Reviews - Courtney A. (aggielawyer) - College Sta, TX

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
All She Ever Wanted
All She Ever Wanted
Author: Lynn Austin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 4/6/2009
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"At first, I wasn't sure if I would really enjoy this book. It opens with tensions between Kathleen and her daughter Joelle. As Kathleen begins to tell her daughter about her childhood, they then begin to discover the truth about Kathleen's mother's and grandmother's lives. It is as if each generation has different thread that weave together to make a tapestry by the end of the book. It was a little hard to get into at first, but by the end I really enjoyed the story."


An Arranged Marriage (Company of Rogues, Bk 1)
An Arranged Marriage (Company of Rogues, Bk 1)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 4/28/2009
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I stumbled upon the Company of Rogues series several years ago and recently decided to read the complete series in order. If you are remotely interested in Regency romance novels, I highly recommend that you do the same. The Rogues and their heroines all felt like friends by the end of the series and I was sorry that I'd finished the last book.

In this book, Eleanor's brother arranges for her to be raped by the Earl of Stainbridge; attempting to trap him and force her into marriage with someone else. The Earl quickly arranges for her to marry his brother, Nicholas. Unfortunately Nicholas is already working for the government in an attempt to uncover a plot to free Napoleon which requires him to conduct an affair with a former lover. From the beginning, the reader can see the potential for a true partnership between Nicholas and Eleanor but his clandestine activities cause him to distance himself from her. He calls the Rogues into duty to squire her around London and distract her.

After reading this, I can't help but wish that Nicholas had been honest with Eleanor from the beginning. Of course, that would have been a completely different story; but it seems like he would have caused her less hurt and she very well could have offered him wisdom on his situation--they're just so well-made for each other that you can only believe they would have handled the whole situation much better if they'd been working together."


Austenland (Austenland, Bk 1)
Austenland (Austenland, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon Hale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 1/3/2010


"This was a quick, lighthearted read. I enjoyed it very much and recommend it to the Austen enthusiast who has always wanted to step back in time and experience her world in person."


Bittersweet
Bittersweet
Author: Cathy Marie Hake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 4/4/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I selected this book at random after enjoying "Fancy Pants." I wasn't aware that this is the 2nd in a series, and wish I had read them in order. Other than that I really liked this book. Laney has long wanted to marry Galen, but he only sees her as his friends little sister. Just when he starts to realize that she is a woman worthy of his attentions, something happens that prevents them from being together. My only quibble with this book was that when the lie is told about Galen, no one among his family or best friends questions it. They also counsel Laney to move on and don't seem to want to give her time to grieve over what she's lost. Eventually, the truth is revealed and things move on to a satisfying conclusion. I enjoyed this book very much and will be reading much more from this author."


A Bride in the Bargain
A Bride in the Bargain
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 6/25/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Another excellent book from Deeanne Gist. Joe must find a bride or lose the land he's worked so hard to cultivate for logging. Anna signs up to go to Seattle to become the cook for his men. According to the author, this accurately reflected the subterfuge of the man who put this scheme together in real life. There is no doubt Joe and Anna are meant for each other, but each of them must deal with issues from their past before they are able to come together. One of the unique things about this book is that, while the characters have faith in God, the author makes it clear that they deal with strong physical desires for the other character. However they deal with it according to God's plan and maintain their purity. It is such a refreshing balance between Romance novels where the marriage date is irrelevant to consummating the relationship and Christian historical fiction where you don't think either character will know what to do on their wedding night. Joe and Anna know and that anticipation is very fun to read. As much as I'd love to post this book to share it with others, it is staying on my permanent book shelf. You'll have to buy your own copy. ;-)"


Candle in the Darkness (Refiner's Fire, Bk 1)
Candle in the Darkness (Refiner's Fire, Bk 1)
Author: Lynn Austin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 5/27/2009


"I was really drawn into this story, and am looking forward to the 2nd and 3rd books in the series. I thought it was very interesting to compare the Civil War with the struggle of the Israelites in Egypt--specifically the devastation that Egypt suffered before the Isrealites went free as compared with the devastation suffered in the South. This wasn't a feel-good book, but I'm glad I read it and recommend it to others who are interested in this part of history."


Christmas Angel (Company of Rogues, Bk 3)
Christmas Angel (Company of Rogues, Bk 3)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 5/5/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the 3rd book of the Company of Rogues series. I have enjoyed the entire series, and am on my 2nd reading. Leander Knollis, Earl of Charrington, was raised traveling Europe with his parents and has inherited his father's diplomatic skills. He also seems to have inherited his father's inability to fall in love. After watching his mother spend her life devoted to a man that did not return her affections, he decides that he will find a woman who is willing to accept a comfortable, yet loveless marriage. He is introduce to Judith Rossiter, the "Weeping Widow" of a well known poet. She seems to be the perfect candidate as her husband has left her penniless, she seems devoted to his memory, and she comes with two children, which Lee believes will help him settle into his life in England quickly. What he doesn't know is that any love she had for her husband died years ago. I felt that this was a sweet story and enjoyed watching this married couple fall in love."


Death by Darjeeling (Tea Shop, Bk 1)
Death by Darjeeling (Tea Shop, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 8/11/2009
8 member(s) found this review helpful.


"When I heard about the premise of this book, I knew I had to read it. I love the tea 'culture' and the thought of a mystery set around a tea shop in the south sounded so cozy. But while the idea was a wonderful one, the execution left much to be desired. When I read, I lose myself in the story and see the action in my head much like a movie. I was never able to do that with this book, and I think that is a first for me. There were several things that kept pulling me out of the action--the names of the characters were ridiculous (Theodosia Browning, Lleverete Dant, Samantha Rabathan, Delaine Dish, really?), the author included irrelevant details that felt like she was trying to show off her knowledge on various subjects, and brand names were thrown in everywhere--like how would the main character know that a man was wearing a Brooks Brothers suit unless she pulled open the collar of his jacket and looked at the label. I so wanted to like this book, but I just couldn't. I doubt I'll read any more in the series, which is a shame because the premise was so good."


Forevermore (Only in Gooding!, Bk 2)
Forevermore (Only in Gooding!, Bk 2)
Author: Cathy Marie Hake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 5/28/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Another excellent story by Cathy Marie Hake--I've not been disappointed in any of her books yet. Hope is a quirky, joyful itinerant cook that brings sunshine into the lives of Jakob Stauffer, his sister Annie, and his daughter Emmy-Lou. I didn't want to put this book down and only stopped reading at 2 AM because I had to go to work the next morning--otherwise I would have stayed up all night."


Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Author: Francis Chan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 9/11/2010
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I'd had this book for a while before I finally sat down and read it. Never having read anything by Chan before, I thought it would be a little dry and something that I'd really have to wade through. I couldn't have been more wrong. His writing style is clear and simple, but he addresses profound truths that have really opened my eyes. I highly recommend this book."


Gallimore
Gallimore
Author: Michelle Griep, Michelle Griep
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/10/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really enjoyed this book and will read more from Griep. There were so many interesting elements to the book--time travel, love story, spiritual attack and awakening--and I felt that the author handled them very well. The character of Colwyn seemed more true to what he would have really been in the 14th century and hadn't been modernized too much as some authors are tempted to do. While the book contains spiritual issues, I didn't feel like it was too heavy handed or preachy."


The Kingdom Keepers (Kingdom Keepers, Bk 1)
The Kingdom Keepers (Kingdom Keepers, Bk 1)
Author: Ridley Pearson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/21/2011


"I've had this book sitting on my shelf for a while, but decided to pick it up since I'm going back to Disney World soon. It was a very easy read, but so much fun. I highly recommend it for fans of Disney World. I can't wait to read the others in the series."


A Lady of Hidden Intent (Ladies of Liberty, Bk 2)
A Lady of Hidden Intent (Ladies of Liberty, Bk 2)
Author: Tracie Peterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 3/31/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"After reading the first book in this series, which was also my first Tracie Peterson book, I was hesitant to give her another try. This title made me much more willing to read more from Ms. Peterson. While I wouldn't necessarily read this again, it was a good and enjoyable story; a solid representation of Christian historical fiction. My only complaint was that the character Felicia's hatred of Catherine seemed a little over the top for the reasons given."


A Lady of High Regard (Ladies of Liberty, Bk 1)
A Lady of High Regard (Ladies of Liberty, Bk 1)
Author: Tracie Peterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 3/30/2009
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was my first book by Tracie Peterson, and I wasn't that impressed. It was just OK. The writing style flowed smoothly, and the idea behind the plot was good. However, there were a couple of elements that were so irritating, that they really affected my enjoyment of the book. First, it is clear from the very beginning who the heroine is intended to end up with, and the characters themselves start to become aware of this fairly early on. The annoying part is that the hero tries to discuss his feelings with the heroine on multiple occasions (I'd say at least five) and each time is interrupted by someone who 'urgently' needs to speak with him. I felt like Ms. Peterson was artificially drawing out the conclusion to that plot line. Second, the heroine was described as a 24-year old woman who was employed by a ladies magazine and seemed to be a character with sense. However, she, again on multiple occasions, puts herself in ridiculously dangerous situations without thinking or seeking assistance. It just didn't feel right that a woman with her experience could be so foolish. I'll give Ms. Peterson another chance, but if her next book is as irritating as this one, I won't be reading any more of her titles.

****minor spoiler****
One final critique that I have; there is a lesser character who, based on the situation of the two main families, is a very important person to the main characters of the story. During the plot he becomes ill and dies. It was a little unbelievable how calmly the other characters take his death, and I still don't understand how that plot line contributed to the overall story, except for providing for another occasion for the hero to be interrupted during his confession of love. *insert eye roll*"


Letter Perfect
Letter Perfect
Author: Cathy Marie Hake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 4/21/2009
9 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Another winner from Cathy Marie Hake. She is now, along with DeeAnne Gist, among my absolute favorite Christian fiction authors. The character Ruth was the perfect example of sweetness and imperfection--someone that you'd want for your best friend if she could walk out of the pages of the book."


Love's Pursuit
Love's Pursuit
Author: Siri L. Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 3/20/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the first title that I've read by Siri Mitchell, but it won't be the last. I devoured this book in one day and could not put it down. The story is told from the perspective of two different women in Puritan New England. It told of each of their love stories, but also the underlying story of God's love for each of us. This was a great story that I didn't want to end."


The Measure of a Lady
The Measure of a Lady
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 3/27/2009
8 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is my favorite Deeanne Gist book. I can't even put my finger on it, but I loved the storyline and the changes in the main characters--especially the love story of the main characters. Be warned that her books contain some real-life elements and not every character makes the 'Christian' decision, but moral comes through loud and clear."


My Life in France
My Life in France
Author: Alex Prud'Homme, Julia Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 9/17/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really enjoyed reading this book. After watching "Julie and Julia" I wanted to know more about Julia Child. This was different from a typical biography/autobiography, probably because she doesn't try to stick to a strict time-line (not that the story is out of order) but tells stories about different episodes in her life. I enjoy history, France, and food, so this book hit all those notes for me. Others might not be as interested. After reading this I want to get a copy of her cook books and try my hand at French cooking...though I actually don't care for French cooking that much. But Julia made me want to try."


A Proper Pursuit
A Proper Pursuit
Author: Lynn Austin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/27/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I have to confess that when I started this book, I wasn't sure I would be able to get through it. The main character, Violet, was continually losing herself in melodramatic imaginings and seemed very immature. When her father announces that he is getting married, she travels to Chicago with the stated purpose of visiting her grandmother but with the intention of finding her mother, who she thought was in a sanitarium. Through her grandmother and three great-aunts, Violet is pushed in different directions for her life and towards different suitors. During her time in Chicago, she leaves behind her childish ways and starts to figure out the type of woman she wants to be--and the type of man she wants to marry. I didn't want this book to end."


Rework
Rework
Author: Jason Fried, David Heinemeier Hansson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/7/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I bought this book last night, intending to take it to a conference next week. I ended up finishing it in 24 hours. The chapters are short and to the point, but there is so much great material to digest. I told a friend I'd let her borrow it, but I don't want to let it out of my sight. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone. While it is written for business starters, I found myself thinking about other areas of my life in relation to some of the information shared as well."


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: