Athena M. (luv2teach) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 58 - Page:
24 Tropical Quilt Blocks: Full-Size Patterns for Foundation Piecing
Review Date: 6/30/2006


Some of the blocks included in this book are a pineapple, plumeria, hula dancer, flamingo, sunset, butterfly, and hibiscus.


72 Hour Hold
72 Hour Hold
Author: Bebe Moore Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book and the author's writing style. I didn't have much knowledge of mental illness, and I found this book very informative.


Animal Dreams
Animal Dreams
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 489
Review Date: 4/3/2007


Interesting read.


Arithmetic Developed Daily - Grade 6
Review Date: 7/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I have used this program in both a 3rd and 6th grade classroom as a warm-up before our daily math lesson. I love the program. It provides constant review, along with a daily word problem, and 3 oral problems which are great for listening skill practice.


The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad, Ingrid Christophersen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 5/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed the author's style. She was able to give a glimpse of life in Afghanistan without being judgemental.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 11/11/2006


Funny, quick read.


Captain Alatriste (Captain Alatriste, Bk 1)
Review Date: 8/27/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first book in a historical adventure series by Arturo Perez-Reverte. It took awhile for me to get into it, but once I did I was disappointed when it ended. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in this series...Purity of Blood. I think this book would make a great movie!


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1989
Review Date: 7/16/2006


I loved this book. This is the first book I have read by this author and it was difficult to put down. I have requested two others just to see how Rebecca Bloomwood's story continues. Very quick, funny, enjoyable read.


The Constant Princess
The Constant Princess
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 776
Review Date: 3/3/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Another great book by Philippa Gregory. This one is about Katherine of Aragon. I would also recommend The Other Boleyn Girl, The Queen's Fool, and The Virgin's Lover by this author.


Dance of the Gods (Circle, Bk 2)
Dance of the Gods (Circle, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1071
Review Date: 12/17/2006


Enjoyable read.


The Dive from Clausen's Pier
The Dive from Clausen's Pier
Author: Ann Packer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 502
Review Date: 10/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was one of my book club's selections. I enjoyed this book, and I especially liked the author's writing style. This is one of those books that I constantly found myself thinking about as I was reading it.


Echo Park (Harry Bosch, Bk 12)
Echo Park (Harry Bosch, Bk 12)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 4/5/2007


A real page turner. This is the first Harry Bosch novel I've read and I look forward to reading more of Michael Connelly's books featuring this character.


Elizabeth I: Red Rose of the House of Tudor, England, 1544 (The Royal Diaries)
Review Date: 2/15/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Quick read. Great, enjoyable way to learn history.


For One More Day
For One More Day
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 721
Review Date: 12/9/2006


Enjoyable, quick read. Another great book by Mitch Albom.


Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood (Sisterhood, Bk 4)
Review Date: 4/27/2007


Fun, quick read.


Fortune's Rocks
Fortune's Rocks
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 3/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Starts off slow, but then I found it difficult to put down. First book I've read by this author. I do plan to read more of her work.


The Full Cupboard of Life (The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Bk 5)
Review Date: 4/10/2007


Enjoy this series.


Full House (Max Holt, Bk 1)
Full House (Max Holt, Bk 1)
Author: Charlotte Hughes, Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 918
Review Date: 6/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Not as good as the Stephanie Plum series. Ending was a surprise though.


Get Ready, Set, Grow!: A Pre-Planned Calendar of Preschool Activities
Review Date: 6/30/2006


Designed for teachers, play groups, day-care centers, and parents. This book provides 44 weeks worth of learning activities plus summer-fun ideas. All activities are carefully sequenced and organized into special thematic units that include: indoor/outdoor play, art activities, essential learning skills, rhythm and music, snacks and recipes, storytime and more! The more than 250 activities require little or no preparation and use only readily available materials. Activities are easy to adapt to various age groups and developmental levels.


A Good Indian Wife
A Good Indian Wife
Author: Anne Cherian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Loved this book. I would read it again, but I have too many books on my TBR list already.


1 to 20 of 58 - Page: