Reviews - Maggie M. - Columbus, OH

1 to 20 of 165 - Page:
13 1/2
13 1/2
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 12/31/2010
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the fist Nevada Barr book I've ever read and boy was it good! There are enough twists to keep you interested and guessing (all the way up to the end!) and the characters are well developed. I will be reading more of this author, that's for sure."


The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club, Bk 5) (Unabridged Audio CD)
Review Date: 2/1/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Love "The Women's Murder Club" as the interaction of characters is very complete and it's really easy to get involved in their lives and emotions. The storyline(s) in the book were very well written and kept the reader quessing throughout and up to the very end. What's rather upsetting, or distracting at least, is that the synopisis given about this book doesn't tell you that there is another storyline/murder going on at the same time, which can lead to confusion of the reader at first until you figure out that it's two seperate plot lines going on. Still, all-in-all, the book is a good one, nonetheless."


61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 12/31/2010


"Another awesome Reacher novel...with a surprise ending that leaves you guessing. Reacher is totally the MAN and there are no other books or heros out there like him. I can't wait to get the next book!!"


Abundance  (Audio CD)  (Abridged)
Abundance (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund, Susanna Burney (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/23/2013


"Reading/listening to Abundance is so far out of my normal police-procedural/mystery-book genre that I didn't know if I'd like it or not. But, always being a lover of period history, I figured I'd give it a shot. This book does not disappoint! I loved it, from the way it's written/read (language and voice nuisances), to the descriptions of the scenery and clothing, the character interactions, and all the way to the true-history tidbits thrown in. I found myself laughing at some parts and, to my chagrin, crying during descriptions of the rebellion and violence. How can humans be so horrible? Not being quite sure at times what was true history and what was creative writing added in by the author, Sena Jeter Naslund, I searched the internet for details on Marie Antoinette and the time period. In addition, I found paintings of the various characters in the books and I was able to put faces to the individuals interacting with Marie Antoinette and the revolution, as well as the locations given. Never has history been so interesting for me and, I think I've actually retained it this time (unlike those boring high school books and classes)!

My only disappointment at all (besides the book ending, that is) was listening to the author's interview by Harper Collins at the end of the book. The author does answer some interesting questions about her writing Abundance and her research of Marie Antoinette, but I found her to be quite full of herself, and she really, really likes to hear herself talk. I ended up not finishing the interview because of that fact...quite vain/smug, in my opinion. Still, all-in-all, if her research and story-telling skills are based on just this book alone, then perhaps she has a right to be arrogant."


The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 8/24/2012


"Another awesome Reacher book. LOVE this man! He doesn't take any guff from anyone, mets out justice as it should be, and always gets the job done. Law enforcement the way it SHOULD be! Book also includes a short Reacher story at the very end, which is also great. Can't wait for the next Reacher novel. Lee Child rocks!"


All in One Piece
All in One Piece
Author: Cecelia Tishy
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/12/2013


"Highly recommend this book if you like a who-dunit without profanity, blood, gore, or romance. I would have liked a bit more of the psychic play, as the book synopisis suggests, but still, all-in-all, a good read. A surprising ending doesn't disappoint."


The Ambler Warning
The Ambler Warning
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 3/15/2014


"So pretty good twists and turns in the typical Robert Ludlum style. Good character development and a surprise ending that I didn't see coming. Sometimes Ludlum seems to ramble a little and I had to skim those parts, but all-in-all, a good, if somewhat long, read."


Angels Fall
Angels Fall
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 584
Review Date: 12/21/2013


"Good mystery with a touch of romance thrown in. Read this on vacation and it was a perfect, quick read."


The Appeal  (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Appeal (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: John Grisham, Michael Beck (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/22/2011


"Typical, but good John Grisham novel. The ending has a bit of a twist and a kicker, but all-in-all, a good read."


The Associate (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Associate (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: John Grisham, Erik Singer (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 11/7/2013
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I haven't read John Grisham in a long time, as I had previously read them all, loved them, and was waiting for some new ones to come out. This one was just okay. If memory serves me correctly, I believe his previous novels were much better, with more intrigue and surprises. This one also ended rather lamely, as it left the reader wondering what happens after Kyle goes back home, the fate of Benny, etc.

The "secret" to which the synopisis references is an alleged rape of a coed during a drug/alcohol-fest. Grisham twists justice with his telling of the alleged rape and how Kyle's father takes care of the situation. It's a typical stoned, promiscuous, slutty college girl who gets in over her head and to save face, cries rape. I think it's a realm in which Grisham shouldn't have tread and he did it poorly at that."


Bad Business (Spenser, No 31) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 10/18/2013
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Spenser is a PI with many contacts, a psychiatrist girlfriend (Susan), and the tenacity to get the job done. I enjoyed the twists and turns of this book, but not Spenser and Susan. I found them both to be egotistical and uppity. Susan is a definite snob and not a likeable character at all. In addition, the author, Robert B. Parker, seems to have a prejudice against larger people, as throughout the book, definite derogatory comments were made that didn't need to be and didn't add to the book or description of the characters. Better descriptive words are available to describe a larger person. It was offensive. If you are going to be insulting to one set of people, be consistent and do it for all of them (tall, skinny, short, fat, rich, poor, white, black, whatever). On the plus side, Spenser has an unusual friend and contact that helped him out quite a bit on this case...Hawk. He is a muscular black man who is extremely funny and I thoroughly enjoyed him. I found myself wishing the book used Hawk as the main hero. Oh well. I won't bother with another Robert B. Parker novel again as I was seriously offended by all of his fat comments, but if that doesn't bother you, then go for it."


Review Date: 2/11/2011
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Holy cow! This book rocked me for a loop, that's for sure. I didn't have a clue and all the way up to the second-to-the-last chapter, it kept throwing the reader curve balls. Highly recommend this colarabation of James Patterson and Peter De Jonge and I just might have to keep this one for myself to listen to again down the road. Totally awesome!"


Beat the Reaper (Peter Brown, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/25/2013
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is my first Josh Bazell book and all I can say is "wow!" Beat the Reaper is full of action about a mob hit man, "Peter Brown," who is now under the witness protection program, working his M.D. residency at a less-than-desirable hospital in New York. The book easily switches back and forth from the beginning of Peter's "career," through some career highlights, and up to his current day at the hospital, where he runs into an old mob acquaintance, and what ensues after that. While this isn't your typical who-dun-it book, it is filled with action, gore, and a few surprises and humor thrown in along the way. However, this book is NOT for the squeamish, as graphic detail is a major ingredient."


Betrayal of Trust (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 20) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 12/11/2013


"You really can't go wrong with a J.A. Jance, J.P. Beaumont book. Good character development, some humor and action thrown in, not too much blood and guts, and a few twists and turns all make for a good, easy read. In this story, "Beau" and his wife/partner "Mel" are called out to investigate a snuff film on a teenager's cell phone. But is it really a snuff film? Is she really dead and why does this kid have it? The plot thickens from there, with a few surprises thrown in to keep the reader guessing. As a sideline to the story, Beau is contacted by an alleged relative that he knows nothing about. While this is in addition to the murder investigation, it doesn't distract from the main storyline. I can always count on a J.P. Beaumont book for several hours of fine distraction during my commute in rush-hour traffic to and from work every day. Highly recommend."


Birds of Prey (J. P. Beaumont, No 15) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 1/20/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I regularly listen to CDs in my car back and forth to work so I'm always on the lookout for something entertaining. I loved this book! J.P. Beaumont is a hero to really grow fond of...so much so that I've already gotten 2 more books on CD! He has a wonderful sense of humor, takes crime seriously, is a good sport, not easily sidetracked, and is charming. My only complaint is that it wasn't long enough! I found myself picturing in my mind's eye each and every person introduced in the book. Twists and turns kept me guessing until the very end. Highly recommend if you're looking for a quick read and nothing too heavy or gory."


Black Out
Black Out
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 1/28/2014


"I don't think I've ever read a book quite like this and I loved it! Many, many twists, yet I didn't have any problems keeping track. This book delves not only into serial crime, but also the victim and the long-term mental anguish. Excellent read!"


Blind Alley (Eve Duncan, Bk 4)
Blind Alley (Eve Duncan, Bk 4)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 3/21/2011


"Good storyline, interesting characters, and some facinating history thrown in to boot. Like Iris Johansen's writing style."


Blood Sins (Blood, Bk 2)
Blood Sins (Blood, Bk 2)
Author: Kay Hooper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 9/14/2010


"This was a very good SCU book which kept me guessing the whole novel. Surprises toward the ending completed the story just right."


The Bodies Left Behind
The Bodies Left Behind
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 8/7/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Another reviewer said that she had mixed emotions about this book and I agree 100%. There were over 300 pages of hunter and huntee floundering around in the woods at night, which was unrealistic and got pretty tiring. Okay, we get it already. Yet, in spite of those irritations (such as our heroine letting her son get away with lying and skipping school, and she herself lying to her husband), there were several good twists and surprises. The heroine was not likeable to me and at times I found myself rooting for the bad guys, but some of the other characters were good. Definitely not one of my favorite Jeffery Deaver books, but I'll read another one of his to give him a second chance."


Body Double (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 4)
Body Double (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 4)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 392
Review Date: 3/28/2013


"This was my first Det. Rizzoli and Dr. Isles book, but won't be my last. The fact that I didn't start at Book #1 didn't hinder me at all. The reader is woven into the lives and storyline so quickly and well that you don't know you're missing any previous books. Body Double takes the reader into the mind(s) of a horrible serial killer and doesn't let go. A few good twists and turns along the way, some great police work, and excellent character development made it hard to put this book down. I'm on the lookout now for my next Tess Gerritsen and Rizzoli/Isles book!"


1 to 20 of 165 - Page: