Reviews - j4smine - CA

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
Duke of Scandal  (Duke Trilogy, Bk 2)
Duke of Scandal (Duke Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Adele Ashworth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 9/4/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Book 2 of the Dukes trilogy was an enjoyable read with a lot of elements I like in a good book - the handsome hero Duke has a bad-seed identical twin brother and a lying conniving ex-lover who are partners in a scam to steal the life savings of the smart and beautiful heroine. The H/H team up to get her money back and to expose the dastardly duo for the frauds they are. They end up falling in love along the way. This book is much, much better than Book 1 Duke of Sin. I'm looking forward to reading Colin's story, Book 3 The Duke's Discretion."


The Duke of Shadows
The Duke of Shadows
Author: Meredith Duran
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 7/17/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Wonderful love story. I could not believe this was Meredith Duran's debut novel. Lots of heart-tugging emotion. Strong, intelligent characters. Fast-paced action. Once started, I couldn't put the book down. I found myself really pulling for this couple. I plan to read more from this talented new author."


A Duke to Die For (The Rogues' Dynasty, Bk 1)
A Duke to Die For (The Rogues' Dynasty, Bk 1)
Author: Amelia Grey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 7/15/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The pace of this book was excruciatingly S-L-O-W. Over halfway into the book and the heroine Henrietta is still getting prepped for her Season debut by the hero's former mistress. The hero Blake insists Henrietta is off-limits since she is his ward but I found it kind of creepy that while vowing to protect her so he can see her well-married (to someone else) he still allows himself to sample the goods so to speak. His two rakish cousins, Morgan and Race, are to follow in the next two books of the trilogy. I hope their stories are better than this one."


Gorgeous as Sin
Gorgeous as Sin
Author: Susan Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 10/16/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This first book in the Bruton Street Bookstore quartet is, in my opinion, one of Susan Johnson's better efforts and one I thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish. Fitz is an alpha-Duke who is rich, powerful and always gets what he wants, especially women. Rosalind, a widow, is a modern woman who owns the small bookstore that is the last hold-out blocking the progress of Fitz's development deal. He seduces her in an effort to sweet talk her into selling. She uses him to slake her long celibate dry spell (why not? His prowess was legendary) and to provide inspiration for her anonymously-published erotica.

Author Susan Johnson is among the best when it comes to writing hot seXXX scenes and lots of them. Normally, I would agree with those who don't like the H/H to have sex with anyone else. But in this case, it worked for me because it distinguishes the contrast between Fitz's typical sexual romp (it's who he is, it's what he does, he's infamous, he has a tom-cat reputation to uphold) and the unbelievably hot marathons he has with Rosalind. He doesn't 'cheat' on Rosalind as they both understand that it's sex-only between them, no commitments, no strings attached. His one (and last) dalliance was to placate a former paramour (he doesn't even kiss her) and a last-ditch attempt to rid himself of constant thoughts of Rosalind who he is trying not to fall in love with.

I heartily recommend this book (it's witty, it's sexy, it's sweet) and I would save it as a 'keeper' if I didn't know my sister will want to read it as well. You can be sure I will read the rest of this series."


Like No Other Lover (Pennyroyal Green, Bk 2)
Like No Other Lover (Pennyroyal Green, Bk 2)
Author: Julie Anne Long
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 3/8/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Not as dragged out as -The Perils of Pleasure- but almost as slow taking place almost entirely over a fortnight at a country estate party. This book, however, had many delightful laugh-out-loud moments which I LOVE. For that alone, I will definitely read the next book in the series."


Lord of Scoundrels (Scoundrels, Bk 3)
Lord of Scoundrels (Scoundrels, Bk 3)
Author: Loretta Chase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 12/7/2008
9 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book has got to be one of the best reads I've had in a long time and I read a lot. It has everything I love in a Regency romance ~ intelligent kick-ass characters with flaws, a fast paced storyline, fiery emotions, sizzling passions, sweet calculated revenge, witty dialogue. The H/H are a perfect match in every way. I loved it."


Married By Morning (Hathaways, Bk 4)
Married By Morning (Hathaways, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 6/29/2010
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Another for my ***Top 10*** List. Leo, Viscount Ramsay (the Hathaway brother) and Miss Catherine Marks (the sisters' society coach and prim companion) loathe each other. Their dialogue is filled with dry sarcasm, rapier sharp wit and in-your-face insults. I loved all the barbs, zingers, and digs they throw at one another, all the while they are falling head over heels. In many places, laugh-out-loud hilarious, right to the very end. You will surely enjoy this one."


Mastered By Love (Bastion Club, Bk 8)
Mastered By Love (Bastion Club, Bk 8)
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 8/23/2009
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I have read, and will continue to read, every book by Stephanie Laurens. That said, this 'grand finale' was a total let-down. Mysterious, dangerous master strategist and spy leader Dalziel/Royce loses his edge, and turns into just a run-of-the-mill duke looking for a bride to bear his heir. I expected so much more from him. And the evil killer/traitor who has evaded capture in earlier books in the series is rather easily caught and killed, in my opinion, and in fact, plays a very small role in this last book. What's with that? Ah, well . . . I'll still read whatever Stephanie Laurens puts out."


Much Ado About Rogues (Blackthorne Brothers, Bk 3)
Much Ado About Rogues (Blackthorne Brothers, Bk 3)
Author: Kasey Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/19/2012
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The books in the Blackthorn Brothers trilogy could have been written by three different authors. Book #1 The Taming of the Rake was wonderful, made it to my Top Ten of All Time list. Book #2 a Midsummer's Night Sin was meh - okay. THIS Book #3 Much Ado About Rogues was really painful to finish, a chore to get through. It's title should have been "Much Ado About Nothing" or even better, "Death By Yakking." This hero and heroine never stopped talking. Every thought they have is spoken, every emotion is dissected and analyzed in dialogue. Tons of back story, retold over and over. The hero is dense. When the heroine makes a subtle suggestion, I can almost see the wheels slowly start to churn in the hero's thick noggin, then smack his own forehead and exclaim, 'Why didn't I think of that?" Duh. Yak-yak-yak, non-stop. Save yourselves."


My Wicked Little Lies (Sinful Family Secrets, Bk 2)
My Wicked Little Lies (Sinful Family Secrets, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/2/2012
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Annoying lies by omission and game-playing. Contrived behind-their-back 'tests' to see if he/she 'really loves me'. So juvenile. Especially for 30 yr olds. And the spy chief using government agents to carry out these immature games is ludicrous. I do hope this new series gets better with Book 2."


The Naked Duke (Naked Nobility, Bk 1)
The Naked Duke (Naked Nobility, Bk 1)
Author: Sally Mackenzie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 1/18/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I did not find anything humorous at all about this book. Rape-murder, rape-for-hire, and attempted rape. Not in my romances. Also, the American heroine is orphaned, penniless, and has no where to live. She would rather be a paid governess or companion than marry a rich and handsome duke who is courting her and she is attracted to because she feels she is unworthy. Come - on. (IMO-TSTL) And did I mention the hero is a 30-yr-old VIRGIN? I do hope the rest of the series is better than this one."


No Choice But Seduction (Malory Family, Bk 9)
No Choice But Seduction (Malory Family, Bk 9)
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 6/21/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I had high hopes for this book, being another in the Malory series. But what a let down. This one was the worst of the lot. I couldn't even finish it. Irritating characters, inane plot, rehash of old history between other family members, time-wasting head trips, no chemistry between the H/H. Don't bother with this silly saga. It's a waste of time and money."


Once a Dreamer (Ladies Fashionable Cabinet, Bk 1)
Once a Dreamer (Ladies Fashionable Cabinet, Bk 1)
Author: Candice Hern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 10/17/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Ugh - Dislike is too mild a word for this hero and heroine. Simon is an unappealing, Pollyanna-ish, bad-poetry-writing male 'Dear Abby' columnist and Eleanor is a bitter, man-hating face-slapping shrew who I literally detested by the end of the book. The whole story is one long carriage ride with them in pursuit of Eleanor's niece who has run off to Gretna Green to elope with an unsuitable scoundrel as a result of Simon's lovelorn advice. They argue most of the way, how lovely. Or maybe I should say she belittles him the whole distance and he just sits and takes it (what a man). Also, the caricaturish pair of oddball Bow Street Runners hired to track the young couple turn out to be uncharacteristically competent. Their nonsensical slaughter of the language is also awkward to read and thrown in to manufacture humor where there is none. If this first book in the trilogy is any indication, I don't hold out much hope for the next two."


The One That Got Away: The Trouble with Charlotte / Much Ado About Twelfth Night / A Fool Again / Nightingale
Review Date: 11/30/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"You can't go wrong with stories by these four fabulous historical authors (all favorites of mine). A particular scene in Liz Carlyle's "Much Ado About Twelfth Night" had me in stitches. Loved it!"


A Rake's Guide to Seduction (Reece Family, Bk 3)
A Rake's Guide to Seduction (Reece Family, Bk 3)
Author: Caroline Linden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 10/11/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Nothing better than an honorable rake with a half-undeserved reputation who's been in love with the heroine from the start. I enjoyed this third book in the Reece Family trilogy. Much more believable than the first two. I only wish there were a fourth - Simon perhaps or a grown-up Molly?"


The Reasons for Marriage (Lester Family Saga, Book 1)
The Reasons for Marriage (Lester Family Saga, Book 1)
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 3/25/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Love anything by Stephanie Laurens, this one included."


Rules of Engagement: The Reasons for Marriage / The Wedding Party / Unlaced
Review Date: 5/26/2012
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I feel cheated! Just so you know, two-thirds of this book is a REPRINTED full-length 315 page novel of Stephanie Laurens' "The Reasons for Marriage," originally published in 1995. The other two stories are quite short (60 pages each): Kasey Michaels' "The Wedding Party" and Delilah Marvelle's "Unlaced." Nowhere on the cover does it indicate that Stephanie Laurens' part of this book is a REPRINT, which unfortunately I had already read years ago. Publishers should be ashamed of themselves for using this sneaky packaging tactic to sell previously published books to unsuspecting readers."


The Secret Wedding (Mallorens, Bk 9)
The Secret Wedding (Mallorens, Bk 9)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 8/29/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I REALLY tried to get through this book - being as some of the Malloren clan & friends are in it - but only managed to get half-way before I couldn't go on any longer. Too tiresome a plot, tedious pacing, wearying characters, lackluster chemistry, dull storyline. My opinion: don't waste your time on this one."


Seduced
Seduced
Author: Pamela Britton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 9/2/2009
10 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I see.
Do You?
Do I what?
Never mind.
Why?
Why what?
I don't know.
Don't you?
Me?
Yes, you.
No
No?
No what?
Then when?
When what?
Tonight.
Tonight?
Indeed.
Indeed?
I cannot.
Cannot what?
Cannot read any more of this irritating dialogue.
No?
No."


Seduced By His Touch (Byrons of  Braebourne, Bk 2)
Seduced By His Touch (Byrons of Braebourne, Bk 2)
Author: Tracy Anne Warren
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 9/16/2009
8 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I liked this second book in the Byrons of Braebourne series and could really feel the passion between the H/H, their blossoming love for each other and their anguish when they are torn apart. However, the pacing of the story seemed a bit slow and drawn out. And yet, at the same time, the author propels the reader ahead in time at every turn with phrases like "ten days passed by," "five evenings later," "after nearly a week," "three weeks passed," "during her first month's residency," "nearly seven weeks later," "in the weeks leading up to," "ten days passed as the ten before them," "a week later," "nearly a month later," "six weeks later," "during the six weeks that had passed."

I didn't care much for this method of forcing the story forward. What happened between the H/H during those many time lapses? More slow and drawn out lack of action? Tracy Anne Warren is a wonderful author and I read all of her books. I just hope the next installment in the series will be more dynamic."


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: