Kathy G. (kase) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The BFG
The BFG
Author: Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 158
Review Date: 7/23/2011


The best Roald Dahl book in my opinion. If you love Charlie and the Chocolate Facotry- you'll like this. My kids loved this in 4th grade.


Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Author: Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 7/23/2011


If you seen, and liked, the movie, you NEED to read the book. It's a bit different than both the movies. Very entertaining read. My kids loved hearing this book in 4th grade. I enjoyed reading it with them just as much.


The Complete Book of Presidents & States
The Complete Book of Presidents & States
Author: School Specialty Publishing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/18/2011


We have used every inch of this book. It has all the states and some facts about them. Also has all presidents and a short paragraph about them. Very interesting and holds my kids attention. Comes with a pull out poster of the presidents in order and the years they were in office. Has stickers of all the states and a page map to stick them on. Easy & fun to use.


Dirty Rocker Boys: Love and Lust on the Sunset Strip
Dirty Rocker Boys: Love and Lust on the Sunset Strip
Author: Bobbie Brown, Caroline Ryder
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/15/2015
Helpful Score: 3


If you were into hair bands in the 80's, then you know who Bobbie Brown is. This was a fun quick read. A little trashy & full of gossip and dirt on those dirty rocker boys.


I'm In the Band: Backstage Notes from the Chick in White Zombie
I'm In the Band: Backstage Notes from the Chick in White Zombie
Author: Sean Yseult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/20/2012


A must for any White Zombie or metal fan. The pictures alone in this book are incredible. Just a fun book to look through.


Life After Death
Life After Death
Author: Damien Echols
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/27/2012


A must read if you followed the WM3 case.


Nocte
Nocte
Author: Courtney Cole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/14/2015


Very quick read. Story moves along and kept my attention. It has romance and mental illness- kind of Gillian Flynn-like...


Paper Towns
Paper Towns
Author: John Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 11/11/2013


This is the 3rd John Green book I've read. Although I liked the main character, Q, I didn't like the over all story. I have a hard time not skipping over parts. Like another reviewer said, not a good ending either. JMO...If you haven't read John Green books before- I DON'T recommend you start with this one.Loves The Fault of our Stars & The Abundance of Katherines ( :


Shelter (Mickey Bolitar, Bk 1)
Shelter (Mickey Bolitar, Bk 1)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 11/26/2011


I'm a big fan of Coben so when I seen that he wrote a YA book, I couldn't wait to read it with my 11 & 12 y.o. boys. This book did NOT disappoint!! Super good. Action packed. This book kept my boys attention and they even asked to read it at night instead of t.v! Really good book for older kids getting out of the "kids books". There is a little language & violence and a scene with the characters in a Go-Go lounge but nothing too graphic.


Stay Close
Stay Close
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 4/21/2012
Helpful Score: 6


Let me first start out by saying I'm a huge fan of Harlan Coben's writing. I've read everything he has written up to this book. I love his writing style and wit. Unfortunately this book is a big disappointment. It has no draw to the characters, a weak storyline, and horribly cheesy "bad guys" named Ken and Barbie-ugh! Just poor all around. No good witty humor like usual. Tries to be more gritty and just falls flat. If this is your first book by Coben- drop it and start with "Tell No One".


A Stolen Life: A Memoir
A Stolen Life: A Memoir
Author: Jaycee Dugard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 304
Review Date: 8/20/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Well written but very hard to read due to graphic nature.


Verum (The Nocte Trilogy) (Volume 2)
Verum (The Nocte Trilogy) (Volume 2)
Author: Courtney Cole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/22/2015


Let me first start out by saying I loved the first book in this series. It left an awesome cliffhanger and couldn't wait to read this book. This book is HORRIBLE! I couldn't follow it, can't tell what is real or fake- just a jumbled mess. Too much - may be better as a movie??


Wake
Wake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/22/2015


Quick read. I read this in 1 day. I read reviews that people didn't connect with the characters. I did and like the 2 main characters. Looking forward to reading the next 2 books.


1 to 13 of 13