Susan R. (srosevear) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Dead South (Sister Cecile, Bk 2)
Dead South (Sister Cecile, Bk 2)
Author: Winona Sullivan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/22/2015


I enjoyed it, but not as much as the first in the series, "Sudden Death at the Norfolk Cafe."


Deadly Nightshade (Martha's Vineyard, Bk 1)
Deadly Nightshade (Martha's Vineyard, Bk 1)
Author: Cynthia Riggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/1/2012


Pretty good. It took a little while to get into the story. I like the octogenarian main character. The mystery is not too obvious.


Letter from Home
Letter from Home
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 4/25/2012


It took a while to get into this book, but it was intriguing. Very interesting that it is written from the perspective of a young girl. Overall, I would say it was interesting, tho' not captivating.


Malice in Cornwall (Erskine Powell, Bk 2)
Malice in Cornwall (Erskine Powell, Bk 2)
Author: Graham Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/16/2012


It took a while to get into this book; once I did I would say it was fairly good.


Miss Zukas and the Stroke of Death (Miss Zukas, Bk 3)
Miss Zukas and the Stroke of Death (Miss Zukas, Bk 3)
Author: Jo Dereske
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 10/25/2011


Thoroughly enjoyable. This is the third in the series and, although it took me a little reading to get into the first one, I'm glad I stuck with it. At first I found Miss Zukas to be annoying, but now appreciate the interplay and contrast between her and her best friend Ruth. The characters are well drawn, the setting is appealing, and I usually cannot guess "who done it" until the end of the book. A good cozy mystery, especially for library-aholics like me.


Out of Circulation (Miss Zukas, Bk 5)
Out of Circulation (Miss Zukas, Bk 5)
Author: Jo Dereske
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/15/2011


It took me a while to appreciate Miss Zukas, but now I love them and am charging through the entire series. The characters are interesting, the setting is appealing, and the plot just enough to keep me guessing. A good cozy mystery series.


A Pint of Murder (Madoc Rys, Bk 1)
A Pint of Murder (Madoc Rys, Bk 1)
Author: Alisa Craig (Pen name of Charlotte MacLeod)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/15/2011


A fairly good mystery. I was looking forward to a good read set in the Maritimes. Most of the characters were not very appealing.


Shattered Rhythms (Lil Ritchie, Bk 2)
Shattered Rhythms (Lil Ritchie, Bk 2)
Author: Phyllis Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/23/2011


I found this interesting, but not captivating.


Switching the Odds/a Lil Richie Mystery
Switching the Odds/a Lil Richie Mystery
Author: Phyllis Knight
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/14/2011


Enjoyed it. The main character came through strongly, but I would have liked it more if some of the other characters were more developed. I will read her next in this series.


A Timely Vision (Missing Pieces, Bk 1)
A Timely Vision (Missing Pieces, Bk 1)
Author: Jim Lavene, Joyce Lavene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 6/28/2012


Enjoyable "cozy" mystery. Likable characters in an appealing setting. I'm not particularly given to believing in the idea of "seeing" missing objects. Reads very quickly.


The Victory Dance Murder (Homefront Mysteries, Bk 1)
The Victory Dance Murder (Homefront Mysteries, Bk 1)
Author: M. T. Jefferson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/16/2014


A pleasant dip into WWII years on the homefront, but overall a very light mystery. I would have appreciated more depth.


1 to 11 of 11