Stacie F. (staceid) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 66 - Page:
The Adventures of Slim & Howdy
The Adventures of Slim & Howdy
Author: Ronnie Dunn, Kix Brooks, Bill Fitzhugh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 2/3/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is just a fun book from start to finish. Slim & Howdy are a couple of good ol' boys who find more than their fair share of adventures as they meet and travel across Texas together.


American Gods
American Gods
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 966
Review Date: 4/29/2007
Helpful Score: 6


The story itself is entertaining, but I had a hard time getting into it. The second half was better.


April Fool Dead  (Death on Demand, Bk 13)
April Fool Dead (Death on Demand, Bk 13)
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Once I got past the first few chapters I was able to get into this book, but cozies just don't seem to be my thing. The "bad guy" wasn't nearly as surprising as I would prefer.


Asking for Trouble
Asking for Trouble
Author: Elizabeth Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 2/28/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A British literary version of The Wedding Date (movie)... I loved this book.


Backpack
Backpack
Author: Emily Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is written in the first person present tense which made it impossible for me to get into.


The Beach House (Beach House, Bk 1)
The Beach House (Beach House, Bk 1)
Author: Sally John
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 1/12/2012


While I did like this book overall, there were several parts that were just a bit too preachy for my liking.

After you get through the first half (or so), there are a few chapters where these four best friends from childhood all (re)discover Jesus and proceed to beat one another over the head with Him.


Before I Say Good-Bye
Before I Say Good-Bye
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 406
Review Date: 1/11/2006


Mary Higgins Clark always sends her readers down a mysterious path that twists and turns until the very end. I was not disappointed with this journey.


Bellybuttons are Navels (Young Readers Series)
Bellybuttons are Navels (Young Readers Series)
Author: Mark Schoen, M. J. Quay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very easy to read book, but in my opinion it goes a little too in depth as far as body parts goes. Perhaps I'm just a prude, but I don't think my elementary school child really needs to know what a scrotum or vulva is quite yet. If this book were aimed toward teenagers somehow, it would be an entirely different story.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 7/30/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is the cute tale of a girl who manages to say all the wrong things to a complete stranger only to find out that he is her new boss. A very quick fluff read.


Cyber Cinderella
Cyber Cinderella
Author: Christina Hopkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 10/25/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I found this book a bit lacking in believability (for example, it's set in 2003 yet half of the characters don't know the first thing about the internet), but overall it was a fun read. The concept of discovering yourself via somebody else's perception of you is an interesting one.


Dave Barry is from Mars and Venus
Dave Barry is from Mars and Venus
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 8/27/2007


This collection of Dave Barry articles is a fun read whether you do it all at once or space them out over a long period of time. Barry is always good for a few laughs.


Death and the Easter Bunny (Trudy Roundtree, Bk 1)
Death and the Easter Bunny (Trudy Roundtree, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 4/10/2007
Helpful Score: 9


What started out as a cute little book that had a catchy title and seemed seasonally appropriate turned into a good read that I heartily enjoyed. While a few of the characters annoyed me with their southern accents (spelled phonetically, at that), the whodunnit wasn't solved until the 11th hour and actually kept me guessing until the very end.


Death Threads (Southern Sewing, Bk 2)
Death Threads (Southern Sewing, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth Lynn Casey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 7/9/2012


I love that the main character in this series doesn't get put into a life-threatening situaion in every installment!


Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 996
Review Date: 12/7/2006
Helpful Score: 7


The second book of the Outlander series, this one was tough to get into and very misleading in the beginning. I was sucked in after a few chapters though, and had a tough time thinking about anything else until I finished it.


Dream Country
Dream Country
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 8/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


There were enough twists in the plot to keep me reading, though the ending was more predictable than I was hoping.


Family, Friends and Feelings: 6 Early Childhood Tales
Review Date: 7/30/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This tiny boxed set is perfect for helping the little ones learn to read. The books themselves are a great size for tiny hands and will be flipped through over and over again, even if the words are ignored.


Five Little Pumpkins (Harper Growing Tree (Board Books))
Review Date: 7/30/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Help the kids learn how to count and teach them about rhyming at the same time! This short but sweet book will have your toddler grinning as the pumpkins roll about and run from ghosts on a cold fall night.


Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood (Sisterhood, Bk 4)
Review Date: 3/15/2007
Helpful Score: 4


The fourth and possibly the best in the series. The Septembers are growing up now... some might even say grown. They are living their lives separately while trying desperately to remember how to stay together still. And once more, the pants know just what has to happen to seal the friendship for the future.


The Friends
The Friends
Author: Rosa Guy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/27/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of the very few books that I was just not able to finish reading.
The dialect used for the main characters was hard for me to understand and the plot seemed to jump around so much that I never knew what was happening at any given time.


Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood (Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Bk 3)
Review Date: 7/26/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Another sweet glimpse into the lives of four young woman that I have grown to love and admire. As with the previous two books, this one just begs to be read and refuses to be put down.


1 to 20 of 66 - Page: