Sandy A. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 2/8/2008


All Greg Iles books capture the imagination and are hard to put down. 24 hours doesn't disappoint.


Bad Blood (Alex Cooper, Bk 9)
Bad Blood (Alex Cooper, Bk 9)
Author: Linda Fairstein
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 4/22/2012


I thoroughly enjoyed Alex Cooper novels. She's a fascintaing character as are her cop friends.


Bad Luck and Trouble (Jack Reacher, Bk 11)
Bad Luck and Trouble (Jack Reacher, Bk 11)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 393
Review Date: 7/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoy all of the Jack Reacher books. I started with #1 and worked my way to the most current. They are engaging stories, and Jack always seems like a real person with attributes and flaws.


Cane River
Cane River
Author: Lalita Tademy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 9/13/2009


A wonderful tale of generations of slaves and freed slaves in Louisiana. One generation improves on the plight of the family, only find themselves no better off than when they were slaves. An excellent read.


Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 545
Review Date: 8/31/2012


Loved it and am now on my4th Jackson book. Fun read and interesting pictures painted in words of the British Isles.


Chesapeake
Chesapeake
Author: James A. Michener
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 2/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


James Michener is one of the great authors of all times. One has to stay with it to get to the story in all of his books, but there is so much history tied in with the story.


Compulsion (Alex Delaware, Bk 22)
Compulsion (Alex Delaware, Bk 22)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 5/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


An Alex Delaware mystery that maybe lacks the surprises of others. Still a good read.


Dark Tort (Goldy Shulz, Bk 13)
Dark Tort (Goldy Shulz, Bk 13)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 5/19/2008


Another Goldy mystery with good recipes. Somewhat of a surprise as to the killer.


David Gets in Trouble
David Gets in Trouble
Author: David Shannon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/31/2012


I bought this book for my 3 1/2 year old grandson. He'd met David in another David book. He loved them both and can now recite every word of them. Delightful for young children.


Dead Sleep (Mississippi, Bk 3)
Dead Sleep (Mississippi, Bk 3)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 2/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Definitely one of Greg Iles best. Really spooky story but an excellent read.


Death At La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Death At La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 7/12/2017


It is in the first in the Guido Brunetti series. Good introduction to Venice and its geography and police procedures.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1732
Review Date: 4/12/2008


This is a very fun read.


Digging to America
Digging to America
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 6/21/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I thought that this was an excellent read. So did many people in my book group, and we made a selection for the upcoming year. The writing is excellent as always from Anne Tyler, and the disparate lives that she brings together weave a fine tale.


The Footprints of God
The Footprints of God
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 2/8/2008


Not Iles best book.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2854
Review Date: 6/26/2008


Lots of fun. Jennifer Weiner keeps yiu laughing.


Goodnight Nobody
Goodnight Nobody
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 2/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Just a fun read as are all of Jennifer Weiner's books.


Home to Big Stone Gap  (Big Stone Gap, #4)
Home to Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, #4)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 10/21/2012


I've love all of the Adriana Trigiani books that I have read except this one. The plot was too light and nothing of real significance occurred. Maybe I had forgotten people's back stories, but it just didn't hang together, although though I hung in until the end.


The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 665
Review Date: 2/8/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A sad tale of a sad man. Oklahoma "justice" is appalling and this is written by an Okie.


Joheved (Rashi’s Daughters, Bk 1)
Joheved (Rashi’s Daughters, Bk 1)
Author: Maggie Anton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 12/8/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Unbelievable historical research. Historical fiction is not my normal genre, but I couldn't put this book down. All of the characters and the historical period leaped off of the page. I'm now hoping to move onto reading all of Maggie Anton's other books too.


Killer Heat (Alex Cooper, Bk 10)
Killer Heat (Alex Cooper, Bk 10)
Author: Linda Fairstein
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 4/20/2012


I have enjoyed all Alex Cooper books.


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: