Reviews - Amanda A. (amandaa)

1 to 20 of 20
Active Birth : The New Approach to Giving Birth Naturally, Revised Edition
Review Date: 8/27/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Although the book is older and the water birth section is dated, I love this book and the helpful techniques it offers for the birth process. I think that any woman who expects to have a problem-free birth should read this and consider the best approach for her."


The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Penguin Classics)
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Penguin Classics)
Author: Mark Twain, Guy Cardwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 8/13/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book changed the face of American fiction.

A must read for everyone to see why our books are structured the way they are."


At Home in the Heart of Appalachia
At Home in the Heart of Appalachia
Author: John O'Brien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/16/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This could have been five books. It could still be five books. Too much info and little closure in a "memoir". I was disappointed since I love appalachian lit."


Beauty's Punishment (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 2)
Beauty's Punishment (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 2)
Author: Anne Rice, A. N. Roquelaure
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 8/13/2007
6 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Explicit bdsm erotica... the dialoge was very weak for ann rice-- too simple."


The Broker (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Broker (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: John Grisham, Dennis Boutsikaris (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 8/20/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"We listened to this on a road trip and hated to push pause while stopping for gas! It was a great book and kept you wondering how it would end the whole time."


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4281
Review Date: 8/13/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"It was okay. We listened to the audio book in the car- I fell asleep in the middle."


Divisadero
Divisadero
Author: Michael Ondaatje
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/12/2007
6 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I started this book based on the strong positive reviews... I am sorry that I spent the money on it because I was very disappointed.

Basically three (or five) stories pieced together that connect in different ways, but each story is not fully told and thus the plot loses steam just when it gets good. Blah."


Face Forward
Face Forward
Author: Kevyn Aucoin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/5/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I love this book. A must for anyone interested in makeup design!"


Good Harbor
Good Harbor
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 9/6/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A great read! I love how the dynamic friendship between the women grows and the characters are realistic. It also explores how a life-altering event (such as being diagnosed with breast cancer) can become the catalyst for working out other issues in your life and uncovering hidden fascets."


Haikus for Jews : For You, a Little Wisdom
Haikus for Jews : For You, a Little Wisdom
Author: David M. Bader
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/5/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Cute!!!"


Laurel's Kitchen: A Handbook for Vegetarian Cookery and Nutrition
Review Date: 8/15/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"So far, I really am enjoying this book and it is full of great information on how to feed your family a homemade vegetarian diet. I love the HUGE section on bread making!!!"


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 399
Review Date: 10/22/2007


"I read this while pregnant and loved every page! A fast read and nice escape!"


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2445
Review Date: 7/16/2007
40 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Wonderful! Happy to see gender issues in main-stream literature! Though the book begins with a slower pace as the reader learns the rich history of Cal's grandparents, the second half of the novel flashs by with his personal story.

I loved the novel and wished it kept going... I didn't want to finish it knowing the story would be over. The reader is always aware of two time periods: the present Cal telling the story and his life unfolding during narration and, in the beginning the story of his family, while later in the novel the second time period is Cal's childhood.

I recommend this book if you have the time to devote to reading it, the intellegence to comprehend the wonderful literary techniques and vocabulary, and the trust in the author to deliver a brilliant story. Lastly, anyone studying sex and gender issues would thrill to read the second half, as a thorough workover of sociological nomemclature is utilized."


Nightmares & Dreamscapes
Nightmares & Dreamscapes
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 376
Review Date: 8/12/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A great collection of shorts by King. Good for those times when you can't devote to a whole novel. Pick it up and read one when you can!"


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3326
Review Date: 8/13/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Amazing! Historical (female) fiction based on (male) stories from the bible... a great read for the gals!"


Sex on the Brain: The Biological Differences Between Men and Women
Sex on the Brain: The Biological Differences Between Men and Women
Author: Deborah Blum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/16/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The information is outdated. Researched slanted."


She's Come Undone
She's Come Undone
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1419
Review Date: 10/22/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I liked this book, though I thought some parts of the protagonist's life were fast-forwarded while too much time was spent on others. I had a hard time visualizing her sometimes and her actions didn't always seem realistic. Overall, I enjoyed reading it, but I read it stop and go due to the inconsistancies."


The Tale of the Body Thief (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 4)
The Tale of the Body Thief (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 4)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 8/12/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was my favorite book of the series. I thought it read faster than the others and the plot was orginal and intriguing."


Tell No One
Tell No One
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 10/22/2007


"DH and I listened to this in the car and we were both engrossed in the suspense! We liked this a lot!"


The Way Schools Work: A Sociological Analysis of Education
Review Date: 9/4/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Although the research is dated (mid 1990's), the approaches and theories are still valid. One can see how much (or not) US school systems have changed since the penning of this book. A good way to look at the institution from the outside.

Interested in educational sociology or not, this text is a good read (should be required) for any parent. Lots of eye-openers to make you rethink the US educational institution."


1 to 20 of 20