Sallie M. (oldrockandroll) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 127 - Page:
3 Truths and a Lie: A Detective D. D. Warren Story
3 Truths and a Lie: A Detective D. D. Warren Story
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/26/2016


I really liked this story. Too bad it could have not been longer than 2 CDs. I really like the D D Warren novels. Each book Lisa Gardner writes gets better each time!


90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Cecil Murphey, Don Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 873
Review Date: 9/18/2013
Helpful Score: 3


I was really disappointed in this book. I wanted to read more descriptions and images of heaven. There was only a couple of page devoted to it. Most of the book was about the author's recovery from his accident. Granted, he has been able to help people thru his ordeal, but the book was an overall disappointment.


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 11/4/2012


I have read all of Linwood Barclay's books so far. This one is a disappointment. It really drags in places and usually his books I can't put down. Not so with this one. It is wordy in places and is not as good as his previous novels. There a lot of twists and turns towards the end of the book, which helps somewhat. This novel is just not one of his best.


Accused (Rosato & DiNunzio, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 12/29/2015


Another great book by Lisa Scottoline. I really like all of her books, especially the Rosato and Associates stories. The characters are so unique, quirky, fun, and down to earth. I look forward to the next book in this series.


Along Came Trouble (Trinity Harbor Trilogy, Bk 3)
Along Came Trouble (Trinity Harbor Trilogy, Bk 3)
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 6/9/2012


A friend of mine gave me a few Sherryl Woods' books to read. This is the third book in the Trinity Cove series. I thought it was the best of the three. Romance, mystery, and suspense. All of the books I have read so far are fun and easy to read. I normally don't read this type of book, but have really enjoyed them. Will read more by this author.


Beach Lane
Beach Lane
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/15/2012


I really liked this book the best so far of the Chesapeake Shores series. It is a fast read, full of laughter, tears, hope, faith, and triumph. Looking forward to the next book in the series.


Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, Bk 1)
Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, Bk 1)
Author: Jamie McGuire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 3/25/2013


I absolutely LOVED this book! Sure, Travis is a bad boy, but he has a good heart and really loves Abby. This is the first book I have read by this author, but will not be the last. The sequel to this book, Walking Disaster, comes out soon. It is from Travis' view point and I can hardly wait!


Before I Go To Sleep
Before I Go To Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 6/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book is excellent for a first time novel! The book kept you in suspense and on the edge of you seat I figured out part of the ending, but it was a total surprise. I can hardly wait til her next book comes out!


Beneath the Shadows
Beneath the Shadows
Author: Sara Foster
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/1/2013


This book did keep me guessing til the end, but I was not very impressed with the book. The ending felt very rushed and disjointed. Overall, a fair read.


Beneath This Man (This Man, Bk 2)
Beneath This Man (This Man, Bk 2)
Author: Jodi Ellen Malpas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/16/2014


This second book was even better than the first!! The characters are so real and down to earth. I am waiting to get the third book in the trilogy. This is so much better than the 50 Shades trilogy!


Betrayed (Rosato & DiNunzio, Bk 2)
Betrayed (Rosato & DiNunzio, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 1/30/2016


I love love love this book! This is my favorite book of Lisa Scottoline and the favorite so far of Rosato and Associates. I agree that the bickering could have been less, but it is part of the characters' personalities. I am really looking forward to the next Rosato and Associates book!


Black and Blue (Audio CD)
Black and Blue (Audio CD)
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/16/2015


This is the first book I have read by this author. It had a twist at the end that I was not expecting. Overall a fair book, nothing outstanding.


Bonnie (Eve, Quinn and Bonnie, Bk 3)
Bonnie (Eve, Quinn and Bonnie, Bk 3)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 2/20/2016


This the best book in the trilogy series of Eve, Quinn, and Bonnie. Eve finally has the closure and questions answered of what happened to her beloved Bonnie when she disappeared years ago. Every one is in on the final book and the end was very satisfying. Great book!


The Box: Uncanny Stories
The Box: Uncanny Stories
Author: Richard Matheson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 7/27/2013


Most of the stories were good, a few not so great. A couple of them I could not read because I just could not get into them. A couple I did not understand at all. The Box was probably the best one.


Call Me Mrs. Miracle (Mrs. Miracle, Bk 2)
Call Me Mrs. Miracle (Mrs. Miracle, Bk 2)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 1/13/2013


What a great book anytime not just at Christmas. Great fun easy read. Debbie Macomber always writes great heartfelt stories!


Catch Me (D. D. Warren, Bk 6)
Catch Me (D. D. Warren, Bk 6)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 8/8/2012


Another great book by Lisa Gardner! All of her books are excellent. She can not write them fast enough for me. Interesting characters and great plot line twists and turns. A must read!


Cemetery Girl
Cemetery Girl
Author: David Bell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/25/2013


This book sounded good from the synopsis, but it was really a dud. About halfway thru the book, it started getting boring and the last part of the book was such a letdown. Would not recommend it for reading. I will try his next book The Hiding Place and see if it is any better.


The Christmas Angel
The Christmas Angel
Author: Jane Maas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/5/2015


What a great story! I read this book in 1 sitting tonight and finished it only about a couple of hours. Good story, great characters, and a surprise ending.


The Christmas Clock (Dreyerville, Bk 1)
The Christmas Clock (Dreyerville, Bk 1)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/4/2013


What a great book and a wonderful lesson to learn. Quick easy read.


Christmas Jars
Christmas Jars
Author: Jason F. Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 12/23/2012


I received and read this book in 1 day. What a great book not for just the holiday season, but for anytime. You can't go wrong reading a Jason Wright book. Can't wait to read the sequel!


1 to 20 of 127 - Page: