Carolyn R. (yankeechick) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Agony and the Ecstasy : A Biographical Novel of Michelangelo
The Agony and the Ecstasy : A Biographical Novel of Michelangelo
Author: Irving Stone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 7/25/2007


One of my all time favorite books. Too bad I picked it up after my trip to Italy. Makes me want to go back.....


A Confederacy Of Dunces (Large Print)
A Confederacy Of Dunces (Large Print)
Author: John Kennedy Toole
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/16/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Someone lent me this book to read. It is completely out of my genre, but I read it anyway. It wasn't until I finished it that I realized how great a story it is. Absurd and heartfelt, that is all I can say.


The Foreign Correspondent (Night Soldiers, Bk 9)
The Foreign Correspondent (Night Soldiers, Bk 9)
Author: Alan Furst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/7/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This is the first book I read by Alan Furst. I was pleasantly surpirsed. The book thoroughly holds your attention from beginning to end. Plenty of suspense, and a few good laughs in between. Definitely recommend it.


The Gun Seller
The Gun Seller
Author: Hugh Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 8/16/2007
Helpful Score: 3


It is almost like he was channeling House ten years before he would play him. I love Hugh Laurie. Bursted out laughing when I read the opening line! :)


The Historian
The Historian
Author: Elizabeth Kostova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 982
Review Date: 7/6/2007
Helpful Score: 6


To me, the whole book was ludicrous. There were absolutely no likeable characters, the writing bored me to tears, and the plot was so silly as to be laughable. It takes some serious flaws for me to write a review like this.


The Medici Dagger
The Medici Dagger
Author: Cameron West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/25/2007


Quite possibly the worst book I've ever read.


The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk 4)
The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk 4)
Author: Lemony Snicket
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 7/17/2007


I couldn't get past the third book. I found the stories to be too distrurbing, though I thought the writing was clever.


The Murderer's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 6)
The Murderer's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 6)
Author: Margaret Frazer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/27/2007


Why is this book incredibly hard to find?


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1567
Review Date: 8/30/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The first book in a fabulous series. It makes you laugh and cry, and really makes you wish you were in Scotland. Instantly fell inlove with Jamie Fraser. I've told everyone I know to read this series, and they've loved it too. And if I'm not mistaken, Jamie and Claire are mentioned in "The Time Traveler's Wife".


Power and Imagination : City-States in Renaissance Italy
Power and Imagination : City-States in Renaissance Italy
Author: Lauro Martines
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/30/2007


In my opinion, Lauro Martines is the leading authority on the Italian Renaissance. You won't be disappointed.


The Shroud of the Thwacker
The Shroud of the Thwacker
Author: Chris Elliott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/16/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Yeah, I read it. I'm not ashamed to say so. It is such a ridiculous book that had me bursting out laughing. If you want a good giggle and are not looking for heavy fare, this one will do the trick.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5265
Review Date: 3/12/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book was hauntingly beautiful. Quite addictive at times. It can be a bit confusing jumping backwards and forwards through time, but the story totally compels you to ignore all that and just enjoy the main characters, especially Henry.


The Unlikely Spy
The Unlikely Spy
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 8/16/2007


I love Daniel Silva! In my opinion, it's the best book he's written so far. But I still love Gabriel Allon :)


1 to 13 of 13