Angela R. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 58 - Page:
Arcadia Falls
Arcadia Falls
Author: Carol Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/29/2011


This is the best of Carol Goodman. I listened to it on tape while I painted my bathroom, and the hours flew by. Very intiguing, wonderfully romantic, good mystery, characters richly developed. I love Carol Goodman; after reading the first book of hers, I read everything she's written. I was not dissappointed by any of her books.


The Bean Trees (P.S.)
The Bean Trees (P.S.)
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/29/2011


This quite possibly could be my favorite book of all time. It's original, sweet, loving, makes you absolutely fall in love with the characters. Little Turtle has stayed in my heart for years. Best of all, you get a sequel in Pigs in Heaven, so if you have never read this, you are in for such a treat.


The Black Book [Audio CD, Abridged]
The Black Book [Audio CD, Abridged]
Author: Ian Rankin
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/31/2014


I gave this audio CD only two stars, not for the quality of the story but for the fact that I could only understand one in every five words the narrator read. While the Scottish accent is adorable, it is unfathomable as well. I did not complete the CD, which is very rare for me.


Blessings (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Blessings (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Anna Quindlen, Joan Allen (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/31/2014


This is reminiscent of 'Where the Heart Is.' You feel for the plucky, down on their luck characters. The young man's redemption and determination, his commitment to truth, and his openness to love, make for a warm and satisfying story. His ability to engender to love of an old woman and a little baby, as well as his own love interest, are charming. One of Quindlen's best, I think, and very easy to listen to on CD.


Blythewood
Blythewood
Author: Carol Goodman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/31/2014


This is Goodman's attempt to appeal to the 'Twilight' and 'Hunger Games' crowd. This is not up to her usual standards, but still very well written and entertaining.


Cat's Eye
Cat's Eye
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 5/31/2014


Hands down my favorite Atwood books. Probably one of the most impactful books I read during college. The line 'lay down, Cordelia, you're dead' hit straight to my heart. I found myself saying that myself, in my healing over a boyfriend who broke my heart and haunted me for months.


The Circular Staircase
The Circular Staircase
Author: Mary Roberts Rinehart
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/10/2013


Slow moving, not terribly exciting. The writing was well done, and it's enjoyable, but not great.Very old fashioned tale, told by an elderly woman.


A Dandelion Wish (Disney Fairies: Never Girls, Bk 3)
Review Date: 4/13/2014


My daughter is in love with these books. These are the best fairy books. Probably why you can't find very many of them on paperback swap. Definitely snap this one up if you can.


A Dirty Job
A Dirty Job
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 1/10/2013


So, this author is a loon. I am always half afraid to crack open one of his books, for fear it will turn my stomach. It's like watching your child pick his nose, while at the same time laughing hysterically because he's doing it in a really funny way. There is nothing comfortable about reading any of Moore's books. That being said, this was the best I've read so far. It had a great plot, was very entertaining and really not too gross overall. I loved the beginning, the middle, AND the ending (so many times the best you can hope for is two out of three).


The Double Bind
The Double Bind
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 3/4/2015


I highly recommend this book. Chris Bohjalian is an outstanding storytellar, one of the best authors in circulation. His attention to detail, character development, unique and surprising plot lines, and more make his stories top notch. This story was captivating from beginning to end, and the ending was absolutely not at ALL what I was expecting. His stories are dark, and usually cringe-worthy, but not depressing. I have read several, and am a big fan.


Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4) (Abridged Audio Cassette)
Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4) (Abridged Audio Cassette)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/21/2011


Like all the books in the series, couldn't put it down. Briana is a great character, strong like her mom. all of the books in this series are well researched, and weave a magical spell over you. I can't wait for the sequel to 'Echo in the Bone.'


The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1)
The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1)
Author: Kathleen McGowan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 9/29/2011


I loved this book. It was recommended by a friend. Very intriguing tale. Great history of biblical days, from a woman's point of view, and makes you wonder what stories are true and what is fiction.


The Fate of Mercy Alban (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/14/2014


This is an excellent, well tendered ghost story. It is so suspenseful, and had me guessing up until the end. There is a twist at the end which I did not care for, but some people may love.


Ghost Night (Bone Island Trilogy)
Ghost Night (Bone Island Trilogy)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/10/2013


I love to listen to Heather Graham's tales on audio CD. They are interesting and exciting, but simple enough that it's not distracting to stop and start during the week, as I commute to and from work. Most of her tales are worth exploring.


Ghost Shadow (Bone Island, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 1/10/2013


Very good book. I love listening to Heather Grahm on CD. Her stories are fun (based in Miami) and spooky. I love the fiesty ghosts in her stories, and Katie is a great protagonist.


Graceling (French)
Graceling (French)
Author: Kristin Cashore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/7/2013


My 21 year old daughter and I read our way through the Twilight series and the Hunger Games Trilogy, and have enjoyed the movies as well. Looking for another series, I found Graceling, which I listened to on CD while painting my bathroom. Really, really good - great characters, a wonderful premise of 'graces' which are special gifts, and an intriguing twist involving mind control. Best of all, the central character is a strong female lead, something my daughter and I both enjoy. I strongly recommend to moms and daughters, and am looking forward to reading Bitterblue and Fire, the one-off sequels.


A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, Bk 1)
A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, Bk 1)
Author: Libba Bray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 578
Review Date: 9/29/2011
Helpful Score: 4


If you are an adult woman who found yourself inexplicably loving the Twilight series and The Hunger Game Series, even though they are about teen age angst, you'll probably like this, too. It's fast paced, paints a vivid picture of the magical world, and develops a strong character in the protagonist. It intrigued me enough to order the next one in the series.


The Great Train Robbery
The Great Train Robbery
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 9/29/2011


A very interesting account of the scams common during these times. Intriguing premise, amazing how this heist was pulled off. You won't be dissappointed.


An Impartial Witness: A Bess Crawford Mystery
An Impartial Witness: A Bess Crawford Mystery
Author: Charles Todd
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/10/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Yes! I love it when I venture into a new series and love it. I am a big 'Maisie Dodd' fan, and that's how I found Bess Crawford. Very rich detail of WWI, well drawn characters, intriguing plot, a great whodunit that did not have an obvious end. I loved it. I can't wait to read more Charles Todd.


Into Thin Air : A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster
Into Thin Air : A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 9/29/2011


This book is riveting, one of the best books I've ever read. Jon Krakauer is an excellent writer, and after I read this book, I devoured everything I could find on the Mt. Everest Disaster that fateful May day. You absolutely will not be able to put this down until you are done, so call in sick and start reading. It's unbelievable what people put their bodies through, and it made me appreciate having a warm bed and a toilet nearby.


1 to 20 of 58 - Page: