Debbie P. (YodaMom) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 8/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Intense, non-stop intrigue and unique world building. It was not written down, which I appreciate.This YA really was very detailed, there is a lot of work here and it shows. The historical background is so vivid, as are the characters. It was difficult to keep up with all the twists and turns. Honestly, there was so much going on it was almost too much at times. it is a dark tale of a family of magical people and the curse that haunts them and a 15 yr old girl. She wants to fit in with her peers but no matter what she is always turned from. Her life is about to change on her 16th birthday, she may lose all she loves. She meets a boy and he balances her somehow, his life changing along with hers. He has demons of his own, his mother is dead , his father acts like he is. All the people of this small southern town seems to be tied to the history of this curse, one way or the other. They have an old hate filling their hearts that carries this story to even a darker place.
I don't know if I want to read the next book. As much as I enjoyed this book I feel kind of battered and bruised after reading it. Maybe after some time ?


Beneath the Skin (Maker's Song, Bk 3)
Beneath the Skin (Maker's Song, Bk 3)
Author: Adrian Phoenix
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 8/23/2010


This installment in the Maker series, slams you right into the action and never lets you rest. I think it is even better than the first tow books and darker. There is also some of the sweetest moments to date. Fantastic !!!
Heather gives up her agent job to stay with Dante he is still having terrible seizures and is being hunted. It seems everyone wants a piece of him, of his power. His father is gone and the pain of that along with his powers are driving him over the edge. He struggles just to hold on to his sanity. Von, my favorite character really shines and reminds me why I like him so much. I would like to read his book someday.


Bengal's Heart (Breeds, Bk 19)
Bengal's Heart (Breeds, Bk 19)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 9/12/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first book I have read by this author and I know that it is well into the series, although I did not feel lost in any part of the story. It was well written for a romance and had enough action for my Uf loving side. I found it an enjoyable escape book, filled with romance and intrigue. The two main characters were lusty/sexy and a bit unbelievable at times. The fact that she had known for so many years that she was his mate and being a strong reporter did nothing with that ?!?! That was the only mayor flaw for me. I got over it and really enjoyed the book. I want to read more in this series, I need to know more about the Primal....


The Black Prism (Lightbringer, Bk 1)
The Black Prism (Lightbringer, Bk 1)
Author: Brent Weeks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/12/2014


A wonderful fantasy read filled with action, intrigue, and fabulous unforgettable characters.


Blood Legacy: The Novel (Blood Legacy)
Blood Legacy: The Novel (Blood Legacy)
Author: Kerri Hawkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/7/2010


Fantastic story, CSi meets vampire like creature. A well done cross of time periods with attention to details I loved it, the mystery of what Ryan is and the medical finds, so interesting. This is an educated twist of the ole' vampire/monster tale. Very well written, I can't wait to see what else this author has.


Bloody Kiss Volume 1
Bloody Kiss Volume 1
Author: Kazuko Furumiya
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/26/2010


Funny and light hearted, overall a very enjoyable read.


Can't Teach an Old Demon New Tricks (Demon, Bk 2)
Can't Teach an Old Demon New Tricks (Demon, Bk 2)
Author: Cara Lockwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 8/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A fun, silly, and upbeat paranormal tale.It branches off from the first book "Every demon Has His day" and tells a story of Rachel, Constance's friend, and mother to a devilish toddler. Literarily, she finds out her no good lazy husband has been replaced by a sloth demon and her baby is 1/2 demon. Cassidy, the toddler is hilarious, and the perfect toddler, LOL Sam a bounty hunter comes to town to take her husband in, yes, he's wanted. That's when the story gets crazy and just keeps going. A very enjoyable read with very funny lines !


Crave (Fallen Angels, Bk 2)
Crave (Fallen Angels, Bk 2)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 1/1/2011
Helpful Score: 2


JIm the semi angelic angel has another soul to save in this horrible game, between good and evil. I have a big problem with the constant reference to it being a game. It is a very sick game and Jim is willing to sell his body and soul not to lose his game pieces(souls). I was in sock at the sudden sexual torture scene in the story, no what it was but how it was described. I would have liked to use more of my imagination. All through the rest of the book I had that horrible vision of Jim on Devina's table, ick. It ruined the rest of the story for me. Jim is too sacrificing, yes that is possible.


Demons Are a Ghoul's Best Friend (Ghost Hunter, Bk 2)
Demons Are a Ghoul's Best Friend (Ghost Hunter, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 288
Review Date: 1/24/2010


a fun easy to read mystery that follows a Ghost Buster team to haunted school with a terrible history, covered up for years. There is an excited hunt for clues to the who, what and when in this story. I found myself laughing out loud with the main characters, great sense of humor. I recommend this series highly.


Ill Wind (Weather Warden, Bk 1)
Ill Wind (Weather Warden, Bk 1)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 516
Review Date: 12/5/2009


I love these books, the characters are strong and smart, and the story builds nicely. Fun read !


In My Wild Dream (Wild, Bk 5)
In My Wild Dream (Wild, Bk 5)
Author: Sasha Lord
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 9/4/2010


Romance with a predictable plot and a well learned older man with a young virgin ?!?!? Gag, how does these keep coming off the presses ? She is only 16 and off to find the man of her dreams, literally. He is a womanizing, angry, man looking for power not love.... the good part, she is strong a fighting, feisty character, she really is a fiery red head. She was the only interesting character in the book. Very vivid Smexing.


The Iron Daughter (Iron Fey, Bk 2)
The Iron Daughter (Iron Fey, Bk 2)
Author: Julie Kagawa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 9/1/2010


Fabulous, Thrilling and utterly fascinating. This fairy tale is even better then the first book. The world building is incredible as are the relationships of the characters. Puck, Meghan and Ash and a new group of fae try to stop a war between the winter and summer fae, but everything is not as it seems. They must risk their lives and the ones they love to change the outcome. there are so many hidden reasons, so many hidden faces, totally twisted !!! Loved it, a first class fairy tale !!


Kiss of the Rose (Tudor Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1)
Kiss of the Rose (Tudor Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Pearce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 9/14/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Two young good looking friends grow up together, train to kill vamps together, change into adults together.... then the female meets a young sexy man from the wrong family, who is everything she can't ignore. Her family and his arch enemies for decades...... who will she choose ? Sound familiar ? Well it is but thrown into the mix we have vampires, hunters and druids, all with interesting personalities and background stories. I found myself wanting to know more, needed more story, I liked these characters. this is the first book in the series and I think it will get even better as they develop. I will read the next one out in 2011.


Love in the Time of Dragons (Light Dragons, Bk 1)
Love in the Time of Dragons (Light Dragons, Bk 1)
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 8/25/2010
Helpful Score: 3


3.9 stars. First on the Light Dragon series. This is a spin off of her Asiling Grey series. Several characters from that series makes an appearance, tying the story together. Jim the dog/demon is back, and he is as funny as ever. This book picks up were Me and My Shadow ends.
Tully has a somewhat normal life as an apprentice mage. She is married and has a son she loves dearly. She suffers from dreams that are incredibly realistic and frightening. She is dragged into the Dragon world where she is accused of being a wanted dragons mate (Baltic) and therefore charged with his crimes. The problem is she has black holes in her memory. They must have her confused with somebody else, but these dreams keep haunting her. She struggles to brings her life together while trying prevent further disastrous complications for the dragons.
It is a nice fast and entertaining read. I will continue with the series. It did end in a cliffhanger, be warned.


Mortal Danger (World of the Lupi, Bk 2)
Mortal Danger (World of the Lupi, Bk 2)
Author: Eileen Wilks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 8/31/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Mystery, action, fantasy and love, what more could you ask for... great characters, and Wilks delivers them. Lily Yu now an FBI agent and her mate Rule Turner are still trying to figure out the whole mate-bond thing when a crazy preacher with a magical staff from the under-world starts causing all kind of mayhem. This brings our heroes Lilly , Rule and co. to a very dangerous place where they encounter many new beasties and (my favorite) DRAGONS !!!! Lily and rule are separated and yet not separated, this is heartbreaking. They are helped by pack members and magical friends to save themselves from a force bigger than either is ready for.
Oh, I loved this book. It had the right amount of all my favorite elements for a good story and keep me up reading most of the night.


My Immortal Protector (Immortal, Bk 1)
My Immortal Protector (Immortal, Bk 1)
Author: Jen Holling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 10/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A witch that can talk with animals, a gift she hates and tries to block from her life. An evil man that considers himself a servant of god hunts her and burns "witches" through out Scotland. He has hunted and taunted her since she was twelve, she can't live with the constant fear. She searches for the mythical Blood Witch, who may be able to remove her "curse". She travels far and meets up with a drunken handsome crippled man (in more ways than one) from her childhood that will change her life. They embark on a journey filled with terrors, triumphs and awakening hearts.
I picked this book up at a book sale not knowing the author. I am so glad I did I found the story engaging and was unable to put it down. It is a light quick read with "real" characters.


One Piece Vol. 3 (One Piece) (in Japanese)
One Piece Vol. 3 (One Piece) (in Japanese)
Author: Eiichiro Oda
Book Type: Comic
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/22/2012


Great artwork with original text !


Real Vampires Live Large (Real Vampires, Bk 2)
Real Vampires Live Large (Real Vampires, Bk 2)
Author: Gerry Bartlett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 11/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Funny, sexy and non stop fun. I love all her book in this series !


Succubus Shadows (Georgina Kincaid, Bk 5)
Succubus Shadows (Georgina Kincaid, Bk 5)
Author: Richelle Mead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 9/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Darker than previous books, Georgina is sucked into her worst nightmares. Her friends try to find her, some surprise her with their feelings, but she has disappeared. This is pure torture for her and those who care for her. She has dreadful event after dreadful event threatening to break her.Roman, Seth, Maggie, Jerome, Carter, Erik, Cody, Peter and Hugh the ole gang is still their with some new characters thrown into the mix, nasty ones. There was not enough Carter for me, I like him. Perhaps the next book. This one ending with us semi-hanging on a cliff...What will happen ??? So the series continues, YES !


Tall, Dark & Fangsome (Immortality Bites, Bk 5)
Tall, Dark & Fangsome (Immortality Bites, Bk 5)
Author: Michelle Rowen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 8/12/2010


Poor Sarah, she is cursed and now an evil Nightwalker. She is boing over taken by her dark side and Thierry (the love of her life) may have to stake her. If that was not enough trouble for her, she is being blackmailed by the wickedly evil Gideon Chase, head of the Vampire Hunters. She struggles to love one man with her two sides, both love different men. Thierry's wife wants to keep him and she has some secrets she's hiding that will cause more trouble... like I said poor Sarah.
Excellent action and non-stop intrigue and a wonderful wrap up for this series. I am sorry to see these characters go, they were full of surprises.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: