Judith H. (dom) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Birds of a Feather
Birds of a Feather
Author: Brenda Henning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/22/2011


lovely applique birds on a log cabin background. Birds have stained glass window outlines, and nice, but not too many, details. Birds include Hummingbird, robins, oriel, cardinal, goldfinch, blue jay, blue bird, chick-a-dee, painted bunting--12 in all. would be a fun book for those who like to piece and applique.


The Christmas Cookie Killer (Fresh-Baked, Bk 3)
The Christmas Cookie Killer (Fresh-Baked, Bk 3)
Author: Livia J. Washburn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 11/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Phyllis is back at it--but this time it's right next door! Stay glued as she tries to rule out other neighbors. A surprise ending--not terribly plausible but I really like Phyllis, so follow her exploits.


The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11)
The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 455
Review Date: 1/8/2016


This author s amazing! His narrative is riveting and so clear you feel like you are working right along with Harry Bosch. This one is a favorite, and I've read many!


Crocodile on the Sandbank (Amelia Peabody, Bk 1)
Crocodile on the Sandbank (Amelia Peabody, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 315
Review Date: 10/13/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Great first book set in 1880's. Language and behavior of the era fun, and written that way. Egyptologists find each other and some artifacts, a mummy or 2 and love! A fun read.


The Devil's Highway : A True Story
The Devil's Highway : A True Story
Author: Luis Alberto Urrea
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 4/11/2012


This is the story of a few men who, while trying to find a better life, get rooked by scam artists. They have a more than challenging time, and the end is sad and fruitless. While disturbing, it is true and a story that needs to be told and retold until the American Consciousness awakens to these issues.


Dismissed With Prejudice (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 7)
Dismissed With Prejudice (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 7)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 10/13/2011


another WONDERFUL JP Beaumont thriller, set in Seattle. JA Jance does her usual superb job in telling an unique story and ties it up at the end--twists and turns, and Beau drinking his way thru the week. I adore this author and all the books she writes. Haven't read a ringer yet! I love the flow and reality of the narrative/dialogs. Highly recommended.


The Grub-and-Stakers Move a Mountain (Grub-and-Stakers, Bk 1)
Review Date: 6/22/2012


Dittany Hembit is an active young woman who gets into a mess when she takes her bow and arrows and goes to Enchanted Mountain for a walk, with Ethel the dog. The names are so funny in this book, the siutations believable and only one murder (with a arrow!), which is my kind of book. I don't like allot of killing, but loved how this one evolved. Highly recommended--in fact I loved it so much I am sending it to my daughter-in-law


Healthy Aging: Challenges and Solutions
Healthy Aging: Challenges and Solutions
Author: DYCHTWALD
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/22/2011


Excellent advice for anybody, any age! How to age gracefully (and we all are aging!) from an expert gerontologist.


Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim, Bk 1)
Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 10/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Father Tim goes home. They say you can't, but he does, and hunts for solutions to mysteries of his youth. A good read as he travels thru his stuff, with some Christian prayers/thoughts/prayers/poems thrown in. Since I really like the good father, I tolerated this part. Overall, a good read, and if you have read Jan Karon's other Father Tim's you will no doubt enjoy this.


In Search of Snow
In Search of Snow
Author: Luis Alberto Urrea
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/23/2012


Such a gifted author! This is a down and out and kinda dumb and certainly non-communicative dad with a rathr smart son who live in a filling station/garage in the middle of nowhere in AZ. doesn't sound great, but is memorable and liked it.


The Mitford Snowmen
The Mitford Snowmen
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 10/29/2011
Helpful Score: 2


wonderful story, lovingly written. Another Mitford series--father Tim is such a good protagonist!


A Peach of a Murder (Fresh-Baked Mystery, Bk 1)
A Peach of a Murder (Fresh-Baked Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Livia J. Washburn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 10/13/2011
Helpful Score: 2


not very believeable, but a fun read. wish the author understood dementia better. but she does understand retired teachers! And cooks!


Without Due Process (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 10)
Without Due Process (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 10)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 11/10/2011


Beau is up to solving knotty cases. JA Jance amazes me continually with her plots--always different! Yet another very good read.


1 to 13 of 13