Reviews - Jim L. (teachjim)

1 to 10 of 10
The Austere Academy (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk 5)
The Austere Academy (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk 5)
Author: Lemony Snicket
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 2/22/2008


"An awesome book in an awesome series. I wish it never ended!"


Clementine (Clementine, Bk 1)
Clementine (Clementine, Bk 1)
Author: Sara Pennypacker, Marla Frazee (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/31/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Clementine is a creative, outstanding girl. Junie B. has some competition! In a comparison, the majority of my students (Elementary level - 2nd through 5th) stated they would much rather have me read another Clementine book rather than Junie B. The kids have spoken!"


Duma Key
Duma Key
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 7/8/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An outstanding piece of work! One of the better ones he's had in a while - not like the recent ones he's churned out. This book reminded me of the early Stephen King writing - the writing that got me hooked on his writing.
I couldn't put the book down!"


Fish! A Remarkable Way to Boost Morale and Improve Results
Review Date: 4/5/2008
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An outstanding book! Everyone in our school district had to read it. The results/changes were amazing! I still carry the Fish Philosophy with me everyday. Four simple "rules" to follow and you'll never feel better."


Icefire (David Rain, Bk 2)
Icefire (David Rain, Bk 2)
Author: Chris D'Lacey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/20/2008


"Great series. Glad I got this second book just after I finished the first one. I didn't want to put it down."


One-Night Stands With American History: Odd, Amusing, and Little-Known Incidents
Review Date: 10/31/2009


"Written in short blurbs, this book is a quick and easy read for anyone. Even if you don't like history, this is quite an interesting book and sheds some interesting light on the happenings of the past. If they had taught this stuff in school, I know I would have been a lot more interested in history! The book is set up in chronological chapters and has a bit of everything. I found myself not wanting to put the book down. One side comment - the book seems to be rushed at the end - I think they could have easily put in quite a few more pages about more recent history."


Personal Finance for Dummies
Personal Finance for Dummies
Author: Eric Tyson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/18/2009


"A great text for getting started. Has some great tips and ideas. I couldn't get through it fast enough. Several friends saw I was reading it and asked to borrow when I was done - everyone said it was very helpful."


Schooled
Schooled
Author: Gordon Korman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/27/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Gordon Korman does it again! Here's another book that will capture you from the start. A book told by various points of view - the main characters. At first I thought it would be choppy, but this book flows and is a quick read. I couldn't put it down and am now recommending it to many of my students. Several have read it and agree, it's a great book and they have recommended it to their friends.
This book is now one of my top 10 Young Adult books!"


The Talented Clementine
The Talented Clementine
Author: Sara Pennypacker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/31/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Sara Pennypacker doesn't miss with this Clementine book. Clementine shows a different view and won't disappoint. My students (Elementary 2nd through 5th) love Clementine (as do I). Look out Junie B., you are about to be overtaken!"


The Whipping Boy
The Whipping Boy
Author: Peter Sis (Illustrator), Sid Fleischman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 2/22/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I read this book to my students (4th - 5th grade) every year and they always want more!
A great quick read."


1 to 10 of 10