Ashley B. (Ashley1010) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 68 - Page:
50 Games to Play With Your Cat
50 Games to Play With Your Cat
Author: Jackie Strachan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Games galore for cats of all ages!
This book is full of ideas for ways to keep your cat entertained and to keep their mind and body active. Each game is pictured with cats playing with or doing what is described and are often simple things that people can do to keep a cat playful and young at heart.


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 1/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Great book about communication, family, and love. Some chapters are heart-wrenching and hard to read while others had me smiling or laughing. So sweet & so moving.


Belong to Me
Belong to Me
Author: Marisa De Los Santos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 1/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Marisa De Los Santos' writing is rich, like a decadent dessert that you just can't resist.
This book is the sequel to "Love Walked In", but I read them in reverse because I didn't know until first reading this book and then reading "Love Walked In" and realizing in the first few pages that the characters were very familiar.
Both are great reads and pack a lot of characters and story into a book you won't want to put down!


Can't Teach an Old Demon New Tricks (Demon, Bk 2)
Can't Teach an Old Demon New Tricks (Demon, Bk 2)
Author: Cara Lockwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 8/24/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is a chick-lit book with a definite twist. The story is fun and interesting. Cara Lockwood does a good job of keeping the story going at a pace where you really want to know what is going to happen next. Book was over before I knew it but hopefully there is a 3rd in the works for this series.

Hopefully anyone who reads this has an open mind on religious characters as the author pokes fun at the good and bad. This book title/ cover might raise a few eyebrows in your work breakroom as it did for me - it prompted a church conversation or two (same with the 1st in this series "Every Demon Has His Day").


Cat Body Language Phrasebook: 100 Ways to Read Their Signals
Cat Body Language Phrasebook: 100 Ways to Read Their Signals
Author: Trevor Warner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/2/2010


An informative book with lots to read; photos are included of cats expressing all of the 100 forms of body language. Also look for the bonus (!) features on some of the pages that further explain a certain expression.


Cat Naps: The Key to Contentment
Cat Naps: The Key to Contentment
Author: Gift Books
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/16/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is a great little book where each page has close-up cat or kitten pictures with quotes (from famous authors, etc.) that will make anyone smile. Great for the cat lover!!!


Catalyst (Barque Cats, Bk 1)
Catalyst (Barque Cats, Bk 1)
Author: Anne McCaffrey, Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


My husband is a huge Anne McCaffrey fan (and we are both cat lovers) so I grabbed it for him when I saw it in the "new" section at our local library. He started reading it and suggested that I read it. I am not a sci-fi reader but he convinced me to give it a try. The characters are not only people, but the reader hears from several cats as well. POV changes from human to cat and does make it interesting. My only negative: A few things (concerning cats) were explained by the authors in a way that made it seem that they thought their readers would know nothing about cats; this I thought was kind of funny, seeing that more than likely people that like & know cats are the ones to read this book. I think that cat lovers should "pounce" at this book, as I did!


Cats Antics and Attitudes
Cats Antics and Attitudes
Author: Hallmark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/16/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This book is great because it gets into the mind of our funny (and sometimes sassy) felines. Photographs and funny one-liners with what the cat might be trying to tell us (or at least what they are thinking about). Great book for the cat lover!


A Cat's Little Instruction Book
A Cat's Little Instruction Book
Author: Leigh W. Rutledge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


If your cat could read you would want him or her to have this book!
For CAT OWNERS this is a list of things we already knew about cats with a few things that might be their little "secrets"; for CATS, though, this book is serious business!
Tips for the cat include:
1) staying out of trouble,
2) living with and loving people, and...
3) how to live a better, happier life.


Cats (The Little Guides)
Cats (The Little Guides)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Informative cat book but I would really classify it as an "encyclopedia".

There are great photographs on every page.

It is small in its dimensions but it is a chunky 320 pages.


Charlie St. Cloud
Charlie St. Cloud
Author: Ben Sherwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/3/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This book caught my eye in the bookstore after I had seen the movie trailer on tv. I wasn't sure what to expect when I started reading but I was curious as to how the story would unfold. The story is about brothers and the bond they share... their relationship seems a little too perfect but maybe it is just the ideal. As Charlie grows up the story becomes more about loving and living. The more I read this story the more I enjoyed it!

Note: If you are Nicholas Sparks fan, read this book and get the Nicholas Sparks feel on a whole new level!


A Chicken Soup for the Soul Christmas (Chicken Soup for the Soul)
Review Date: 5/13/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Feel-good stories about christmas. None are sad or are really laugh out loud funny. love some of the comics, especially "wrong list".


Christmas at Harrington's
Christmas at Harrington's
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/11/2011
Helpful Score: 3


This was an easy, inviting book to read. It is a story about life and how it isn't always perfect. Lena tries to come to a new town to start over, but realizes that she can't hide from her past, and only succeeds when she is honest about it. She meets people along the way with whom she helps and others who help her in building her life again.

This is a great story about kindness, truth, hope, and Lena plays a great Mrs. Claus!


Counterfeit Cowboy (Love Inspired Historical, No 166)
Counterfeit Cowboy (Love Inspired Historical, No 166)
Author: Lacy Williams
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/16/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book following the train rides and travels of Jesse, Erin, and Pete. While Jesse and Erin come from different backgrounds, a friendship blossoms. Erin wants to be treated fairly and respected as a woman with valuable views and ideas. Jesse is rebuilding his life and has major decisions to make about how to do so.
My favorite quote "it also felt good to provide a kindness to someone". It really describes the theme of this book.


Cowboy Creek Christmas: Mistletoe Reunion\Mistletoe Bride
Cowboy Creek Christmas: Mistletoe Reunion\Mistletoe Bride
Author: Cheryl St.John, Sherri Shackelford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/19/2017


After reading the other books in the 'Cowboy Creek' series, I was pleased to find this 2-in-1 book. I really enjoyed both stories. Both have protagonist females that are interesting, one being a doctor who studied alternative medicine and the other traveling from another country to a Cowboy Creek knowing very little English. Each story is told from the same timeframe, so the story overlaps a bit, which I thought was a unique aspect.


The Cure for Modern Life
The Cure for Modern Life
Author: Lisa Tucker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I have read Lisa Tuckers other books and loved the characters and storylines. This book is very different than her others. I was often confused as to whether the story was speaking in the past or present tense. There were too many characters fighting for attention. The biggest thing for me was the major plot concerning the three adult chracters involved with the pharmacuetical industry, it was too complicated and involved for my taste and for what I thought a book by this author would be about. Some parts of the story were very sweet, but overall I would recommend any of her other books before I would this one.


Dakota Cowboy (Love Inspired Historical, No 59)
Dakota Cowboy (Love Inspired Historical, No 59)
Author: Linda Ford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/11/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Enjoyed this book until pg 58 but by pg 60 I had to stop reading. Unkind & relentless descriptions of an old horse and by the 5th or 6th one (just within these 2 or 3 pages) I just had to stop. It really ruined what might've been a good book.


Dave Barry's Bad Habits
Dave Barry's Bad Habits
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 11/14/2008


Dave Barry's writing is hilarious and will have you laughing out loud and wanting to read one of the stories to the person next to you!


Disney's Read to Me Treasury - Volume One
Disney's Read to Me Treasury - Volume One
Author: T;K
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/14/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Beautiful book for those that enjoy some of the classic Disney films. This is a big 400-page book with wonderful pictures that a)resemble the films and b)take up most of the page. Great for the ones learning to read as each page contains at most about a paragraph of the story. Would make a great book to read aloud too!
Stories included are:
Snow White & The Seven Dwarfs / Bambi / Cinderella / The Little Mermaid / Beauty & The Beast / The Lion King.


Do Me, Do My Roots
Do Me, Do My Roots
Author: Eileen Rendahl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 3/16/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Cute read. I thought this book was okay, but as I have read some of the author's newer books, this is not my favorite. This book has more levels than a typical chick-lit book, as it deals with health issues, sickness, and loss.


1 to 20 of 68 - Page: