Shari L. (shari) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
3 Minute Stories: Fairy Tales
3 Minute Stories: Fairy Tales
Author: Publications International
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/11/2006


A collection of classic fairy tales including Sleeping Beauty, the Frog Prince, and Rumpelstilskin, all condensed to take about three minutes to read.


5 Minute Good Night Stories
5 Minute Good Night Stories
Author: Publications International (Editors)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Tons of stories! Some familiar, like The Velveteen Rabbit others I never heard of, but all cute and take about 5 minutes to read.


Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day
Review Date: 3/8/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Alexander is having a bad day, and comically wants to move to Australia. One of my favorites when I was a kid, my kids don't enjoy it like I did.


Alexander, Who Used to Be Rich Last Sunday
Alexander, Who Used to Be Rich Last Sunday
Author: Judith Viorst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/3/2006


Great for teaching money and math.


Barney's Easter Basket (Barney Titles)
Barney's Easter Basket (Barney Titles)
Author: Donna D. Cooner
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/11/2006


Very cute for Barney lovers! Board book is shaped like an Easter basket with a handle cut out at top. Help Barney find 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 Easter eggs hidden on each page.


Bear in a Square (A Barefoot Board Book)
Bear in a Square (A Barefoot Board Book)
Author: Stella Blackstone
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/3/2006


A square-shaped board book. My kids loved it when they were little. Teaches counting and shapes with bright colors and easy-to-follow graphics.


Bert:  Oh, Brother!
Bert: Oh, Brother!
Author: Amy Adair
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 3/8/2006


Cute story about Bert dancing with Bernice (his Pigeon). He investigates sounds and the child presses the appropriate sound button.


The Best Mouse Cookie Board Book (Laura Geringer Books (Board Books))
Review Date: 3/9/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Mouse finds out how hard it is to bake cookies, but how much fun it is to share them.


A Child's First Bible Storybook
A Child's First Bible Storybook
Author: Sandol Stoddard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is an excellent storybook about the Bible, but not a children's Bible, like I thought it would be. It is a collection of stories, not in biblical order.


Clifford's Christmas Presents (Clifford)
Clifford's Christmas Presents (Clifford)
Author: Sonali Fry
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Emily Elizabeth searches for the perfect presents as you child lifts the flap to find the hidden objects in the pictures.


Franklin and Me
Franklin and Me
Author: Paulette Bourgeois
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/9/2006


This is a journal for preschoolers and kindergartners. Franklin the turtle shows and tells things about himself, and your child then draws things, or you write things about him/her.


Hand Rhymes
Hand Rhymes
Author: Marc Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Very cute book that has 14 hand rhymes or finger plays, including drawings of hand motions next to the text.


Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy With God in the Busyness of Life (Revised Edition with New Bible Study)
Review Date: 4/5/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I first heard about this book years ago from some friends who enjoyed it, but I was surprised how often I wanted to share what I read with my friends. I love this book! It's a great way to explore the Bible as well since Joann Weaver quotes scripture or refers the reader to certain passages. Weaver's anecdotes and humor keep the book interesting and spiritual. This is not a dry, self-help book, but a journey to becoming a better Christian.
One particular theme of the book is the encouragement to say "no" to the many requests you get to help others. You can't do everything, and you shouldn't try. God wants us ALL to help each other, so sometimes you have to let someone else take up a certain responsibility. Weaver also talks about leaving your so-called comfort-zone in order to serve others. It has been a remarkable aid to my meditations and prayer life.
From the back of the book:
"An invitation for every woman who's ever felt she isn't godly enough, isn't loving enough, isn't 'doing' enough.
The life of a woman today isn't really all that different from that of Mary and Martha in the New Testament. Like Mary, you long to sit at the Lord's feet...but the daily demands of a busy world just won't leave you alone. Like Martha, you love Jesus and really want to serve him...yet you struggle with weariness, resentment, and feelings of inadequacy.
Then comes Jesus, into the midst of your busy life, to extend the same invitation he issued long ago to the two sisters from Bethany. Tenderly, he invites you to choose 'the better part' -a joyful life of intimacy with him that flows naturally into loving service.
With her fresh approach to the familiar Bible story, Joanna Weaver shows how all of us-Marys and Marthas alike-can draw closer to our Lord: deepening our devotion, strengthening our service, and doing both with less stress and greater joy."


I'm a Little Teapot
I'm a Little Teapot
Author: Iza Trapani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Cute book starts with the "I'm a Little Teapot" rhyme, then tells other adventures that the teapot takes the children, all in the same pattern as the original rhyme.


I'm a Little Teapot
I'm a Little Teapot
Author: Iza Trapani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/3/2006


Cute adventures of the Little Teapot in the Rhyme. Each page is a new adventure using the same music.


The Mists of Avalon (Avalon, Bk 1)
The Mists of Avalon (Avalon, Bk 1)
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 615
Review Date: 3/2/2006


I love to read. This is by far the greatest story I ever read. I love the depth Zimmer-Bradley gives into so many of the women. She shows that everyone has good points and bad points, everyone does things they regret, but most people do remarkable things. I especially love the background given on Christianity. The prequels are also terrific (The Lady of Avalon and The Forest House).


Mottos to Live by: A Collection of Poems (Self-Help)
Mottos to Live by: A Collection of Poems (Self-Help)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/2/2006


Beautiful poetry and some inspirational artwork.


New Moon (Twilight, Bk 2)
New Moon (Twilight, Bk 2)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4068
Review Date: 12/18/2009


I was not really impressed with Twilight, but read New Moon anyway. It blew me away. Stephenie Meyer really pours her heart and soul into Bella's depression and it hurts reading it almost as much as she suffered writing it. I was completely immersed in Bella's character, and all her joys made me happy and her sorrows made me cry. Much, much better than the movie.


The Other Boleyn Girl
The Other Boleyn Girl
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2784
Review Date: 9/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed the story lines and historical references in this book and had a hard time putting it down. Before reading this book, however, I read its sequel: The Boleyn Inheritance. I was a bit disappointed that there are major inconsistencies between the two.
On its own, The Other Boleyn Girl is addictive. I stayed up many nights simply because I had to keep reading.


Ruins of Isis
Ruins of Isis
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/15/2006


Not up to the caliber of Zimmer Bradley, but an interesting read.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: