 10/10/2007


Although I am usually a big fan of Picoult's writing, I did not care much for this one. The characters were unlikeable.


Heading Out to Wonderful
Heading Out to Wonderful
Author: Robert Goolrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/29/2014


Questions linger about the main character throughout the book but unfortunately the ending was disappointing and the questions are never answered.


In the Company of the Courtesan
In the Company of the Courtesan
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 11/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A disappointment overall. I kept waiting for something to happen in this book and nothing really did. Lots of descriptive information about Venice in the 1500s but that isnt enough to save this one.


1 to 20 of 50 - Page: