Sherry - - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Cannibal: The True Story Behind the Maneater of Rotenburg
Cannibal: The True Story Behind the Maneater of Rotenburg
Author: Lois Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/9/2005
Helpful Score: 1


If you like true crime, this book is a must read. Very disturbing, yet one of those books you can't put down.


Christmas Treats: A Man for All Seasonings / Figgy Pudding / All the Trimmings
Review Date: 10/16/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Three new Christmas romances by Penny Jordan, Day Leclaire, and Lindsay Armstrong.


Divinely Decadent: Liza Minnelli, the Drugs, the Sex  the Truth Behind Her Bizarre Marriage
Review Date: 9/21/2005


Liza led quite the interesting life!


From the Corner of His Eye (Audio Cassette)
From the Corner of His Eye (Audio Cassette)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/3/2005


Read by Stephen King


Good-bye I Love You
Good-bye I Love You
Author: Carol Lyn Pearson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/1/2005


From Publishers Weekly
Poet and playwright Pearson here movingly recounts the difficulties and tragedies undergone by herself and her husband, a devout Utah Mormon couple. Although aware of Gerald's homosexual past, Carol had faith that marriage would overcome her husband's sexual preference. The shock of discovering, after eight years of apparent happiness and the birth of four children, that his inclination was still for males shook her belief in her own femaleness and the role of women. Moving to the more permissive atmosphere of San Francisco, they obtained a friendly divorce but remained very close as a family. When Gerald was stricken by AIDS, their love withstood this ultimate trial, providing support throughout his illness and the strength to face death with serenity. First serial to Woman's Day; to be a CBS-TV movie.
Copyright 1986 Reed Business Information, Inc.--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


The Homecoming: When the Soldiers Returned from Vietnam
The Homecoming: When the Soldiers Returned from Vietnam
Author: Bob Greene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/24/2005


"A Vietnam vet could take being spat upon by one person. What broke our hearts was being spat upon by our country" (from the back of the book). An interesting book spoken by the soldiers, reflections on what it was like to serve in the Vietnam war, and stories of their homecoming.


Love: An Illustrated Treasury
Love: An Illustrated Treasury
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/26/2005


quotes on 'love' with some great pictures


Love, Laughter & Dreams: We Prayed for Twelve Children
Love, Laughter & Dreams: We Prayed for Twelve Children
Author: Bud Vear, Gloria Vear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/12/2008


A story about the hard work and joy faced in raising a LARGE family, but very enjoyable. It's one of those books that you don't want to finish because it's so hard to find a book that is so interesting to read. Just a great memoir!


Magnificat: A Devotional (The Pocket Devotional Series)
Review Date: 11/26/2005


From the book: Much loved bible verses accompanied by details from exquisite works of art that they have inspired.


Normal Rockwell:  The Faith of America
Review Date: 9/25/2005


Chock full of Norman Rockwells art (mostly full page color pictures) and stories about the pictures - pertaining to the Faith of America (Faith in our loved ones, Faith in our friends and neighbors,Faith in our country, etc.).


Norman Rockwell:  The Faith of America
Norman Rockwell: The Faith of America
Author: Norman Rockwell (Published by Guideposts)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/25/2005


Chock full of Norman Rockwells art (mostly full page color pictures) and stories about the pictures - pertaining to the Faith of America (Faith in our loved ones, Faith in our friends and neighbors,Faith in our country, etc.).


On the Run : A Mafia Childhood
On the Run : A Mafia Childhood
Author: Gregg Hill, Gina Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/16/2005


An excellent book - one of those 'can't put down' books that you hate to see end.


Shop, Save, and Share
Shop, Save, and Share
Author: Ellie Kay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/8/2005


From the book cover: How you can save hundreds of dollars a month on groceries and household goods - and have a bounty to share.


Sinking Stealing (Crossing Press Feminist Series)
Sinking Stealing (Crossing Press Feminist Series)
Author: Jan Clausen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/15/2005


From the book: When Rhea dies suddenly in a car accident, her ex-husband wants custody of his daughter, and the options open to Josie, Rhea's lover, the "almost-parent", with no title and no legal rights, are few.
This is a powerful and ground-breaking novel with much to say on the subject of lesbian parenting.


Unfriendly Skies: Revelations of a Deregulated Airline Pilot
Review Date: 12/26/2005


From the book:
The book that helps you become a safer, smarter flyer. A pilot reveals what's really going on in today's airline industry. Finally, a commercial pilot with over a decade's worth of experience takes you behind the scenes and into the cockpit to show what's really going in in our unfriendly skies.


1 to 15 of 15