Ann K. (liblit) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 131 - Page:
101 Hopelessly Hilarious Jokes (101 Jokes Books)
101 Hopelessly Hilarious Jokes (101 Jokes Books)
Author: Lisa Eisenberg, Katy Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/24/2010


I would have loved this as a child. Reminds me of the Elephant Joke Book I memorized many years ago. Now I just groan.


1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 441
Review Date: 1/21/2006


Cover blurb - 1st to Die is a dazzlingly powerful new thriller by master suspense novelist James Patterson, the #1 bestselling author of Kiss the Girls and Along Came a Spider. I enjoyed the Main character Lindsay Boxer - a police detective. The emphasis on her female friends was also nice. However, the book was too explicit in both violence and sex for my tastes.


Adventures in Paradise: Missionary Memoirs From Papua New Guinea
Adventures in Paradise: Missionary Memoirs From Papua New Guinea
Author: Esther Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/24/2012


Since I am planning to go to Papua New Guinea as a missionary myself, I enjoyed reading the details of daily life. I especially enjoyed reading about the cultural differences she has struggled with. Her personal viewpoint as a missionary comes through very clearly. I wanted to argue with her about theology many times. I also would have enjoyed a little more self-reflection.


Altar Guild and Sacristy Handbook (Handbook (Augsburg Fortress))
Review Date: 10/10/2011


useful. It gives an authority to refer to on the "right" way to do things.


Alternative Altars: Unconventional and Eastern Spirituality in America
Review Date: 7/11/2007


from back cover: "The explosive events of Jonestown and Koreagate have rivited the eyes of America on the burgeoning and largely misunderstood movement of contmporary religious cults. Robert S. Ellwood attempts to further our understanding of these occult, mystical and Eastern spiritual movements in the United States by placing them in a distinctively American context demonstrating that they are neither new nor alien."


America in the Twenthieth Century: A History
America in the Twenthieth Century: A History
Author: James T. Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/24/2010


used in a college class. A well done history that helped me see the linkages between particular events I had heard of before.


The Anubis Gates
The Anubis Gates
Author: Tim Powers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 4/16/2007


Very interesting, its nonlinear plot was a bit much for more, but I know others find it fascinating.


The Arctic Incident  (Artemis Fowl, Bk 2)
The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl, Bk 2)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 12/15/2009
Helpful Score: 3


lots of fun. More development of the ethical implications of Artemis' actions. Definitely makes me want to read more of the series.


The Armies of Daylight (Darwath, Bk 3)
The Armies of Daylight (Darwath, Bk 3)
Author: Barbara Hambly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 10/15/2005
Helpful Score: 1


A nice wrap-up to the trilogy. Things are not as they first seemed!


Bellwether
Bellwether
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 3/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


alot of fun. One of her books that is more towards Brain Candy rather than one of her more meaningful ones


The Black Company (The Chronicle of the Black Company, Bk 1)
The Black Company (The Chronicle of the Black Company, Bk 1)
Author: Glen Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 9/1/2005


Set up an interesting premise of the company and the White Rose. Lots of violence though not graphically described


Bloodletters and Badmen: A Narrative Encyclopedia of American Criminals from the Pilgrims to the Present
Review Date: 5/24/2010


Full of lots of details of lots of villains. A bit sensationalist, but seems accurate. Unfortunately it's 30 years since publication leave gaps.


Book of New York Wisdom: Common Sense and Uncommon Genius from 101 Great New Yorkers
Review Date: 9/2/2006


"Common Sense and Uncommon Genious from 101 Great New Yorkers." Contains a lot of pithy one liners.


Bride of the Rat God
Bride of the Rat God
Author: Barbara Hambly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/1/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book, a bit more fluffy than some of her books, it was enjoyable. Interesting picture of Hollywood of the 1920's with lots of fantasy thrown in.


A Canticle for Leibowitz
A Canticle for Leibowitz
Author: Walter M. Miller Jr.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 9/2/2006


While it slow in a few places it give a wonderful view of humanity and how we do not change. I am also partial to any book that takes organized religion seriously.


A Case of Conscience (Del Rey Impact)
A Case of Conscience (Del Rey Impact)
Author: James Blish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/31/2008


It was interesting to read this book which was one of the first to take the intersection of relgion and science fiction seriously. The beginning and ending were good, but dragged in the middle. Unfortunately some of the theology didn't make sense to me, but maybe that is because I am Protestand, not Catholic.

I would recommend reading this, but think The Sparrow is the better book on a similar topic.


China Mountain Zhang
China Mountain Zhang
Author: Maureen F. McHugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


an interesting view of the future where the Chinese are the most powerful group.


Christian Faith and Public Policy: No Grounds for Divorce
Christian Faith and Public Policy: No Grounds for Divorce
Author: Arthur Simon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/18/2005


A good overview of policy issues, especially on hunger issues


The Christmas Box
The Christmas Box
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 5/18/2005


too sentimental for my taste, but a sweet book


Church Roots: Stories of Nine Immigrant Groups That Became the American Lutheran Church
Review Date: 7/24/2005


from back cover - "Church Roots offers fascinating narratives of beginnings, of immigrant plantings of the church in a new land, of human struggle and conflict - stories of the many different church groups that eventually united to form The American Lutheran Church." copyright Augsburg 1985.


1 to 20 of 131 - Page: