Deanna L. (misssteps) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
1632 (Assiti Shards, Bk 1)
1632 (Assiti Shards, Bk 1)
Author: Eric Flint
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 9/16/2009


An entire West Virginia town is transplanted through time and space to 1632 Germany in the midst of a war. As you'd assume, their superior firepower makes quick work of the armies they face.

I picked this up because I'd read another alternate history book, Weapons of Choice, and a friend recommended it. I'd agree with the reviewer who says it bogs down in places - the descriptions of battles got a little tiresome sometimes. However, unlike Weapons of Choice, Flint does a GREAT job of getting you hooked on his fun, believable characters, both the West Virginians and the Germans (a young boy from 17th Century Germany who LOVES the 20th Century vehicles ends up having to drive a school bus in an emergency situation - one of the funniest parts of the book).

There were times I wasn't sure I wanted to continue this series after I finished this one, but I will definitely read at least 1633, which was written by Flint. The rest of it seems to get muddled with different authors writing and co-writing, and the timeline is screwy (not chronological from book to book and story to story, in the case of the short story ones). That being said, my husband has really enjoyed the first four.


Algebra II For Dummies (For Dummies (Math & Science))
Algebra II For Dummies (For Dummies (Math & Science))
Author: Mary Jane Sterling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/11/2009


This might be a good support text for someone taking an Algebra II course, or a review if you have already taken a course and need a refresher, but if you're looking to learn Algebra II from the ground up, look elsewhere. It's not a comprehensive text that takes you logically from one step to the next. My son quickly got stuck with it.


Algebra II Workbook For Dummies (For Dummies (Math & Science))
Review Date: 9/11/2009


Sadly, the workbook doesn't mesh very well with "Algebra II For Dummies" textbook. One would think they'd be made to work together.


Basic Training for Horses (Doubleday Equestrian Library)
Review Date: 8/22/2009


Focused mainly on starting youngsters, this book has quite a lot to offer in the way of resources for building on your horse's training or filling in the gaps in his education, as well. I very much appreciated the focus on early groundwork and the chapter on driving.


Bodywork for Horses: Techniques You Can Use Yourself
Bodywork for Horses: Techniques You Can Use Yourself
Author: Susan McBane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/11/2009


An excellent overview. There is a lot more here about training and classical than you might expect, and a lot less about massage and shiatsu. It includes information about aromatherapy, hydrotherapy and TTouch, as well. It really doesn't go in depth into any of the above (the section on shiatsu being the best, as the author is a practitioner) but refers you to other books for more information.


Cormyr (Forgotten Realms: The Cormyr Saga, Bk 1)
Cormyr (Forgotten Realms: The Cormyr Saga, Bk 1)
Author: Ed Greenwood, Jeff Grubb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Each alternate chapter takes place in 1369 DR Faerun time. The others consist of points in Corymrean history where the kingdom was at stake (as it is in "present" time). The book is a mystery of sorts, and while I generally don't like books that jump around in place or time (and honestly I got a little disillusioned with the flashback chapters toward the middle), as you get toward the end the history begins to contribute more and more to the plot, and you start to see the mystery unravel. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed the read overall and I'd recommend it even if you're not reading to learn more about Cormyr's history (which it's also great for).


Garden Almanac: A Month-By-Month Guide
Garden Almanac: A Month-By-Month Guide
Author: Penelope O'Sullivan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Exactly what I was looking for! Other books are broken up into what to do with this plant and that plant. This one tells you month by month what attention your garden needs. THEN you can cross-reference for specific plants. Love it!


Getting in T Touch: Understand and Influence Your Horse's Personality
Review Date: 8/22/2009


A must read if you're shopping for a horse. Most of the book is focused on being able to "read" a horse based on the shape of his head and his conformation, then a bit on how to work with that personality (it's not set in stone!), and finally, some basic pictures on how to do the TTouch strokes. If you're looking for a comprehensive TTouch and training resource, go with The Ultimate Horse Behavior and Training Guide by Linda (expensive but worth it!), but this makes a nice complement to Parelli's "Horsenality" info and is definitely worth a read.


Girl with a Pearl Earring
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1451
Review Date: 11/10/2009


Novelization of the creation of the painting by the same name. If you like art you're almost sure to like it. Even if you don't, it's a very good story.


The Golden Cauldron: Shamanic Journeys on the Path of Wisdom
The Golden Cauldron: Shamanic Journeys on the Path of Wisdom
Author: Nicki Scully
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/23/2010


FYI, this is the exact same book as the author's Power Animal Meditations. I was quite disappointed that it wasn't additional material.

That said, if you don't have Power Animal Meditations, it's a fantastic collection of guided journeys with power animals and other nature forces, as well as the Egyptian pantheon.


Healing Garden: A Natural Haven for Body, Senses and Spirit
Healing Garden: A Natural Haven for Body, Senses and Spirit
Author: Sue Minter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/10/2009


This book can't decide if it's about garden design, herbs for healing, garden maintenance, or what. That said, it's got a smattering of information on all of the above, some gorgeous illustrations, and it's a good overview. I appreciated the section on the garden itself doing the healing. Gardening is therapy!


The Horse Owner's Survival Guide
The Horse Owner's Survival Guide
Author: Carolyn Henderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/12/2009


This book is chock full of helpful info for the new horse owner or someone considering buying a horse. However, it's very much a British book so if you don't speak the lingo there might be some confusion, and the prices they give are obviously completely unhelpful.

Info includes: stabling, keeping your horse at home vs boarding, what kind of horse is best to buy, feeding, grooming, and more. Good reference.


Horses and Their Women
Horses and Their Women
Author: Louise Taylor, Barbara Cohen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Each page has a picture of a woman and her horse, and they vary from champion gaited horses to girls and their ponies to jockeys to Western riders, even a lady who dresses as a night on her charger :) On the facing page is an essay about why she adores her horse.

I found some of them moving and others fascinating. Great, quick read.


How to Survive Getting Into College : By Hundreds of Former High School Seniors Who Did (Hundreds of Heads Survival Guides)
Review Date: 11/10/2009


Since it's written by "hundreds of former high school seniors," you'll find conflicting information in this book. Still, it's full of snippets of wisdom by been there done that people, which is what the "hundreds of heads" series are about, and you're pretty sure to find a useful tidbit of info here, or something to think about that you hadn't.


The Lady
The Lady
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 8/22/2009
Helpful Score: 3


A coming-of-age book set on a working horse farm in Ireland. McCaffrey's characters come very much to life. I had an odd feeling from this book - I read a gazillion horse books as a kid and this recalled a lot of them (the main character is 12-13 years old) but there's a little romance, a dash if Irish history, and some complex character issues that a young reader wouldn't grasp. If you've ever been a horse-crazy teenage girl, you'll definitely relate to this book.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3370
Review Date: 11/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


My son read this for school, but apparently skipped the last chapter where men from the shipping company came and interviewed Pi about his ordeal (he was stranded for 227 days on a lifeboat with a tiger). Skipping it, he missed the entire point of the book.

An intriguing treatise on human and animal nature. An animal lover and trainer myself (but not tigers!), I loved the part when Pi used his life jacket whistle and the drag anchors on the boat to get the tiger to associate the whistle with seasickness and thus control his behavior. Brilliant!

I was intrigued at the amount of discussion on religion in it, as well... Pi is a Christian/Muslim/Hindu.

The back of the my copy has a list of book group discussion questions, and it'd make a great one for that!


The Lions of Al-Rassan
The Lions of Al-Rassan
Author: Guy Gavriel Kay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 7/12/2009


This book has no sorcery, dragons or other fantastical creatures. Instead, it's set in a very realistic medieval Spain (called Esperana) when the Muslims invaded it. It's very well written and engaging and I like the "reality fantasy" feel to it. The characters are endearing, and the only fault I could give the characterization is that the author seems a little too in love with his female lead. Overall, an excellent read.


Next
Next
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 461
Review Date: 9/23/2010


While I enjoyed this book, it was difficult to follow the plot (I'm really not sure it even had a plot) and it seemed far-fetched that the characters came together at the end. I like that he dealt with this issue, and if you're interested in the issue (genetic manipulation) it's definitely worth a read... but if you're interested in Crichton for entertainment's sake, I would say just about any other novel of his that I've read (most of them) is better crafted.


A Painted House
A Painted House
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1235
Review Date: 9/23/2010


This was an enjoyable read; the 7-year-old main character Luke is engaging and thoroughly believable, and I was totally hooked on the misadventures of his cotton-farming family. As a transplanted Yankee myself, I liked his take on life in the South, and the simpler times of the 50s.

I would have given it five stars, but I found the ending left loose ends unwrapped, and left me vaguely dissatisfied.


Pirate Latitudes
Pirate Latitudes
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 9/23/2010


I'm very glad the unearthed this treasure from the Crichton archives. It's true Crichton - a fast-paced adventure, and it doesn't get bogged down in the technical like many of his books do. Can't wait to see the movie they make from this one.


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: