Melissa C. (Tazlvr) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
Black Friday (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 7)
Black Friday (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 7)
Author: Alex Kava
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 10/7/2012


I love the Maggie O'Dell books by Alex Kava. She grips your senses from the 1st page, and then you have to hang on from there.

This book was riveting and a great thriller, The Black Friday concept is what caught my attention. I would never have thought about when I go out to a mall the day after Thanksgiving, that there would be a bomb at a place I would be shopping. This book will make you think about that, with the way the world is today.

All in all I really enjoyed this book, but the ending fell a little flat. If you are a Kava fan and a fan of Maggie ODell then you will enjoy this book. I hope that this story will continue in another book to help tie up some loose ends!


Blown Away (Storm Front, Bk 1)
Blown Away (Storm Front, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 5/12/2010


This was an excellent book and also a 1st in the series called Storm Front and it's the 1st I've read by this author. The characters of Cari and Mike were easy to like and were very well written, like they were someone you knew. I was drawn into the story and felt like I was there and part of the North family. The description of the locale was vividly written, I could just picture the land and the horrible Tornado that hit Louisana.

This is a fast paced read. I read it in one day and can't wait for the next in the series, which is called Torn Apart. I highly recommed this book and look forward to the next book in the series. I hope this review helps those who are interested in reading this book. I will be reading this author again and can't wait for another adventure.


Caine's Reckoning (Hell's Eight, Bk 1)
Caine's Reckoning (Hell's Eight, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 2/21/2011


This is the first book I've read by Sarah McCarty and it won't be the last. Hooks you quickly and keeps you there. Desi has been through hell and back. Caine went through hell and back when he and his friends were little,but is now a Texas Ranger.

I liked Caine from the first page. I found his hard exterior very attractive, but when he showed his sensitive and caring side that was when I fell in love with him. He wants to please and he doesn't disappoint there either!

Together Desi and Caine find what they both want, this story is of hope and love,laughter, family and having the gall and determination to see the problems through.

This book is an erotic historical/western romance. If you like this kind of book then I definately recommend this!


The Chase (Crime Scene: Houston, Bk 1)
The Chase (Crime Scene: Houston, Bk 1)
Author: DiAnn Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/7/2012


The Chase by DiAnn Mills is one of those novels you pick up to relax with, but find yourself so engrossed in the characters and their adventures, that you are exhausted and exhilarated by the last page. A New York Times bestselling author, Kariss, teams up with FBI agent Tigo to reopen a cold case from five years ago. A little girl was found starved to death, and now Kariss wants to find the girl's mother. In the chase, danger and romance surprise Kariss and Tigo. Really loved this book. It was honest, with characters that I grew to like. There were no easy, instant resolutions. The heroine/hero relationship is definitely a work in progress. I am looking forward to book 2 in the series.


The Cold Room (Taylor Jackson, Bk 4)
The Cold Room (Taylor Jackson, Bk 4)
Author: J. T. Ellison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 11/4/2010


Another thriller by JT Ellison. Taylor Jackson is on the hunt for "The Conductor" a killer so sick and twisted...he starves his captives.

When he's finished, he creatively disposes of the body by reenacting scenes from famous paintings. And it seems similar macabre works are being displayed in Europe. Taylor teams up with her fiancé, FBI profiler Dr. John Baldwin, and a New Scotland Yard detective named James "Memphis" Highsmythe, a haunted man who only has eyes for Taylor, to put an end to the Conductor's art collection.

I actually loved this book and was sorry to see the ending. This is the 4th book in her Taylor Jackson series and it is definitely worth the read. Don't Miss it!!!


College Safety 101: Miss Independent's Guide to Empowerment, Confidence, and Staying Safe
Review Date: 7/28/2011


Kathleen Baty's new "College Safety 101" (Chronicle Books, 2011) provides plenty of practical tips and helpful resources for any young woman heading off to college, spring break or a semester abroad. My daughter is going off to college soon and this book is an excellent way for her to prepare and even be aware of what's going on or what could happen if she was not very careful. She can pick and choose the topics that pertain to her as well.

*Practical tips for campus party, dorm and parking lot safety.
*Particularly strong on stalking issues - the author is a former stalking victim.
*Interesting segment on self-defense.
*Appendix of resources for extra information.

All in all this is an excellent resource for Girls going off to college. My daughter will be taking it with her when she goes.


The Cowboy Takes a Bride (Jubilee, Texas, Bk 1)
The Cowboy Takes a Bride (Jubilee, Texas, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Wilde
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 5/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


When Mariah Callahan inherits a small ranch from the cowboy father who abandoned her and her mother, she's down to her last dime after being fired from the wedding planning job she loved. She heads to Jubilee, Tex., thinking to sell her shabby spread quickly, but is surprised by the connection she feels to the land and to the father she thought she hated. Young widower Joe Daniels, her nearest neighbor, had vowed to hate Mariah, thinking she neglected her father, who was his best friend and mentor--but he can't deny their sparks, and her side of the story gets under his skin.

The Cowboy Takes a Bride is a sweet and appealing story. Joe is the alpha male, but with great qualities of compassion and sincerity. Joe needs someone in his life to challenge him and keep things varied, which Mariah does, but she comes off as a character that can be a bit self-deprecating and contradictory. Mariah spends a great deal of time trying to break down Joe's walls and help him realize that loving again is possible. When he finally starts believing in her, she starts to question him and gets insecure instead of being elated.

This is the first book I've ready by Lori Wilde and it won't be the last. I will look for more of her works and hopefully these characters will spill over to another nice read. I truly enjoyed this book.


Credit Repair
Credit Repair
Author: Robin Leonard J.D., Margaret Reiter Attorney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/30/2011


This is an excellent resource to have on hand when you need to clean up and or really fix your credit! Lot of tips that I didn't think of because you don't think you can fix your credit report. This book comes with as CD-ROM that provides forms, worksheets and sample letters to help you handle debts, clean up your credit file and avoid overspending. These are the key points in this book:

Assess your debt situation
Correct errors and improve your credit report and score
Choose the best repair strategy for your situation
Prioritize your debts
Negotiate with creditors to reduce debts
Add positive information to your credit report
Avoid identity theft and credit scams
Reduce mortgage debt through new government programs
Build a solid credit history

Remember, it takes time to fix your credit report. Don't expect it to be done overnight, even though you wish you could.


Custer
Custer
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/12/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book was just okay I didn't like the way it was written McMurtry needed more research on the subject he was writing about, some things seems to be lacking, and I didn't like how he interjected his opinion in the text with some added humor, it seemed to me there was not really enough info on Custer himself for the book to be named Custer, and he really jumps around in his writings on this subject. I will look for better books on Custer and the Battle of Little Big Horn. The best part of this book is the pictures


Death With an Ocean View  (Kate Kennedy Bk 1)
Death With an Ocean View (Kate Kennedy Bk 1)
Author: Nora Charles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 2/22/2010
Helpful Score: 4


This is the 1st "cozy mystery" I read. And I quite enjoyed it. With a much older protagonist (like my grandma). It was well written,quirkey, and laugh out loud funny. Nice one liners in this book. I do recommend this book, but read them all in order. This is the 1st in the series. With Kate and Marlene, and the other eccentric characters you can't go wrong with this one. A fast read. Very enjoyable.


Dust to Dust (Prophecy, Bk 1)
Dust to Dust (Prophecy, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 7/26/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book was excellent and fast paced, at 1st I wasn't into reading about the end of times, but It captured my attention from the get go and I read it 1 day! Heather Graham has another winner in this new miniseries. Too bad the 2nd in the series doesn't come out until July of 2010.


False Pretenses (Secrets of Roux River Bayou, Bk 1)
False Pretenses (Secrets of Roux River Bayou, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Herman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The story itself is quite good. There is plenty of suspense to keep the reader guessing and reading, but there is also much more going on that makes the story interesting. Kathy is a master at creating suspense and drama that made this book go by very quickly for me. She is very good at leaving readers wanting more.

The only downside I can think of is that sometimes the dialogue dragged a little. I didn't feel that this affected my overall enjoyment of the book as a whole. Overall, False Pretenses is a very good read. I do recommend this books and her other suspense books


The Fire in Ember
The Fire in Ember
Author: DiAnn Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/19/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The Fire in Ember was an absolutely great read. Once I started I couldn't put it down. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone who enjoys a great romance. I loved the characters and started falling in love with John and Bert right away along with the rest of the Timmons. They are all great people and I hope that I get to see more of them later on.

This book has something for everyone. This was the 1st time that I've had the pleasure of reading a Diann Mills novel and it won't be the last. The book is set in Colorado in the 1880's. I found the characters well developed and very likeable . The story itself had mystery, faith ,love, and hope to overcome family problems and crime.

You Laugh and cry. This story will definately tug on your heart. Nice Christian Western Romance and I would recommend this book. Can't wait to hear more from Diann Mills on the Timmons family. Would recommend this one!


The Fireman Who Loved Me (Bachelor Firemen, Bk 1)
The Fireman Who Loved Me (Bachelor Firemen, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Bernard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 10/7/2012


In this contemporary romp, Ms. Bernard takes us on a wild ride of fun, laughter, and emotion. The Fireman Who Loved Me has many plot lines going on and introduces a cast of characters that are memorable and realistic. There are mishaps and misunderstandings throughout, as well as a jealous woman who wants to be front and center, and a mischievous matchmaking grandmother started this whole shindig in the first place.It does have a few somewhat serious subjects, but most of the time, the novel is full of giggles and cheers.

This book is well done.I enjoyed the ride and I can't wait to see what comes next with the Firemen. I'm hoping for a full blown series. I am in love, and lust, with these firemen!


Gone with a Handsomer Man (Teeny Templeton, Bk 1)
Gone with a Handsomer Man (Teeny Templeton, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Lee West
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/10/2011
Helpful Score: 3


loved this book. It was a 1st read for me by this author!

The characters are loveable (Miss Dora,Teeny,Red,Coop,Ava..) They are quirky and have their faults,yet have a southern charm.
There was not one character that I didn't like. This book is fablous. The one liners that are delivered made me smile and laught out loud. Makes you think... I could have said that, but didn't! LOL!

This is a fast moving mystery story and author Ms. West does not make it easy to figure out who the murderer is, which was a plus. I could identify with all of the characters, Especially Teeny in so many ways, you really feel for her problems. She is a southern cook with a twist,an interesting cook book for her recipes and her dangerous recipes that were great!

I highly recommend this book, and hopefully we will see much, much more of Teeny and the crew. This is a book I would keep and read again over and over. It was so easy to get into, I didn't want to put it down, and really didn't want to. We need a sequel! This will make a great series. Keep up the good work Ms. West!


Killing Me Softly (Secrets of Shadow Falls, Bk 1)
Killing Me Softly (Secrets of Shadow Falls, Bk 1)
Author: Maggie Shayne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 6/8/2010
Helpful Score: 4


This was an excellent fast paced read that kept me turning the pages. My 1st book by this author did not dissapoint. Can't wait for the 2nd book and it's Kill Me Again & 3rd is Kiss Me Kill Me in this trilogy also called Shadow Falls. I highly recommend this book. :o)

From the Back Cover:

The Nightcap Strangler, who terrorized the town of Shadow Falls sixteen years ago, has finally been executed. Case Closed. Until Bryan Kendall's lover is murdered in the notorious killer's unique style and the rookie cop stand accused. Has someone committed the perfect copycat crime...or was the wrong man put to death?

A continent away, Dawn Jones hears that her first love has been accused of murder and knows that only she can help him. But to do so, she'll have to face the very fears that drove them apart.

Together they'll work to uncover secrets someone's willing to kill to keep,andrenew a love as dangerous as it is inevitable. And their best lead is the girl found dead in Bryan's bed, reeking of whiskey poured down her throat before the killer squeezed it shut. A killer who things that Dawn, too, could use on last drink......


The Killing Room
The Killing Room
Author: John Manning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/7/2012


I ordered the book because of the summary and being Free was a Plus. I was intrigued by this book. This is the 1st time that I have read this author and I can't wait for more! It grabbed me from the 1st page. To be honest I read this book in one day, which I usually don't do unless it keeps me wanting more. Which it did. I felt for the characters while the "Lottery" was going on.
This book was well written, I felt like I was there "like a ghost" setting in the house and watching what was happening and not being able to help the situation. The characters of this story was well written. I hope there is another book with the Characters of Carolyn & Douglas along with wiccan friend of Carolyns. I believe they would make a great investigative team into the mysteries and cases of the paranormal and bring them into her private practice busiess. I think this is a great start for a series and would love to see it happen. Thanks for a great fast paced novel Mr. Manning, Thumbs up!!


The Real Enemy (Sophie Trace Trilogy, Book 1)
The Real Enemy (Sophie Trace Trilogy, Book 1)
Author: Kathy Herman, Kathy Herman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 11/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I like reading mysteries. This book was very well written in a way that you can identify with the characters and what they are going through. It was a very fast read, and hard to put down. I thouroghly enjoyed reading it. I will be ordering the next in the series to find out more about the Jessup Family and how they are doing. I came to care about the characters and was intrigued about their faith, love and hope. Kurt and Brill have something together and they finally realized how special it is. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I have.


Sam's Creed (Hell's Eight, Bk 2)
Sam's Creed (Hell's Eight, Bk 2)
Author: Sarah McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 3/25/2011


This book is the 2nd in the "Hell's Eight" books. Sam "Wildcard" MacGregor has rules of his own and takes what he wants. He's sexy, intelligent, seductive, and he could eat crackers in my bed anytime. LOL.

He stumbles across a burned out wagon and finds Isabella hiding. Isabella has been running for months from Tejala, a man whose been trying to force her to marry him so he can have her land her father left her and she's just plum worn out from running. Sam does not care about the threat of Tejala. He decides to take her home to her mother and kill Tejala if he has to.

Bella is sassy,sweet,brave and feisty. She tries to seduce Sam. But she really doesn't know how.
The story was excellent it flowed along and was easy to read. It was fun and entertaining and I just love the chemistry between Sam and Bella.

Sam is georgeous,hot, sensitive, forceful,brave,loyal and gentle. I know he sounds like a boy scout! LOL but he's far from that. Sara McCarty has a way of making you fall in love with her characters! I loved this book better than the 1st one. Sarah McCarty has a winner in her series of "Hells Eight". Can't wait to start reading the next installment called Tucker's Claim.


A Sound Among the Trees
A Sound Among the Trees
Author: Susan Meissner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A Sound Among the Trees by Susan Meissner revolves around an old antebellum Fredericksburg mansion, Holly Oak, that survived the Civil War. It is currently owned by Adelaide McClane, the great-granddaughter of Susannah Page, who was rumored to be a Civil War spy for the Union. With that rumor floats the superstitions that the house is haunted by Susannah's ghost. Or, according to Adelaide, the house wants a pardon or bears a grudge for all that went on in its tragic past, and the revenge is taken out on the women of the house, making them suffer tormentingly. Adelaide herself "lost" her daughter, Caroline, then her granddaughter, Sara, to a horrible accident, and lastly a freak accident herself.

I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down.


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: