Nina P. (lmntree) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 2/26/2015
Helpful Score: 2


I did enjoy this book. I have to say that I wish I hadn't read it immediately after finishing The Book Thief, which I absolutely loved. Both books take place in the early 40's , from the points of view of people on different sides of that horrible time in Germany and France. All of the stories are captivating, I just felt more for Markus Zusak's characters.


At the End of the Road
At the End of the Road
Author: Grant Jerkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/26/2014


I really enjoyed this book. The characters were vividly created and the plot was intense and compelling. It showed how the confused, often flawed, thinking common to many young children can affect a chain of events in so many ways. I had never read this author before, but I just put his latest book on my wishlist and I will be using my next credit to get his first. Can't wait to read more by him!
P.S. VERY CREEPY!!!


The Beach
The Beach
Author: Alex Garland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 3/21/2014


Interesting and strange- I need something like this once in a while!


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1024
Review Date: 2/23/2015


The characters are so vividly brought to life, this book can't help but break your heart. A story about people who have nothing yet give everything. I highly recommend this book!


Cape Random
Cape Random
Author: Bernice Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/2/2014


I loved this book! Although the story takes place in the 1800's, the language is so "Newfie" that it was kind of like a visit home, and since we aren't going this year, I am grateful to have read it. As with any story of early settlers in remote areas, there is plenty of hardship and tragedy, but the characters are wonderful! I look forward to finding out what comes next for them in the sequel- but I will wait until later in the summer when I really need another visit home.


The Children's Blizzard
The Children's Blizzard
Author: David Laskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 1/20/2015


I really feel compelled to review this book, and to rethink my rating of it. The first few chapters were very dull and hard to read for me- I am die-hard fiction and trying to branch out. I finished this book this morning, and I have thought about it all day. I talked about it with the group of kids I read with at school, with my husband, with my mom on the phone- it is unforgettable and so tragic. Once you get past the detailed way that weather was forecast in 1888, the story really picks up. I will change my rating to 4 stars!


Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency (Dirk Gently, Bk 1)
Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency (Dirk Gently, Bk 1)
Author: Douglas Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 7/17/2014


After all the sad stuff I've been reading, I needed something funny. I didn't like this as much as the Hitchhiker series, but it was kind of funny. It took awhile for me to get the characters straight, maybe that was the big difference. I already knew the Hitchhiker crew from the Commodore 64 computer game! Now that I know the characters, I will probably order the second book at some point.


Disappearance at Devil's Rock
Disappearance at Devil's Rock
Author: Paul Tremblay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/13/2016


My favorite of my October line up so far. I always try to have a good selection of creepy for this month and I know this one will haunt me! Almost wish I had saved it for closer to Halloween. Will read more from this author.


Disney/Pixar Story Collection (Step into Reading)
Disney/Pixar Story Collection (Step into Reading)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/13/2016


I use this book for a struggling reader in a first grade classroom. The pictures are bright, colorful and give great hints to the text. My student loves the popular Disney characters. I love that the first two stories are level one readers (which he has done very well with) and the other three are level two readers (which gives him room to grow.) So glad I ordered this!


The Dive From Clausen's Pier
The Dive From Clausen's Pier
Author: Ann Packer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/24/2014


I enjoyed reading this book, but I'm not sure if it was the book itself or the relief after reading the one I read before it (which I did not enjoy at all.) For me, it was kind of like the mirror in the Neverending Story which made you look closely at who you really are. The young lady in this novel was involved in a very complicated situation that I can't even imagine. She had some difficult choices to make and a long journey of self discovery. I wonder if she will regret any of those choices? I almost wish there was another book about her 10-15 years later.


Etta
Etta
Author: Gerald Kolpan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/24/2014


Well imagined and fun to read, I really enjoyed this tale of the wild west! I haven't read about Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid before, so I can't say how it compares to any other version but I loved this original perspective!


Everything You Want Me to Be: A Novel
Everything You Want Me to Be: A Novel
Author: Mindy Mejia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/29/2017


My mind was completely overtaken by this book! I did not want to put it down but had to a few times and when I did, it played in my head as vividly as if I was watching it directly. If you enjoy books that have you guessing and second guessing after every chapter, you will certainly want to put this one on your wish list! Very well-written, I have high hopes for this author in the future!


Flower Children
Flower Children
Author: Maxine Swann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/11/2014


The first chapter seemed very chaotic to me, but after reading the next few chapters, I not only became used to the writing style of the author, but I actually began to feel a very deep and real nostalgia for my own childhood and family. The last chapter had me in tears for the too quick passing of time that is growing up. A quick and easy read- well worth the journey!


I, Freddy (Golden Hamster Saga, Bk 1)
Review Date: 4/6/2014


I LOVE FREDDY! This book is both clever and funny. Can't wait to read the rest of the series!


Knitting Under the Influence
Knitting Under the Influence
Author: Claire LaZebnik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 4/6/2014


I put off reading this because I didn't really think I'd like it- I was wrong!


Lawyer X: A True Story
Lawyer X: A True Story
Author: Jake Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/23/2016


The author of this book is the actual person that lived through this experience. He is a good writer- it almost felt like sitting down and listening to him tell his story. It explains how educated, intelligent people can make devastatingly stupid mistakes.


The Legacy of Luna: The Story of a Tree, a Woman and the Struggle to Save the Redwoods
Review Date: 8/15/2014


Living in a tree for 738 days is something I will never experience in my actual life, so it was neat to read this first person account from a determined young woman who actually lived it! Unfortunately, my copy is not quite up to posting standards-visit my bookshelf for information , I would love to be able to pass it on!


Life Without Summer
Life Without Summer
Author: Lynne Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/15/2014


Life Without Summer is heartbreaking yet has a deeply satisfying ending. As the author,Lynn Griffin, states in the essay following her story,"I've been known to let What Ifs get the better of me." I tend to do that myself . Expect tears if you plan to read this one.


Little Girl Gone
Little Girl Gone
Author: Drusilla Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/7/2014


This book grabbed me from the first page and kept right on rolling! You cannot help but feel for the main character, Madora, who hasn't had an easy life and ends up brainwashed by a manipulative and controlling man posing as her savior. A very interesting and well written story with some extremely tense moments to keep you on the edge of your seat!


Moloka'i
Moloka'i
Author: Alan Brennert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 397
Review Date: 4/25/2015


This is why I read! I knew absolutely nothing about this time and place but was transported entirely. I loved Rachel- she became so real to me. A wonderful book, I can't say enough about how well written it is. I just put Honolulu by the same author on my wish list.


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: