Isabel B. (Isabel-Batteria) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 71 - Page:
Anne of Avonlea (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 2)
Anne of Avonlea (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 2)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 2/8/2006


I love this series.


Anne of Windy Poplars (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 4)
Anne of Windy Poplars (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 4)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 2/8/2006


I love this series; I'm still on number three.


Anthem
Anthem
Author: Ayn Rand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Very short. The world in which it takes place is one in which there is no individuality, and there are no singular personal pronouns, such as I and she. The novel is written from a first person point of view, and when the protagonist speaks of himself, he says "we". When he speaks of someone else, he says "they", because everybody is everybody and it's a crime to think of oneself as unique. So the novel is extremely confusing until you realize this. I thought he was always accompanied and that he wasn't one but a group of people with similar qualities until I understood the novel's fictional society. After that, I made a point to substitute the confusing pronoun for the correct one, so I didn't get more confused. So this uncalled-for strain prevented me from enjoying the novel fully. Plus the end is a very long soliloquy, and I hate that.


Atravete a Disciplinar (Nueva Edicion)
Review Date: 2/8/2006


No me gusta la autoayuda, pero espero que a alguien le s irva


The Bellarosa Connection
The Bellarosa Connection
Author: Saul Bellow
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  ?
Review Date: 12/28/2006


Excellently read by great actor Jerry Orbach. He even changes the voice for each character. Interesting and absorbing story.


the book of daniel
the book of daniel
Author: e.l. doctorow
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/24/2007


Excellently written. This is a Signet edition.


Citizen Girl
Citizen Girl
Author: Emma McLaughlin, Nicola Kraus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/26/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I really wanted to read this book after reading the back cover description. I thought the novel was about me: "Working in a world where a college degree qualifies her to make photocopies, 24-year-old Girl is struggling to keep up with the essentials: food, shelter and student loans. So when she finally lands the job of her dreams she ignores her misgivings and concentrates on getting the job done... whatever that may be." That's totally me; I'm even 24.

But then I started reading, and there where parts where I just couldn't keep up. Too much girl lingo I'm not familiar with. Trying too hard to make the character desperate. Only worst-case scenarios. Too chick lit.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 781
Review Date: 4/6/2007


The story of my life.


The Corrections
The Corrections
Author: Jonathan Franzen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/21/2006


Kind of heavy prose. It took me a while to read it to the end. I dragged it a little (hence the "heavyness"). I think I should read it again, in another time of my life.


Cronica de una muerte anunciada
Cronica de una muerte anunciada
Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/21/2006


A very fast-moving and intriguing story that's extraordinary because, even though you know the end of the story before even reading the first word (you just have to read the title, "Chronicle of a Death Foretold"), it's still exciting.


DECORATIVE TOLE PAINTING
DECORATIVE TOLE PAINTING
Author: B. Kay Fraser
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/30/2007


Yes, softcover. There are many black and white illustrations.


Driving with Dead People
Driving with Dead People
Author: Monica Holloway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 2/1/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book's description mislead me. I found it really interesting to read about a girl who practically grows up in a funeral home. The title was extremely alluring. But only about 20% of the story happens in the funeral home. Furthermore, her spending time with her best friend whose family owns a mortuary and her stint as a hearse driver seems more like a subplot. The novel is more about the exploits of a neglected teenageranother one of these types of memoir. And it doesn't even make the cut as an extraordinary one. The author tells more than she shows. I think "The Glass Castle" is the quintessential neglected-child memoir. If you want to read that kind of story, read "The Glass Castle" and spare yourself the rest.


Embraced by the Light
Embraced by the Light
Author: Betty J. Eadie, Curtis Taylor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 2/8/2006


Not my type of read.


The Family
The Family
Author: Mario Puzo, Carol Gino
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 11/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great read! I like it that, for once, the Borgias are portrayed as humans and not monsters, and everything they do has a reason.


Great Expectations (Great Illustrated Classics)
Great Expectations (Great Illustrated Classics)
Author: Charles Dickens
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/27/2006


Abridged for children.


The Handmaid's Tale
The Handmaid's Tale
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 686
Review Date: 6/1/2007
Helpful Score: 6


A very gripping story, well written and with many beautiful images. It stalls very little at the beginning, but the second half is much more dynamic and enjoyable.

I like the author's prose. Atwood invents an almost seamless extreme futuristic world. It's tense all over. Still, I didn't like the fact that such a perfectly, deep-rooted theocracy can only been in power for three years. I found it unlikely that people would be so brain-washed in such a short period of time, even though Atwood is careful to establish that some small changes were taking place little by little.


The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Illustrated Classics)
The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Illustrated Classics)
Author: Victor Hugo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/21/2006


This is an illustrated book, ideal for children, or for people like me, who need to know or review the classics but have no time to do it. The story is simplyfied and abridged, but the essence is there, no Disney bull. Wonderfully tragic, by the way. I think it's one of the most heavy-action classics around.


I, Robot : The Illustrated Screenplay
I, Robot : The Illustrated Screenplay
Author: Mark Zug (Illustrator), Harlan Ellison, Isaac Asimov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/23/2006


Announced as "The greatest science fictionmovie never made", this is a screenplay less losely based in Asimov's stories than the Will Smith movie. It has several color drawings of some of the scenes. It seems to be a better adaptation, but it was never made.


Inca Gold   (Dirk Pitt, Bk 12)
Inca Gold (Dirk Pitt, Bk 12)
Author: Clive Cussler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 7/14/2006


This is an adaptation for young adults.


La Florida (Alianza universidad)
La Florida (Alianza universidad)
Author: Garcilaso de la Vega
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  ?
Review Date: 1/28/2007


Author is the Inca Garcilaso. Book is in Spanish. This is the first book ever published by an American.


1 to 20 of 71 - Page: