Pamela L. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 4/23/2009


It was Ok.


The Amateur Marriage
The Amateur Marriage
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 4/23/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Ummm huh? I usually love everything Ms Tyler writes. This didn't suck, but left me wishing for more to the story.


Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author: Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 10/19/2009


This book was ok. I expected a richer story. I wanted more.


Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, Bk 1)
Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 4/23/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Exciting... unpredictable...the plot twists and then twists again. The character in the story, Ridley, is in for a few shocks about her family, her friends, her ex-boyfriend. I liked this book a lot! I really like a book I can get sucked into, in a good way. I don't think you will be disappointed if you like a good tale to escape with.


The Borgia Bride
The Borgia Bride
Author: Jeanne Kalogridis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 10/19/2009


Those Borgia's were bad people....


The Constant Gardener
The Constant Gardener
Author: John le Carre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/23/2009


I don't think I will see the movie, I don't see how it could be as good as this book. I could imagine the way the characters sounded, smelled, looked. An excellent book from a really great writer.


Drowning Ruth
Drowning Ruth
Author: Christina Schwarz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 678
Review Date: 4/23/2009


Engrossing and suspenseful, just the way I like 'em. Great read.


The Elephant Keeper
The Elephant Keeper
Author: Christopher Nicholson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/12/2014


Not until the last word was read did I realize the utter gorgeousness of the tale. It went straight to my heart.


The Emperor's Children
The Emperor's Children
Author: Claire Messud
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 4/23/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I just loved the title. The book wasn't bad either. Worth the time.


Fall on Your Knees
Fall on Your Knees
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 502
Review Date: 4/23/2009


I'm sure that this was a terrific book. I could not get past the first part of the book. So I'll never know


The Fig Eater
The Fig Eater
Author: Jody Shields
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 10/19/2009


I enjoyed this book so much. Psychological, charming, suspenseful.


Flush
Flush
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 5/1/2009


What can I say...I love this author!


Fugitive Pieces
Fugitive Pieces
Author: Anne Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 2/16/2013


Gorgeous! Devastating!
The best book I have ever read.


The Historian
The Historian
Author: Elizabeth Kostova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 4/23/2009


I was entertained. I love books with history, detail. You will too if that's the type of book you are interested in.


In My Hands: Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer
In My Hands: Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer
Author: Irene Opdyke, Jennifer Armstrong
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/21/2014


Wonderful book. Unique writing, and how she paces the story is so natural and uncontrived. I never felt like I was reading someone's else's reality. It was like she was speaking in a soft voice almost like a whisper, telling about her life.


The Inner Circle
The Inner Circle
Author: T. Coraghessan Boyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 4/23/2009


This book was pretty "out there" but I enjoyed it. I was in college in the 60's when The Kinsey Report came out so I could really recognize some of the characters' thought processes. Not everyone is going to enjoy the story, but Boyle's writing is really funny.


The Jester
The Jester
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 446
Review Date: 10/19/2009


Very different from his series novels, enjoyed it so much. I love his writing but the "bird kids" aren't my thing.


Kaaterskill Falls
Kaaterskill Falls
Author: Allegra Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/23/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Another book I could just not get my head around. I gave up pretty early.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5695
Review Date: 10/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Full of pain. Full of heart. Full of love. Full of tears. But that's just me.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3362
Review Date: 10/19/2009


Magic, funny magic. Great!


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: