Karen D. (augieandlourock) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 118 - Page:
102 Minutes : The Untold Story of the Fight to Survive Inside The Twin Towers
Review Date: 5/19/2010


I really wanted to read this book since NY was the next state over when 9/11 happened.I wanted to find out as much about that day as I could.I found this book to be very informative and I learned a lot about the towers that I never knew before.I also learned a lot about the brave men and women who helped out on that tragic day.You also learned about the people inside who helped their fellow peers.


The 13th Hour:
The 13th Hour:
Author: Richard Doetsch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/19/2010


Wow what a great story!It is a story about a mans wife who dies and he gets a second chance to go back in time and save her life.It goes from chapter 12 backwards to chapter 13 being the last chapter.This story has a lot of twist and turns.It also show you the consequences when you try to change fate.It had a lot of action.You feel sorry for the husband who loves his wifes and gets accused of her death even though he didn't do it.Thats when he sets out to find the real killer.The ending had me saying wow I would never have guessed that.This book had me on the edge of my seat.I was so absorbed in the story I read every minute I could. I hated to see the book end.I picked this book up because the title caught my attention I'm so glad I did.I will definitely read this authors other books.


The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Illustrated Junior Library)
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Illustrated Junior Library)
Author: Mark Twain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/22/2009


I know this is suppose to be a classic but im not sure why.I found the book tedious and boring and had to push myself to read it.The way Jim spoke in the book was hard to read and therefore you had a hard time trying to understand what he said.Alot of my friends in my book group didnt like it either and didnt finish the story they gave up half way through.


Amy and Isabelle
Amy and Isabelle
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 5/21/2010


This book was just okay.What mother and teen daughter don't have that hate love relationship with each other at times.Thats exactly what this book was about.The teen girl was rebellious but the mom wasn't perfect either.They each had their own set of problems.But in the end they came to realize there not that different after all as they thought they were.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 9/30/2009


i really liked this book. It is Worth reading.What a life Frank Mccourt had.I loved reading all about his life.It makes you count your blessings.


Angels in the Wilderness: The True Story of One Woman's Survival Against All Odds
Review Date: 1/26/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book was good.This book did go into her fall off the mountain but it also went into her hospital stay and her friends who helped her.The book also goes into her family life also.We learn that Amy was hiking from any early age and knew what she was doing.She also goes into what went wrong and why she fell off the mountain.It also goes into what she did to survive until help came. The spirit Amy had to survive and to walk again was very uplifting.It just shows you what you can do if you really put your mind into it.It also makes you think what would you do if you were in that situation.The book also tells us that Amy loved hiking by herself.The ending was very uplifting and you found yourself saying wow.After finishing this book I wanted to know more about Amy and her life.I also liked that the book gave you an update of what she was doing now at the end of the book.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 5/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Read this book for my book group.I liked reading about other people who were in a book group and what they were reading and what they were thinking and doing.This book brought a lot of discussion.This is a good book and I recommend it whether you belong to a book group or not.


Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life
Review Date: 5/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this book was very interesting and I learned a lot from it.This book is very detailed.I loved hearing about this family growing their own food and how much work and effort they put into it.Some of the things she describes will have you laughing and I also liked how she explained about the food she grew compared to the supermarket food.I still think about what she said when I go grocery shopping.I highly recommend this book.I also liked hearing about the animals they raised for food .It was interesting to hear what her husband and daughters thought about this also.It kind of makes you want to go buy a farm and try growing your own food.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 8/22/2009


When I first picked up this book I wasnt sure what to expect from it.Being an animal lover and having three dogs of my own I really loved this book.I loved how Enzo told the story from his point of view.It made me think of what my three dogs were thinking and feeling.
This book actually made me cry at the end which doesnt happen often.I am going to recomend this book to my friends and family.A truly heartfelt book.This book I will be keeping.


Bad Ground
Bad Ground
Author: W. Dale Cramer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 9/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I didnt like this book at all.You know how they have chick lit for women well this book was written for the men.It was a story all about men and how they mined.It was surely not written for a woman.I found it quite boring the way these men carried on through everyday life.I found myself pushing to read it.I did like Dale cramers other book so I deceiced to pick this one up wish I hadnt.would recomend it for men to read they can relate to this stuff not for women youll be bored.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 871
Review Date: 5/21/2010


I read this book a while ago but It is such a good book I still remember it.This book had you feeling for the characters in the story and what they went through that night.I would recommend you read the book you wont be disappointed.


The Big House : A Century in the Life of an American Summer Home
The Big House : A Century in the Life of an American Summer Home
Author: George Howe Colt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 1/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I just couldnt get into this book I gave it to page 60.I will say I did like the parts were he talked about when he was little and use to spend his days on cape cod. Reminded me of the days at the Jersey shore.I hated the parts when he went off on the history of the island and his family history that part just bored me.I found the book was slow reading.Also it was very descriptive so if your into that you may like it.For me I dont like alot of discription in a book.


The Birthing House
The Birthing House
Author: Christopher Ransom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 12/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I hated this book.I Picked it up thinking it would be a great scary story.But I just couldnt get into this book.


Bless Your Heart, Tramp: And Other Southern Endearments
Bless Your Heart, Tramp: And Other Southern Endearments
Author: Celia Rivenbark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 9/24/2009


I thought this book was very funny.I found myself lauhing at the things she was talking about.This was a fast read.I would recomend this book to any one who wants a good laugh.


Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Author: Kim Meeder, Kim Meeder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 5/23/2012


I am an animal lover so when i saw this book about a blind dog and I read the reviews on PBS stating this was a good dog story i deceiced to go ahead and order the book.I was in for a big shock when i received this book and started reading it.This book is more about Laura and her finding God and accepting him in her life than it is about her and her dog Mia.So if you are looking for a dog story this isnt the book for you.But if you are looking for a book about God and how to accept him in your life than this book for you.I couldnt finish this book i was tired of hearing Laura feeling sorry for her self. and half way through i was bored with this story.The only parts i enjoyed were Laura talking about Mia.


Body Surfing
Body Surfing
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 9/30/2009


I liked this book about a women who goes to the beach and falls in love with 2 brothers and the choices she has to make.another good story from Anita Shreve.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1029
Review Date: 5/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Even though this book says its for young adults I think any age will enjoy this book.It is a fascinating story.What caught my attention was that the girl loved to read and she was always looking for a book to read.It sounded just like me.I love the way death narrates the story and we find out what he thinks and feels.I highly recommend this book.


The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven: A Remarkable Account of Miracles, Angels, and Life beyond This World
Review Date: 4/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book was okay.I would have liked to hear more about heaven from the boy who died instead of short little blurbs.Even though the blurbs were fascinating and I did learn more about heaven from them.This story was a harrowing tale about a father who has a car crash and how his son is injured and he blames himself.This story centers more around them being in the hospital than the boy being in heaven. It is a story of redemption.This story will touch your heart.I would highly recommend reading this book.


The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Author: Junot Diaz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 1/15/2011


I hated this book! He kept using the word Nigger, Which is not a nice way to refer to a black person.He also had explicated sex talk in there also,He also threw in Spanish and you don't know what it means you will be lost and you will need to have a dictionary to understand what he is saying. The book also has a lot of fouled mouth langue in it. I can't understand why anyone would want to read this book? I couldn't get past the first couple of chapters.

I would NOT recommend this book to anyone!


A Brother's Journey : Surviving a Childhood of Abuse
A Brother's Journey : Surviving a Childhood of Abuse
Author: Richard B. Pelzer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 8/24/2009


I cant believe that once David was removed from the house she started taking out her abuse on her other son.What a tragic story. you will see just how sick this woman was to do such harm as she did.and Im glad his brother shared his story with us also.


1 to 20 of 118 - Page: