Lynn S. (lsuth) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 6/17/2010


Fun quick read. The first in a series. I had already read one of the later books and found this one a bit slower to get started. It's a good story if you want light reading.


The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayers, Bk 1)
The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayers, Bk 1)
Author: Angie Fox
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 2/4/2011


The story is okay but not wonderful. It seems to stall in places. It does however have it's moments. The story is about witches, werewolves, griffins and demons of course. It didn't really have me involved with the characters. I don't think I will read more in this series.


Ain't Myth-Behaving
Ain't Myth-Behaving
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 2/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have read several other Katie MacAlister books and this one was mediocre. Both stories were slow to get moving.


Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2)
Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2)
Author: Alyssa Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 9/15/2010


This book wasn't quite as good as the first in the series. I found it dragged at times.


Audition: A Memoir
Audition: A Memoir
Author: Barbara Walters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 7/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Well written witty and a fun read. Covers many celebrities and politicians that Barbara interviewed. A lot of insight into her life. Worth reading.


Review Date: 1/2/2009


Jen has a weird sense of humor that makes this a fun read. She truely is a female dog through most of the book.


The Book Thief (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Book Thief (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Markus Zusak, Allan Corduner (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/17/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderful story read well. I did find the transition from disc 10 to 11 a bit strange. Just roll with it. I will say that at times I cried and at times I cheered. It was a great companion on my long drive alone to visit family.


Bouncing Back: I'Ve Survived Everything...  and I Mean Everything... and You Can Too!
Bouncing Back: I'Ve Survived Everything... and I Mean Everything... and You Can Too!
Author: Joan Rivers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/25/2011


It started out okay but then I got bored. I didn't finish the book. I guess I'm just not into self help books.


A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander, Bk 6)
A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander, Bk 6)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 4/22/2009


I have enjoyed this series very much. I will say I didn't love this one as much as the others. I still want to read the next book when it comes out. Many of the story lines do get wrapped up in this book.


Buy Ketchup in May and Fly at Noon: A Guide to the Best Time to Buy This, Do That and Go There
Review Date: 9/17/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book caught my interest for the briefest of moments. It may contain useful information but it needs an index. If 3 months from now I start to think about buying something there is no easy way to look up when the best time to buy it is.

What was the author thinking? If it's a guide you need to be able to find the info easily. I found it very frustrating to use.


Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Author: Diablo Cody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 2/4/2011


The book told the story of a girl who became a stripper for a short period of time. Parts were interesting and others dragged especially near the end.


Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, Bk 1)
Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, Bk 1)
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1427
Review Date: 11/22/2010


Interesting story with many fantasy characters. It was a quick read with some good plot twists. I will try another in the series.


Extreme Bachelor (Thrillseeker Anonymous, Bk 2)
Extreme Bachelor (Thrillseeker Anonymous, Bk 2)
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 8/11/2011


The book was all right but I found it dragged quite a bit. I won't be reading more of this series. I didn't find that the characters had much depth.


Farewell, My Subaru: An Epic Adventure in Local Living
Farewell, My Subaru: An Epic Adventure in Local Living
Author: Doug Fine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/20/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I really enjoyed this book. Doug Fine has a sense of humor about what he went through. We should all try and cut our carbon footprint, but it can be a lot of work. Goodbye my Subaru is light hearted and educational all at the same time.


Full Moon Rising (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 1)
Full Moon Rising (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 1)
Author: Keri Arthur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 641
Review Date: 11/18/2008


First in the series. Not the best book I've read but it was interesting. I liked the fact that she is more than just a werewolf. I will try the next book in the series.


The Ghost and Mrs. McClure (Haunted Bookshop, Bk 1)
The Ghost and Mrs. McClure (Haunted Bookshop, Bk 1)
Author: Alice Kimberly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 3/8/2009


Wonderful little book. Very quick read. A simple delight. I can't wait to read more.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3374
Review Date: 3/3/2010


The book took awhile to get into. It is an interesting story about a very unusual family that is quite dysfunctional. I do find it hard to believe it's all true.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2431
Review Date: 3/24/2010
Helpful Score: 2


A wonderfully written book. The story of what it was like in the 1960's in the south really rings true. You can't help but feel for the characters. Well worth reading


In Defense of Food: The Myth of Nutrition and the Pleasures of Eating
Review Date: 8/7/2008
Helpful Score: 5


An eye opening book. Micahel Pollan has a wonderful writing style and doles out great information. I learned a lot as well as being entertained. It's a quick read and definitely worth the time.


The Killing Room
The Killing Room
Author: John Manning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


The book held my interest but I had figured out the ending a little more than half way through the book. It still had some interesting plot twists. Some of the scenes are quite graphic, so it's not for those who don't like violence. It was a quick read.


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: