Cass G. (Jrzy) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
The Adventures of Myhr
The Adventures of Myhr
Author: P. N. Elrod
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/6/2008


I loved this book! I have a couple of tomcats who think exactly like that, lol. P.N. Elrod is an amazing writer, and this book proved that she can cross genres quite successfully! She made me totally understand where both Mhyr and his wizard are coming from.


After Dark (Harlequin Intrigue, No 525)
After Dark (Harlequin Intrigue, No 525)
Author: Caroline Burnes, Rebecca York
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/10/2007


This Harlequin Intrigue 2-in-1 consists of "Counterfeit Wife" by Rebecca York and "Familiar Stranger" by Caroline Burns. We all know that anything can happen "After Dark!"

In "Counterfeit Wife," when a madman tries to kill her, there's only one man Marianne can turn to: Tony Marco, her childhood hero. Tony once vowed to stay away from Marianne - can he resist her when they are holed up together as "husband and wife?"

The Familar Stranger came to her by night and left before dawn, never knowing they had created a child. Now their son has been kidnapped and Molly must find her mystery lover. Little does she know he will find her first...and take her captive for her own safety!

This book is an excellent read, fast-paced and well written.


American Vampire
American Vampire
Author: Jennifer Armintrout
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 4/27/2015


I did not expect this book to be much. It has been in my TBR pile forever. (Got it in 2011, lol.) I started reading it last night, just to break up the series I've been reading a bit. Was I surprised! I wound up staying awake till 4 a.m. to read it to the end! Five stars! Great storyline, great believeable characters. I loved it!


Beneath a Blood Red Moon (Alliance Vampires, Bk 1)
Beneath a Blood Red Moon (Alliance Vampires, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon Drake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/10/2007


Shannon Drake is well known for her breathtaking stories of irresistable passion. In this book, she sends the reader from the antebellum South to contemporary New Orleans, and explores the dark, sensuous world of love and immortality -- beauty and the beast who some know as Vampire! I loved this book!


Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Rowen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 425
Review Date: 5/10/2007
Helpful Score: 5


"Dear Mom, I might be a wee bit late for Cousin Missy's wedding. It's been a tough week. Turns out, my blind date from hell was literally FROM HELL! Guy bit me. Next thing I know I'm being chased all over the city by vampire hunters. Oh, and did I mention, I got fired, too?"

This hilariously funny romp through the underworld of Toronto is worth every penny I spent on it, and you will enjoy it immensely too.


Blood Game
Blood Game
Author: Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/11/2010


The third in Yarbro's series of novels about the handsome, mysterious, and ageless Ragoczy Sanct' Germain Franciscus, Blood Games is a tale of love and horror set during the last chaotic days of Nero's Rome - a time marked by excesses of high living, cruel violence, and intricate political intrigue.
Central to the novel are the grat Games in the Circus Maximus that are so enjoyed by the mad emperor. As a wealthy foreign resident in Rome, Sanct' Germain witnesses the shocking atrocities committed during these spectacles, and a scandalous injustice forces him to become involved with the gladiators and bestiarii who participate in the arena's deadly competition.
When Sanct' Germain attempts to save the woman he loves - a woman tortured by a perverted and sadistic husband - his own life is threatened, and he must finally weigh the cost of sharing his dark, inviolable secret.
A richly detailed setting in one of history's most fascinating periods combines with a fast-paced story of political danger, private passion, and the awesome magical arts of the hero to carry Blood Games along to a thrilling finish.


A Darker Crimson (Crimson City, Bk 4)
A Darker Crimson (Crimson City, Bk 4)
Author: Carolyn Jewel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 8/30/2007


This book was sort of dark, just like Crimson City itself. I loved it! The vampire is absolutely yummy!


Darkness Eternal: Red Handed / Blacklisted (Alien Huntress Young Adult, Bks 1-2)
Review Date: 4/1/2013


This book was never published. frome Gena's official website

http://members.genashowalter.com/page/ask-or-view-questions

Q: What is Darkness Eternal? I have found a link at the bookstore, but no other information.

A: Darkness Eternal was to be a compilation of Red Handed and Blacklisted, but it was never printed. The online links found at several stores simply haven't been taken down. I'm sorry for the confusion.


Dead By Dusk (Alliance Vampires, Bk 6)
Dead By Dusk (Alliance Vampires, Bk 6)
Author: Shannon Drake
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 5/10/2007


The rustic waterfront village of Bella vIsta seems like something from an Italian postcard - until young women start disappearing, only to be found later, horribly mutilated. The police fear a sexual killer is at work; something to be hushed up to keep the tourists calm. But the fear in the eyes of the locals says it all: the murders are starting again.

This thriller kept me spellbound all the way to the surprise ending (which I thought I saw coming but boy, was I wrong)!


The Drafter (Peri Reed Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Drafter (Peri Reed Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/15/2015


This is from the author's Facebook blog:
"The Drafter is my commentary on Alzheimer's disease and those afflicted with it, being erased day by day, and their heavy dependency on first their intuition and patterns to hide the breaks, and their eventual and utter dependency upon those they loved to keep them to the person they were. That's what Peri Reed is about, Charlie Brown."


The Drafter (Peri Reed Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Drafter (Peri Reed Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/15/2015


This is from the author's Facebook blog:
"The Drafter is my commentary on Alzheimer's disease and those afflicted with it, being erased day by day, and their heavy dependency on first their intuition and patterns to hide the breaks, and their eventual and utter dependency upon those they loved to keep them to the person they were. That's what Peri Reed is about, Charlie Brown."


Drinking Midnight Wine
Drinking Midnight Wine
Author: Simon R. Green
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/12/2009


I didn't know what to expect when I hose this book, but I love Green's Nightside, Deathstalker and Hawk & Fisher novels. In chronological publishing order, Drinking Midnight Wine was written before any of the Nightside novels, and you can see Green fleshing out the idea of the Nightside in this book. I am very glad I read it!


Eternal (Clare Point)
Eternal (Clare Point)
Author: V.K. Forrest
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/28/2014


This murder mystery starts fairly quickly, and then drags through the middle, and ends pretty excitingly. As it is the first one, I expect her to improve. In any event, I read it in one night, so it wasn't horrible! After the second one I will decide whether I want any more of them or not. But I did give it 4 out of 5 stars (Probably should have been 3, but I was interested enough to finish it.)


False Dawn
False Dawn
Author: Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 2/9/2010


It is the turn of the twenty-first century. War, disease, and pollution have made the Earth nearly unfit for human habitation. In American, food is scarce, and what food remains is quickly confiscated by the Pirates - a murderous band of raiders determined to save themselves and to destroy the last stronghold of civilized human beings - the mutant population. One of these mutants, a woman named Thea, has eluded the Pirates for years. Armed only with a crossbow, her pride, and common sense, she has been slowly making her way Eastward....Until she meets Evan Montague, a man who needs her help, a man who is also on the run from the Pirates, he once led the Pirates himself and has now become their most bitter and hunted enemy.


False Dawn
False Dawn
Author: Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 2/9/2010


It is the turn of the twenty-first century. War, disease, and pollution have made the Earth nearly unfit for human habitation. In American, food is scarce, and what food remains is quickly confiscated by the Pirates - a murderous band of raiders determined to save themselves and to destroy the last stronghold of civilized human beings - the mutant population. One of these mutants, a woman named Thea, has eluded the Pirates for years. Armed only with a crossbow, her pride, and common sense, she has been slowly making her way Eastward....Until she meets Evan Montague, a man who needs her help, a man who is also on the run from the Pirates, he once led the Pirates himself and has now become their most bitter and hunted enemy.


False Dawn
False Dawn
Author: Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 2/9/2010


It is the turn of the twenty-first century. War, disease, and pollution have made the Earth nearly unfit for human habitation. In America, food is scarce, and what food remains is quickly confiscated by the Pirates - a murderous band of raiders determined to save themselves and to destroy the last stronghold of civilized human beings - the mutant population.

One of these mutants, a woman named Thea, has eluded the Pirates for years. Armed only with a crossbow, her pride, and common sense, she has been slowly making her way Eastward....Until she meets Evan Montague, a man who needs her help, a man who is also on the run from the Pirates, he once led the Pirates himself and has now become their most bitter and hunted enemy.


Forbidden
Forbidden
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/1/2013


From her website

Forbidden is a novella from Subterranean Press...It will be released in two formats: 1000 leather-bound signed & numbered hardcovers (with an additional two illustrations), plus unsigned cloth-bound hardcovers (also a limited run to be determined, but not less than 5000 copies)

Please note that this is a 200+ page novella, not a full-length novel. There are plans for an eBook edition.


Heart of Dreams (Silhouette Shadows, No 55)
Heart of Dreams (Silhouette Shadows, No 55)
Author: Jeanne Rose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/16/2008


This book was grabbed at a yard sale to fill out a 5-for-a-quarter offer. I didn't really expect to like it, but it is surprisingly good. I read it in two days.


Hotel Transylvania
Hotel Transylvania
Author: Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/11/2010


To provide a description during a mouse-over.



Path of the eclipse

Fourth in the Count de Saint-Germain series of historical sex/blood/horror novels, as the immortal vampire is trapped in Asia during the mongol invasion, St. Germain finds love, and loses it.

Forced to flee, he confronts the demons that plague his heart and tear at his soul. Warlord T'en Chih-Yu, daughter of a dead general, is in the capital city Lo-Yang to beg aid in fighting Temujin (Jenghis), whose men leave pyramids of severed heads throughout her district. But official help is unavailable.

She turns at last to 3000-year-old Saint-Germain, known in this period of his interminable life as Shih Ghieh-Man. He closes up his home, rides out to Chih-Yu's fortress, orders a moat dug, stakes sharpened, a drawbridge built. Battles ensue.

After she dies in battle, he goes to a Tibetan lamasery, meets its very Great Master (a nine-year-old Buddhist) and the beauteous rajah's daughter Tamasrajasi; and all ends in an apocalyptic fantasy as naked and blood-drenched Tamasrajasi dances at a death-orgy for goddess Kali, castrating twelve willing lovers and slitting their throats. . . .

Hotel Transylvania

The Comte de Saint-Germaine turns up in Paris in 1743 to renovate his old haunt, the Hotel Transylvania. He is not only an alchemist, possessor of the Philosopher's Stone (and therefore fabulously wealthy), but also a vampire, and therefore immortal, with memories of Akhenaton, Socrates, and Velasquez.

But discard your preconceptions--this vampire is no force for evil; he merely has kinky tastes in food and sex. He falls desperately in love with beautiful, innocent, bluestocking Madeleine de Montalia, fresh out of the convent - where she was often criticized for her own "bizarre interests" in the occult. She returns his love, fascinated, and though knowing what he is, eagerly overcomes his scruples, "feeding her rapture on the sharp passion of his kisses."

Uptight vampires are not the main problem around the court of Louis XV; there has been a revival of Satanism, lately practiced under Mme. de Montespan, and Saint-Sebastian, the leader of her disgusting circle, is up to his old tricks, determined to claim Madeleine as sacrifice for the winter solstice...

But Madeleine wants only to join her beloved vampire in the eternal love of the undead, "to live in the blood that is taken with love."


hotel transylvania
hotel transylvania
Author: chelsea quinn yarbro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/11/2010


The Comte de Saint-Germaine turns up in Paris in 1743 to renovate his old haunt, the Hotel Transylvania. He is not only an alchemist, possessor of the Philosopher's Stone (and therefore fabulously wealthy), but also a vampire, and therefore immortal, with memories of Akhenaton, Socrates, and Velasquez.

But discard your preconceptions--this vampire is no force for evil; he merely has kinky tastes in food and sex. He falls desperately in love with beautiful, innocent, bluestocking Madeleine de Montalia, fresh out of the convent - where she was often criticized for her own "bizarre interests" in the occult. She returns his love, fascinated, and though knowing what he is, eagerly overcomes his scruples, "feeding her rapture on the sharp passion of his kisses."

Uptight vampires are not the main problem around the court of Louis XV; there has been a revival of Satanism, lately practiced under Mme. de Montespan, and Saint-Sebastian, the leader of her disgusting circle, is up to his old tricks, determined to claim Madeleine as sacrifice for the winter solstice...

But Madeleine wants only to join her beloved vampire in the eternal love of the undead, "to live in the blood that is taken with love."


1 to 20 of 36 - Page: