speedwaygirl - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Claude
Claude
Author: Randy Moravec
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/2/2009


Yes, it's a tiny little book, but it's full of wonderful. A must for cat lovers of all ages. There are some great statistics in this book and Claude's one of the most expressive cats you'll ever see. Also check out Randy's website claudecat.com.


Claude
Claude
Author: Randy Moravec
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/2/2009


Yes, it's a tiny little book, but it's full of wonderful. A must for cat lovers of all ages. There are some great statistics in this book and Claude's one of the most expressive cats you'll ever see. Also check out Randy's website claudecat.com.


Darker Angels (Black Sun's Daughter, Bk 2)
Darker Angels (Black Sun's Daughter, Bk 2)
Author: M. L. N. Hanover
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 10/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


As good as the first book was, this book was more surprising. There were twists and turns with the plot. I was sorry to see that Midian never made an appearance, but Jayne grows up some more in this story. She's maturing. A very enjoyable read! Looking forward to book #3!


God of Dogs (Yaoi)
God of Dogs (Yaoi)
Author: Satoru Ishihara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/5/2009


This book is not the first in this series, yet DMP chose to publish this part alone. It is very difficult to follow along and understand the characters (and there are a lot of them) and the story line without knowing what took place before this manga.


Mercy Thompson: Homecoming
Review Date: 9/30/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I received this book as a birthday gift and I enjoyed it. That said, as a pre-order, Amazon did not come out and identify it as a graphic novel, so if I had spent my hard earned dollars as a pre-order, I may have been disappointed. As a big fan of graphic novels, I enjoyed the book and am looking forward to the graphic novel treatment of Alpha and Omega. Dabel Brothers is not my favorite graphic publisher, but they've done a respectable job with the Anita Blake series, and I think that they are doing the same with Mercy Thompson.

So I guess what I am trying to say is that this is an enjoyable read about the Mercy backstory and you will enjoy it, but you have to have your expectations set accordingly.

Enjoy!


Necratoholic (Yaoi)
Necratoholic (Yaoi)
Author: Maguro Wasabi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Having seen early scans of this book, I had great expectations. I preordered the book and eagerly awaited its arrival. I found it to be VERY disappointing with neither the story nor the characters drawing me in. If you need a yaoi vampire manga, I would suggest Vassalord or Vampire's Portrait.


S, Vol 1 (Yaoi Novel)
S, Vol 1 (Yaoi Novel)
Author: Saki Aida, Chiharu Nara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Really. I can't rave enough about this series of four novels. The story line is compelling and the characters engrossing. It's been torture to wait for each new novel to be released! Sometimes the narrative doesn't flow very smoothly (probably in the translation), but the books are good enough to stand up to more than one reading. If you haven't read these, you are missing out. Now if only DMP would publish Saki Aida's other series!


Sanctuary (Volume 1)
Sanctuary (Volume 1)
Author: Sho Fumimura
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I read copious amounts of manga/graphic novels, but this series is the standard by which I judge them all. The story is gripping and complex. The characters are compelling. The gratuitous nudity/rape is very disturbing, but it says something about the writing/artwork when the character responsible for these reprehensible acts becomes my favorite character! This series is stunning. It is truly a must read.


Unclean Spirits (Black Sun's Daughter, Bk 1)
Unclean Spirits (Black Sun's Daughter, Bk 1)
Author: M. L. N. Hanover
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 9/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book and look forward to the next installment in the series. The only thing that set me off about this novel was that it clearly seemed to be a male writing a female lead character. It just seemed to be missing something. Still, the action was good, the universe it was set in was interesting, and the supporting characters drew you in. All in all, a very good effort!


1 to 9 of 9