Dedra C. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
Anne of Green Gables
Anne of Green Gables
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 3/21/2007


no charm included


Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Author: Jess Walter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 2/9/2015


Beautiful Ruins is a beautiful book with a beautiful title and a beautiful cover. I was so very pleased that the inside matched the outside. Complex and flawed characters are supported by the changing scenery, and connections that span years and oceans surprise and delight. I highly recommend this one.


Beneath the Bonfire: Stories
Beneath the Bonfire: Stories
Author: Nickolas Butler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/22/2015


Beneath the Bonfire: Stories is a collection of ten short stories with a weaving of common threads: all the tales are set in the midwest, nature plays an important role, and the characters are beautifully painted with colorful brushstrokes and definitive lines. I enjoyed some stories more than others, but together they all created a complete picture. Butler writes with an easy, poetic style, capturing the reader's nostalgic imagination.


The Book of Joe
The Book of Joe
Author: Jonathan Tropper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 5/16/2015


This is my second Jonathan Tropper novel and it has sealed me as a definite fan. I love his honest and unapologetic style. His novels are real--but surprising--and oh so witty. I laugh, I cry, my mouth drops open in shock. From the beginning, the reader feels like they are careening down from the top hill of a roller coaster, the story gathering momentum as they traverse the twists and turns, coming to a stop only after the last line of the novel. The Book of Joe is a grown-up book for those of us who come from small towns with all those small town secrets.


Cassette From My Ex: Stories and Soundtracks of Lost Loves
Cassette From My Ex: Stories and Soundtracks of Lost Loves
Author: Jason Bitner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/3/2015


I was a mixtape expert. Or so I thought. I spent hours searching for the best songs to reflect my complicated teen-age emotions. This fun book brought back all those old memories. Intriguing stories, nostalgic photos and playlists will have you digging for your old tapes. If only I could have made a career out of creating mixtapes...


Class Lesson Planner
Class Lesson Planner
Author: Michael McHugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/15/2010


This is the most comprehensive lesson planner I have found. I use it every year!


Coffeehouse Angel
Coffeehouse Angel
Author: Suzanne Selfors
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/4/2016


The perfect little book to read on Christmas break! Heartwarming and sweet, but with a deeper message behind it. Snuggle up with a warm blanket and a cup of hot coffee while you read this one!


A Company of Swans
A Company of Swans
Author: Eva Ibbotson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 9/13/2011


I thought this book was beautifully written. The writing style reminded me of Edith Wharton's, while the love story reminded me of classics, such as Pride and Prejudice. I will definitely be reading more from this author.


A Countess Below Stairs
A Countess Below Stairs
Author: Eva Ibbotson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 6/26/2012


Oh how I love the writing style of Eva Ibbotson! Some may say it's too descriptive or too flowery, but I find it enchanting. Yes, her stories may be predictable but that is what I enjoy about her. I know I will be swept off my feet into another world.


Defiance: The Bielski Partisans
Defiance: The Bielski Partisans
Author: Nechama Tec
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/3/2010


I wanted to read this book after seeing the movie that left me with many unanswered questions. I was not disappointed. This is an intriguing and inspiring story of The Bielski Partisans and how they survived! I couldn't put it down!


Exit, Pursued by a Bear
Exit, Pursued by a Bear
Author: E.K. Johnston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/19/2017


Rape is a difficult subject to tackle, and the author does a good job of not dancing around the difficult parts. In Exit, Pursued by a Bear, the main character, Hermione, doesn't remember being raped because someone gave her a drugged drink. So while she's told she is a victim, she doesn't remember it and she doesn't feel like one. It's definitely a different twist, and her strength was refreshing. My only complaints were sometimes I found the story a challenge to follow because of the writing style or word choice (possibly because the author is Canadian??), and with it being set in Canada, I had a difficult time with the cities and locations.


Exploring Adventure Fiction: Wonderful Wizard of Oz/On the Far Side of the Mountain
Review Date: 7/15/2006


Contains excerpts from "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz" by L. Frank Baum and "On the Far Side of the Mountain" by Jean Craighead George.


Exploring Autobiography:  Literature and Writing Workshop
Review Date: 7/15/2006


Exploring Autobiography from the Literature and Writing Workshop Series by Scholastic. Contains three stories, "Breakthrough to the Big League" by Jackie Robinson, "The Invisible Thread" by Yoshiko Uchida, and "The Moon and I" by Betsy Byars.


Review Date: 7/15/2006


Includes "Come With Me to the Edge of the Sea" by William M. Stephens, "The Tree" by Judy Hindley, and "The Bat in My Pocket" by Amanda Lollar.


Exploring Newswriting. (Literature & Writing Workshop)
Exploring Newswriting. (Literature & Writing Workshop)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/15/2006


Contains articles on Breaking News/New Features and Feature Stories.


Exploring Science Fiction:  Literature and Writing Workshop
Review Date: 7/15/2006


Exploring Science Fiction reader from the Literature and Writing Workshop Series by Scholastic. Contains three Science Fiction stories: "A Wish Named Arnold" by Charles de Lint, "Little Green Men" by Barry B. Longyear, and "The Flying Machine" by Ray Bradbury.


Exploring Tall Tales (Literature & Writing Workshop, Work Shop)
Exploring Tall Tales (Literature & Writing Workshop, Work Shop)
Author: Robert Sauber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/15/2006


Contains "The Hickory Toothpick", "Ol' Paul the Mighty Logger" by Glen Rounds, "A Tale of a Dog's Tail" by Harold W. Felton, and "Johnny Appleseed" by Anne Malcolmson.


Faefever (Fever, Bk 3)
Faefever (Fever, Bk 3)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 6/15/2012


This is the third book in the Fever series. My review is for the entire series. I picked up the first book with no idea what I was getting into. I thought it was just another paranormal romance. The plot sounded intriguing. I ended up reading the whole series in 5 days...and then starting over to reread it. I read through it so fast the first time I missed some twists and clues. Well, and I just was so consumed I wasn't ready to say goodbye. I have no idea why this series is so addictive. I don't typically read romance novels, and actually had no clue when I started that this was one. I could have done without the detailed sex scenes. I'm just one of those readers who likes to leave more to the imagination. But the plot and characters sucked me in. Like everyone else I became enamored with Barrons. Who was this man? I still feel some things were left unanswered but I'm okay with that...for now. So, I advise you start this series when you don't have much else going on. Be prepared to be a little obsessed.


Favorite Medieval Tales
Favorite Medieval Tales
Author: Mary Pope Osborne, Troy Howell (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/18/2014


My 9 year old son is really enjoying Favorite Medieval Tales. We have been using this to go along with our History studies of the time period. He enjoys the illustrations, as well.


Health Safety and Manners 3
Health Safety and Manners 3
Author: Delores Shimmin
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 7/15/2006


Health Safety and Manner 3 by A Beka. Homeschool textbook


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: