Christine R. (bytemare) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Blood Justice (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Blood Justice (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Tom Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 5/29/2006


Good read. Guy was a sicko. I found I kept wanting to read just "one more chapter" before going to bed and that turned into another 3 instead!


Careless Whispers (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Careless Whispers (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Carlton Stowers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/30/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Carlton Stowers wrote a great crime story but at times he started a thread that he didn't go into detail with, which I was expecting him to or why else mention it? It was a long book but riveting. It's a good thing the principals were brought to justice but it makes one wonder if ALL that were guilty were caught. A good read on the perfect sociopath.


Catch Me If You Can : A California Saga of Murder, Greed, and Two Heroic Detectives
Review Date: 3/7/2007


Dana ia one cool customer. His grandfather lived in my small town of Wellington, Ohio and it seemed strange to read about our little town in this crime book. This book dwells heavy on bullets and stria and land and grooves. It's sort of tedius at some points but all in all, the author tells a gripping story of greed.


Cold Storage
Cold Storage
Author: Don Lasseter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


As always, it's a good thing that criminals are usually stupid too so they can be caught! This guy was as dumb as they come and it's amazing that he was able to get away with his crime for over 3 years! Sick, sick, sick. But.......a good read.


Dead Center : The Shocking True Story of a Murder on Snipe Mountain
Review Date: 2/1/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book is about a woman who is accused of shooting her husband for insurance money. The writer, Frank J Daniels is a prosecutor and he chose to write the story of his prosecution of this woman. I found it hard to wade through as he is not the best writer, although he is probably an excellent prosecutor. I think he needs to stick to that and leave the writing to someone else.

He bogs the reader down in too many technicalities that goes on for pages and pages, consequently the narrative doesn't flow smoothly because of it. In spite of his writing, the story is compelling and if one can mentally edit out what is mind-numbing and skip to the meat of the narrative, it is a good read.


Dead Ends: The Pursuit, Conviction and Execution of Female Serial Killer Aileen Wuornos, the Damsel of Death (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Review Date: 2/9/2007


Aileen Wuornos........she was the classic example of personality disorder. She truly hated men and blamed all her problems on them. It actually started with the men in her family unit, which is what molded her to become what she was. Would she have turned out different if raised in a typical, mother/father family? Possibly.....but then there are killers who were raised in the "typical family" (if there is such a thing) and still killed.

Good read on the insight of the police investigation and trial. I wish I had heard more about the woman who adopted her though after she was jailed and what became of that relationship. The book only alludes that it ended badly but nothing in detail is written about it.


The Death of Innocence : The Untold Story of JonBenet's Murder and How Its Exploitation Compromised the Pursuit of Truth
Review Date: 1/4/2006


Enlightening......A good study on how influential the media can be and how one must be diligent to not trust everything that is read in newspapers or heard on the major networks!


Evil Twins : Chilling True Stories of Twins, Killing and Insanity (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Review Date: 2/21/2006


Very interesting read. One has to wonder if it is really nature or nurture that prevails. Is it really in our DNA to be evil?


Green River, Running Red: The Real Story of the Green River Killer - America's Deadliest Serial Murderer
Review Date: 2/16/2006


Typical Ann Rule and very good. I get a little bored with her long-winded descriptions of the people in her books but basically, she's a good read and this one is another one that will be hard to put down for anyone who followed the Ridgeway trial. Good insights into what makes him tick. Scary!


"If I Die..." : A True Story of Obsessive Love, Uncontrollable Greed, and Murder (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Review Date: 11/18/2006


I believe this woman is guilty of the crime of which she is accused but the lawyer who represented her in her criminal trial should be charged with something for the way he handled himself. It made my blood boil to read about his transgressions regarding her defense. As always, Michael Fleeman presents this story in an easy to read format.


Love, Daddy
Love, Daddy
Author: Carlton Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 12/1/2006
Helpful Score: 2


The father of these children have a surprise up his sleeve for his trial. It took me by surprise as to what his defense would be. Don't want to ruin it so I won't say anymore.


Lust Killer
Lust Killer
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 1/3/2006


Another good book by Ann Rule. I found it very disturbing to think there are human beings out there with the thought processes of the sicko she wrote about!


Murder in Paradise (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Murder in Paradise (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Lisa Pulitzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/26/2006


Wow.......this book will discourage one from traveling to the British Virgin Islands. I know it did me. Although our justice system has flaws, it still beats other countries. I think the BVI investigators were a bunch of bumbling Barney Fifes.


Reckless : Millionaire Record Producer Phil Spector and the Violent Death of Lana Clarkson (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Review Date: 12/30/2006


I am an avid true crime reader and was sort of disappointed that this book should really be entitled, "An unauthorized biography of Phil Spector". Most of the book deals with him and not the murder. The intent of the author was to give the reader background so that we know what frame of mind Spector was in when he shot Clarkson. Only the last few chapters deal with the actual murder. No detail was given about the police investigation, probably because this trial is still ongoing

Maybe Carlton Smith should have waited until the outcome before writing this book. The author's other books deal with the crimes much heavily. However, if I were a Spector fan, this book was very detailed on Spector and is a perfect biography of him. If you are looking for a crime account, forget this one, but if you want to know all about Spector, this will be right up your alley.


She Wanted it All: a True Story of Sex, Murder, and a Texas Millionaire
She Wanted it All: a True Story of Sex, Murder, and a Texas Millionaire
Author: Kathryn Casey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 6/22/2006
Helpful Score: 2


How could so many men be so blind? I wouldn't have such luck. Guess you shouldn't really call it luck though. She's wicked, nasty, evil, and just about any other cruddy adjective one can think of. But, it's a good read. I finished it in 12 hours! Guess you could say I was kept interested.


So That Others May Live : Caroline Hebard  Her Search-And-Rescue Dogs
Review Date: 9/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a heartwarming book for the dedication Caroline showed her search and rescue dogs, but also for the dedication she showed to humanity. Unfortunately, Caroline lost her battle to cancer several years ago. Her legacy lives on. If you love animals and helping others, this book is a must read.


The Stranger Beside Me
The Stranger Beside Me
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 3/23/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Good read per usual for Ann Rule. I didn't know she was that involved with him, in other words, I wasn't aware that the author was such a steady friend. Scary!!! It is a fairly fast paced book and doesn't get bogged down in lengthy descriptions as some of her other novels do. It kept me glued to it!


Streets of Laredo (Lonesome Dove, Bk 2)
Streets of Laredo (Lonesome Dove, Bk 2)
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/17/2006


Not as good as Lonesome Dove. I was disappointed in his characters this time around but worth reading if you liked Lonesome Dove. Read LD first though.


1 to 18 of 18