Marta R. (marta73) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Complete Encyclopedia of Needlework
Complete Encyclopedia of Needlework
Author: T. De Dillmont
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/1/2014


This is an old text that has been reproduced. Very complete but also quite dated. Illustrations are small.


Do It Yourself Needlepoint Design Workbook,Vol 2
Do It Yourself Needlepoint Design Workbook,Vol 2
Author: Richard Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/29/2014


Lots of drawings to use as designs for needlepoint but I found them either silly or too complicated.


The Fiery Cross (Outlander, Bk 5)
The Fiery Cross (Outlander, Bk 5)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/7/2015


The fifth book in the Outlander series, and very satisfying--but a reader must begin at the beginning, not start with this one. Diana Gabaldon's research and writing abilities are stunning and would be apparent even to someone reading this book as his/her first experience with the author, but the plot line would not be anywhere near as meaningful without the background from Outlander and the other three books that precede it.


Fodor's Exploring Scotland, 3rd Edition (3rd Edition)
Fodor's Exploring Scotland, 3rd Edition (3rd Edition)
Author: Gilbert Summers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/12/2014


very happy with this book, using it to plan a trip for next summer, seems to have all of the sights covered and lots of pictures


The Last Hellion (Scoundrels, Bk 4)
The Last Hellion (Scoundrels, Bk 4)
Author: Loretta Chase
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 4/14/2016


Loved it--all of Loretta Chase's books are fantastic and this was was no different. I suggest, however, reading the Scoundrels series in order because it makes the stories even better. This is the fourth in the series.


Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade (Lord John, Bk 2)
Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade (Lord John, Bk 2)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 11/25/2015


This is one of my favorite of the Lord John Grey series, although I love them all. I highly recommend this book to fans of Outlander and Lord John, but would not read this one without familiarity with the characters in the series, because I'm sure it could be confusing. Diana Gabaldon is an amazing author who always surprises and pleases and educates.


Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John, Bk 1)
Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 239
Review Date: 6/24/2015


Another great story from master storyteller Diana Gabaldon featuring a wonderful hero, Lord John Grey. This is a book that even those who do not care that much for historical romance will like because it has an interesting setting (18th century aristocracy in England) and a mystery-like plot.


Lord of Scoundrels (Scoundrels, Bk 3)
Lord of Scoundrels (Scoundrels, Bk 3)
Author: Loretta Chase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 4/9/2016


This is one of, if not THE, best of Loretta Chase's books. Wonderful characters, interesting plot, really riveting.


Lord Perfect (Carsington, Bk 3)
Lord Perfect (Carsington, Bk 3)
Author: Loretta Chase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 9/22/2016


This is a keeper. I love the Carsington series but this one is my favorite, I think. I suggest beginning at Book 1, but this could stand alone and if this is the only one you can read, read it. I intend to return to this again and again. It is a lovely happy love story with very strong and good characters.


Make Way for Ducklings
Make Way for Ducklings
Author: Robert McCloskey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/12/2014


This classic story should be on every toddler's bookshelf. It is a wonderful read-aloud book and little ones for years have loved the story and the adorable illustrations.


The Observer's Book of Heraldry
The Observer's Book of Heraldry
Author: Charles MacKinnon of Dunakin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/12/2015


Great book by a true expert on heraldry.


Prince of Midnight
Prince of Midnight
Author: Laura Kinsale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 6/12/2016


Laura Kinsale's books are always beautiful and unusual. This is one of her very best, involving two very complex characters and a truly exciting plot. The romance evolves and changes and weaves a spell that haunts the reader long after finishing the book. A subplot dealing with a cult-like religious group in 18th century England adds interest and an exotic tone. I highly recommend this book.


Scottish Highlanders
Scottish Highlanders
Author: Charles MacKinnon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/17/2014


great book, full of very interesting information about the Scottish clans, written in an accessible way


The Scottish Prisoner (Lord John, Bk 3)
The Scottish Prisoner (Lord John, Bk 3)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/25/2015


This book is, as is everything Diana Gabaldon has written, incredibly detailed in both plot and description, and kept me, who thinks of herself as a sophisticated reader, both thinking and learning while enjoying the story. The subject is Lord John Grey, a character Gabaldon introduced in her second of her "Outlander" novels, "Dragonfly In Amber", and his relationship with Jamie Fraser, the hero of the "Outlander" series. It explains some gaps in the plot between books three and four of those books, but can definitely be read alone or at a different point while reading the "Outlander" series. It is by far her best Lord John Grey title in my opinion.


Seize the Fire
Seize the Fire
Author: Laura Kinsale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/12/2015


I have been bingeing on Laura Kinsale books since I read "Flowers From the Storm", all seeking something to read after Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. Until Kinsale I had found no books that developed characters of any interest compared to the Outlander characters. Kinsale comes the closest I have found, not really the same and not in the same genre (Kinsale's books are truly romance novels and Outlander defies characterization) but literate, well-written, and with interesting, surprising, and complicated plots. This is so far (after having read four) my favorite of her books, although I also loved Flowers.

The hero of this novel is an interesting man and I grew to love him and his flaws. The heroine is naive and sometimes annoying--Kinsale tends to make women less attractive in personality than her men--but she ends up being persuasive. While I have a picture in my mind's eye of the hero, Sheridan Drake, however, I never could picture exactly what Olympia St. Leger looks like. She is supposed to be plump and not really that beautiful, so it's hard to see his strong need for her. But maybe I misunderstand the description.

Anyway I like this book very much even though sometimes the plot twists, which never cease, caused an emotional roller coaster for me. As always with Kinsale, however, there is a Happily Ever After ending, so a reader knows that the downs will be followed by ups.

I recommend this for hard-to-please literate readers of the type who enjoy classics such as "Jane Eyre" and Jane Austen novels, as well as to the Outlander community, who are always desperate for something to read while waiting for the next installment of the Fraser saga.


Seize the Fire
Seize the Fire
Author: Laura Kinsale
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/26/2016


One of my absolute favorite books by Laura Kinsale, a wonderful romance author who truly can write (unlike many others). This one is unusual in its depth and in the plot line. I highly recommend it.


The Stupids Die
The Stupids Die
Author: Harry G. Allard, James Marshall (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/20/2014


Love this book, always made me and my son laugh when we read it. Now I have ordered it for my grandson so he can laugh, too.


1 to 17 of 17