Dave L. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
The Alchemist
The Alchemist
Author: Paulo Coelho
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/9/2010


An amazing book! A wonderful story of a boy growing up and discovering himself and his purpose in the world. A beautiful tale of self-discovery.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 2/17/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fast but incredibly enjoyable read. Just when you think the book is headed in one direction, it takes an entirely different (and many times comic) path. The book is similar to A Tree Grows in Brooklyn although adds more humor to the mix.


Babycakes (Tales of the City, Bk 4)
Babycakes (Tales of the City, Bk 4)
Author: Armistead Maupin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 7/7/2009


As always, an excellent read!


Before Night Falls
Before Night Falls
Author: Reinaldo Arenas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/4/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Very hard to sum up this book except that it is an excellent read. Not only was it a bit of a tearjerker but also an eye-opener - I had no idea how terrible living in communist Cuba really was for certain minority groups. For those of you who have seen the movie, the movie in no way does justice to this very well written book.


Benevolence and Betrayal: Five Italian Jewish Families Under Fascism
Review Date: 2/28/2012


It was a little slow starting off but soon I was quickly taken in by the true stories of the people covered in the book. As always, the holocaust stories are heartbreaking beyond belief but it was so interesting to see what happened to Jews in Italy...a similar yet distinct tale to what happened to Jews in other parts of Europe during WWII.


Children of God (Sparrow, Bk 2)
Children of God (Sparrow, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Doria Russell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 7/20/2010


It was a pretty good read overall and definitely provided a nice level of closure to the previous book although I think I enjoyed the first one better.


Cod: A Biography of the Fish That Changed the World
Cod: A Biography of the Fish That Changed the World
Author: Mark Kurlansky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 9/23/2010


A really great little book and a wonderfully insightful history of cod and it's destruction by humans. The ending wasn't entirely inspiring but the book was overall great!


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3336
Review Date: 7/7/2009


A fast, fun read


The Eastern Stars: How Baseball Changed the Dominican Town of San Pedro de Macoris
Review Date: 8/21/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting book on an interesting topic and a nice, quick read. My only beef is that I lived in the Dominican Republic for quite some time and I think a number of his translations and interpretations of Dominican culture and sayings aren't quite right. For the casual reader, this might be overlooked, it was an annoying distraction for me that kept derailing my focus on the book.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 3/25/2011


I wonderful read and very applicable to the busy, stressed-out American lives that so many of us live these days. It will definitely make me look at life and the need for balance in a much different way.


Eleven Minutes
Eleven Minutes
Author: Paulo Coelho, Margaret Jull Costa (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 4/9/2010


Not as good as The Alchemist but definitely a great read and once again, the author has done a great job in creating a story while telling us about life, love and sexuality.


Empire Falls
Empire Falls
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 8/20/2009


I enjoyed the book although I didn't necessarily find it to be significantly better than other non-Pulitzer prize winning books I've read recently.


Exodus
Exodus
Author: Leon Uris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 1/21/2015


It's a bit of a long read but worth the time. An amazing story that sucked me in and gave me a new perspective on the struggles the Jews have faced and the way they selflessly have of themselves to ensure the future generations of their people.


Further Tales of the City (Tales of the City, Bk 3)
Further Tales of the City (Tales of the City, Bk 3)
Author: Armistead Maupin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 11/5/2008


Yet another excellent tome of the tales from 28 Barbary Lane in San Francisco...this is yet again a page-turning, emotion-jerking piece of fun, light-hearted reading. The short chapters make the book easy to read, especially for commuters and those who need a book that allows them to stop and start constantly. I love it for my 2 hour subway rides everyday.


The Great Influenza: The Epic Story of the Deadliest Plague in History (Revised Edition)
Review Date: 11/18/2011
Helpful Score: 2


The first part of the book is.both interesting and a page turner but the last 150 pages are a little slow and disconnected. Regardless, a really great book worth reading.


A Hope in the Unseen : An American Odyssey from the Inner City to the Ivy League
Review Date: 7/20/2010


I really enjoyed the book - a fast read and an inspiring story. There were some parts of the book that the author seemed to use to fill pages and didn't particularly make a whole lot of sense to the overall story but overall, he did a great job of sucking the reader in. I would highly recommend this book to everyone!


The House of the Spirits
The House of the Spirits
Author: Isabel Allende, Magda Bogin (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 391
Review Date: 8/29/2008


An excellent read - as always, Allende won't let you down!


How Soccer Explains The World: An Unlikely Theory Of Globalization
How Soccer Explains The World: An Unlikely Theory Of Globalization
Author: Franklin Foer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/29/2008


I great read with lots of excellent examples, even for those of us who don't get soccer...lol. Overall, the book isn't as effective in explaining globalization as I would have expected, mainly b/c it doesn't 'close the loop' but overall, I enjoyed the analogies and would definitely recommend this to others.


How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents
Author: Julia Alvarez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 10/9/2008


Yet another great Allende book! Worth reading.


In the Time of the Butterflies
In the Time of the Butterflies
Author: Julia Alvarez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 11/5/2008


INCREDIBLE...an amazing page-turner on the lives of four sisters in the Dominican Republic who struggle against their violent, ruthless dictator. This book puts you there and let's you see and feel how it all plays out...you won't regret this read.

*One bit of advice - read it in English. I've read both English and Spanish versions but as it was originally written in English, that version retains much of the original flavor that is somewhat lost in translation.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: