Abby T. (abbykt) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 114 - Page:
1001 Things to Spot in the Sea
1001 Things to Spot in the Sea
Author: Katie Daynes, Anna Milbourne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/25/2011


My son loves everything ocean. Great book!


The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Author: Mark Twain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/18/2009


This is a great coming of age book and I enjoyed reading it in school.


The Alchemist
The Alchemist
Author: Paulo Coelho, Alan R. Clarke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/11/2011


This book was interesting. It read like a fable to me and was very short so I did not feel like I really got to know the boy. In some ways, I felt that he understood his treasure all along but he was misled by others, telling him that he would regret not searching for the treasure. It took his search though, for him to see what his treasure was. I felt that as the reader, I knew all along.


Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass
Author: Lewis Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/24/2009


I had fun reading this book. I actually liked Through the Looking Glass better. It had more of my favorite characters and adventures.


The Alleluia Files (Samaria, Bk 3)
The Alleluia Files (Samaria, Bk 3)
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 6/3/2009


I did enjoy this book but I felt that it was a retelling of Jovah's Angel. We already learned the secret of Jehovah in that book and this book told it all over again. I still liked the religious feeling of Archangel and missed that again in this book. I am not on the side of science. I also wanted more romance and enjoyed the parts that Jared saved Tamar from danger.


Anna Karenina
Anna Karenina
Author: Leo Tolstoy, Joel Carmichael (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 6/10/2010


This book was depressing to me and I had the same feeling with it as when I read The Awakening. Infidelity does not equal happiness. I did not really feel that any of the characters were endearing and I wanted one of them to be happy. I have never understood how a mother can leave her children as Anna did. I do not think it would be possible for me.


Archangel (Samaria, Bk 1)
Archangel (Samaria, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 5/28/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I really loved this book. I thought the religious overtones were great and found myself very interested in the mythology of the story. I loved Gabriel. I thought he was such a wonderful man, full of honest purpose. I liked Rachel but thought that she was sometimes too hard on Gabriel. He was working so hard to help so many people in his important role and sometimes I felt that he did not have time for her games. I think he was thoroughly humbled by her and I wished that she was little more humbled to realize how great he is. I am just in love with him myself so I think I might be biased. Anyway, it was a great read, full of adventure, romance, and thoughtful religious discussion.


Arena
Arena
Author: Karen Hancock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 4/24/2012


This was a great allegory about God and the trials that we enter into as faith is tested. The aliens have the humans enter into the arena where their faith is tested and they grow according the way they act on their faith. I found the first two hundred pages to be a little slow but then it really picked up as Callie's character grew. I enjoyed her progression through the arena and her growth. It was a good read.


Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 317
Review Date: 2/10/2010


This was a fast, fun read. I liked how smart Artemis was and how he bested the fairies.


The Awakening
The Awakening
Author: Kate Chopin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 10/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fast read that I found rather depressing. I am glad that Edna had an awakening into her life but the results were tragedy and an early death. I would like to think that an awakening would make her life more fulfilling, not lead her to the conclusion that the only way to remain free would be to end her life. I do not consider myself a "mother woman" in that I have lost myself to my children and husband, but I do find them them fulfilling and satisfying.


The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Bk 4)
The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Bk 4)
Author: Rick Riordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 10/15/2010


These books are simple to read but they are good adventures and I did get into the story. My favorite part about these books are the stories of the Greek Gods and monsters. I have always liked those stories and it is clever how Riordan weaves them into the story.


The Beautiful and Damned
The Beautiful and Damned
Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/17/2009


I found this book to be dreary and depressing. First of all, the lifestyle of sloth and alcohol is so wasteful in my opinion. Also, I really did not like the characters of Gloria and Anthony. To me, they were not like other strong characters with tragic flaws. I need to read The Great Gatsby again as this book as left me wanting for better Fitzgerald.


The Big Empty
The Big Empty
Author: J. B. Stephens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/28/2010


This book was an ok read. There were a lot of characters that I did not feel were well developed and the author switched back and forth between them before I was able to get attached to any of them.


Blue Shoes and Happiness (Ladies Detective Agency, Bk. 7)
Blue Shoes and Happiness (Ladies Detective Agency, Bk. 7)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 11/4/2010


This was not my favorite of the series because not a lot happened to the characters. I seem to get more involved when the characters go through changes. Somehow Smith weaves the detective cases into these character changes and that is what I like about his books.


The Body Finder
The Body Finder
Author: Kimberly Derting
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 7/2/2011


I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. I was little creeped out by the serial killer thing and it was creepy. Violet's power was mysterious and compelling and the mystery in the book kept me reading. When the reveal was made at the end, I was able to see the pieces leading up to the discovery of the killer. It was great writing. I also am always a sucker for the teenage romance. Jay is the kind of boy we would all love our daughters to meet. This was a fun read.


Book of a Thousand Days
Book of a Thousand Days
Author: Shannon Hale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 11/27/2009


I thouroughly enjoyed this book. I really liked the story and the way that it was told in journal form. It was a very fast and fun read. I would recommend this anyone.


Cheaper by the Dozen
Cheaper by the Dozen
Author: Frank B. Gilbreth, Ernestine Gilbreth Carey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 8/31/2011
Helpful Score: 1


There is a reason that that only the special few have twelve kids. I was so impressed by Mr. Gilbreth in this memoir. He found so many amazing ways to teach his children will any time that was at his disposal. It was quite intimidating actually when I think of my attempts to teach my children. He really is a role model. His wife was amazing too to go along with all his schemes. This was a great read.


Color Solutions Journal Ultimate Paint Project Organizer
Color Solutions Journal Ultimate Paint Project Organizer
Author: Home Depot
Book Type: Ring-bound
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/17/2009


Great organizational tool to help with paint. Lots of great tips and solutions for any remodel.


The Count of Monte Cristo
The Count of Monte Cristo
Author: Alexandre Dumas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/12/2011


I have read this book once before but I did not remember it well. I did not remember how over dramatic most of the characters were, always trying to kill themselves! No one wanted to take accountability for their bad choices in their lives. Oh, the romantic novels! It did not seem that the Count needed to work very hard to take his revenge. The characters were already pretty corrupted.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2415
Review Date: 11/27/2012


This book was an entertaining, eye candy read. I did like that the vampires mixed between the good and bad of mortality. It reminded me of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I would be entertained by the others in the series I think.


1 to 20 of 114 - Page: