Rene E. (ReneAZ) - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The Amber Room
The Amber Room
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 3/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Blends history and adventure. Not as good as the Da Vinci Code, but entertaining.


The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)
The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 468
Review Date: 3/21/2006


Another great read from Preston & Child. Murders identical to murders from a century ago are happening again (by the same person???). Read in 3 days. Great story and characters. Highly recommend it.


The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11)
The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 455
Review Date: 2/22/2006


Another great Harry Bosch story. He's back "on the job" and working on the cold case files. Michael Connelly is one of my favorite writers, and this didn't disappoint. I highly recommend it.


The Codex (Codex, Bk 01)
The Codex (Codex, Bk 01)
Author: Douglas Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 2/18/2006


A fast read! A treasure hunter and tomb raider hid his fortune in the jungle and challenged his sons to find his tomb and claim their inheritance. Of course, there's a bad guy after the fortune too!
Entertainment Weekly called it "Raiders of the Lost Ark meets The Amazing Race".
It was the first book I've read by this author, but already ordered a couple more. I highly recommend it.


Falls the Shadow
Falls the Shadow
Author: William Lashner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I love this series - with the attorney Victor Carl -- not your typical attorney. Excellent book - an intricate tale involving a murder trial, a French chef, and a dentist! I highly recommend it (and others by this writer). It is fast-paced and witty and suspenseful. An excellent read!


Gone for Good
Gone for Good
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 499
Review Date: 3/2/2006


Great, quick read. My first book by this author - will definitely read more! Great mystery - twists & turns.


The Hunt Club (Wyatt Hunt, Bk 1)
The Hunt Club (Wyatt Hunt, Bk 1)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 3/15/2007


From the writer of the Dismas Hardy/Abe Glitsky books - the author develops a new character - Wyatt Hunt, a child services worker turned PI. Great read - suspenseful and well crafted. You won't be disappointed.


The Narrows (Harry Bosch, Bk 10)
The Narrows (Harry Bosch, Bk 10)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 3/15/2006


Great, quick read. Michael Connelly is THE best mystery/thriller writer out there today. I couldn't put this book down. (former LAPD detective) Harry Bosch helps out a friend, and gets drawn deeper and deeper into an FBI case and an old enemy. If you like mysteries/police procedurals, you'll love this book too!


Rough Draft
Rough Draft
Author: James W. Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 2/26/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this book. It had good suspense throughout, and actually surprised me at the end!
If you're a mystery addict like me, you'll like this book too>


The Two Minute Rule
The Two Minute Rule
Author: Robert Crais
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 3/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Loved this book! Two-minute rule - when you're robbing a bank, get in and out within 2 minutes. But the 'hero' of the book did not, for a very good reason. Ex-con gets out of jail and learns his son was murdered, and he's going to find out why.
Highly recommended!


1 to 10 of 10