Eileen S. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 92 - Page:
Accidental Heroes: A Novel
Accidental Heroes: A Novel
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/27/2018


This was a story that got me hooked right away,and didn't stop! Started with the every day life of a TSA employee who may or may not have uncovered a sinister plot.We delve into the private lives of agents,pilots,stewardesses and everyone involved in this day. I couldnt put it down! She had a few moments or repetative boredom, but I have come to expect that from her. If you like a good who-dunnit to keep you occcupied,and dont have a fear of flying, I suggest you read this one!


All the Summer Girls
All the Summer Girls
Author: Meg Donohue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/16/2014


My favorite genre is books about women,and when the story takes place at the beach, all the better! This was a wonderful story about three lifelong friends, secrets from their past,and coming together for a much needed girls weekend. Being from the Jersey Shore area made it more enjoyable for me, as they frequented places that I have been to in real life. I will be looking for more stories from this author.


Already Home
Already Home
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 12/25/2014


Susan Mallery always takes me away! Her characters are so real. She puts you in a position where you feel like you are working right beside them. I knew nothing of being a chef, or running a store, but it was nice to learn all about. I love how she makes each character someone you really care about, even the secondary ones. This was a wonderful story about how family and friends will bring you through anything.


Barefoot
Barefoot
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 576
Review Date: 8/31/2010


This was my first book by this author, and I was looking for a summer read. I found it! She had me hooked as soon as these women got off the plane. Loved the characters, loved her writing!


The Beach Trees
The Beach Trees
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 5/20/2018


What a fascinating story by Karen White! However, this was one of those books where I had to draw out the family tree and keep checking back to see which generation I was in. Although I do love family stories that cross the years, I sometimes get confused about which person was related to which and in which time period these people were in. I'm sure its just me, because in each chapter she laid out the year of the flashback, but it spanned three or four generations,and was just told by two main characters. Throughout the whole book we were trying to solve the mystery of two family deaths,and how these two protagonists were ultimately going to come together. I'm not one for mysteries, but it was a heartwarming family story that kept you interested til the very last page. I do love Karen White stories. She is a good friend of my favorite author, Wendy Wax! I also loved the story behind the Katrina trees and did some research on them upon finishing the book. Having lived through a Florida hurricane, it was interesting to me to read about hurricane Katrina and learn why people will go to any lengths to save their homes and property.


Beachcombers
Beachcombers
Author: Nancy Thayer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 2/6/2013


One of my favorites of Nancy Thayer's books so far. I am trying to read them all! Wonderful story about a family devestated by their mother's death years ago, who come together in the beach house on the island they grew up in to help get each other through ther various problems all summer. The one thing I didn't like was it seemed as though the instant one of the 4 women took a liking to their men,into bed with them it was! Didn't even take a first date! It didn't seem very realistic! Other than that, it was a simple,quick read,and very enjoyable.


Before We Were Yours: A Novel
Before We Were Yours: A Novel
Author: Lisa Wingate
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 7/23/2017
Helpful Score: 2


What an amazing story based on facts about children being stolen and placed in a facility called The Tennessee Children's Home Society where they were put up for adoption. This is the story of four children who were taken off the riverboat they lived on, and forced to live in deplorable conditions, and how they found their way back to each other years later. I love reading stories and finding out they were not altogether fiction. Highly recommend this book!


The Best of Friends
The Best of Friends
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 3/11/2015


I have read several books by Susan Mallery. This one is about the relationship of two lifelong friends, that seems to be tested every step of the way. Throw in a woman who was not much of a mother to both of them,and the handsome brother, who is trying not to be a part of the madness, and you have a great story line!


Best Thing Ever (Ten Beach Road, Bk 6)
Best Thing Ever (Ten Beach Road, Bk 6)
Author: Wendy Wax
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/1/2018


This book is actually called Best Beach Ever. The perfect ending to the series I never wanted to end! It all started when I picked up a book called Ten Beach Road-and I felt as if these women had become my closest friends,and their adventures were what I looked forward to in each book. I know the area by St. Petersburg, Florida,and every mention of places familiar to me made me smile! From Fish spread to Gators, so many familiar names and places and foods! I was so excited to meet Wendy Wax after the previous book came out. From the audience ,she knew this series had to go on! Each of the books left us hanging on what would become of these women, but I am sad to say,I think everything is now wrapped up. Although,...if they do purchase the old YMCA and start renovations...


Blue Skies
Blue Skies
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/4/2015


I just love Robyn Carr's stories! This one was no exception. Her characters are always so true to life.They always feel like people you'd want to be friends with. This one delved into the area of aircraft, and I came out knowing so much more about airlines, schedules, pilots and what makes an airline run. Her usual assortment of characters was so enjoyable, from the nasty mother to the father who just adores her to the gay best friend. Highly recommend this book!


The Bookshop on the Corner
The Bookshop on the Corner
Author: Jenny Colgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/26/2017


This was recommended by a friend who read it for her book club. Marvelous tale about a librarian, obsessed with books,who is let go from her job in England,and dares to try something new in her life. She travels to Scotland, buys an old van and converts it into a bookshop, and moves to the little town where she bought the van. She has a best friend of a roommate in England that cheers her on all through the story. Two railroad train engineers, who help her bring her stash of books into Scotland. One she has a romantic flirtation with. And the curmudgeonly owner of a ranch where she is renting a place to live , who finally starts to come around buy the end of the story. If you like âtake me awayâ stories, this is for you!


Bring Me Home for Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 16)
Bring Me Home for Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 16)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 166
Review Date: 11/4/2017


The last one in the Virgin River series for me to read,and my favorite one of all! I truly cried near the end of this story.I have developed such a love and attachment for all the characters in Virgin River. In my fantasy world I would love to live there!


Bulls Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 9)
Bulls Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 9)
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/21/2014


As with all her books, this author's story was so well written,you feel like you are right there smelling the water, feeling the breeze. A wonderful story that you never want to end!


The Christmas Pearl
The Christmas Pearl
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/16/2014


I have been devouring all her books lately. This book was not like the rest!I didn't think I'd like it part way through it, but it finished up in an interestering story. Just a quirky kind of Low-Country tale, I guess.


Counting by 7s
Counting by 7s
Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/15/2014


I'm not sure what or who prompted me to order it. It's an interesting tale of an 11 year old girl with autism/ Aspbergers, or at least that is the assumption I made from reading her story. She is suddenly orphaned and with the help of a very odd assortment of characters, slowly starts falling into a new family dynamic. It is interesting to ready this diary written story from her point if view. I highly enjoyed this very easy read.


Dangerous Games
Dangerous Games
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/8/2017


Pretty good book for Danielle Steel. Has a lot of intrigues, romance,excitement, travel, backstabbing...her usual story!


Distant Shores
Distant Shores
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 7/30/2015


I am a Kristin Hannah fan,and love everything she writes. So much so, that a few chapters into this book, I realized I had read it already, but enjoyed it all over again! I love stories about families and relationships.This one was interesting, in that we watched the main character, Elizabeth, finally become her own person after living in here husband's shadow for their whole married life.


The Duchess: A Novel
The Duchess: A Novel
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/23/2017


Pretty much the typical Danielle Steel novel. This one involves a young girl who's life changes drastically at every turn. I enjoyed watching her evolve, and there was an element of surprise in some of her choices. Danielle is back to repeating the same things quite a lot throughout the story.If you love her stories, you will like this one.


Dune Road
Dune Road
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/11/2016


I really enjoyed this book.I do love stories about relationships between women friends. Jane Green had an odd style of writing, I felt. Almost like she was narrating the story instead of telling it. Maybe it's a British thing. Anyway, I loved the characters, each with their own stories and secrets, and it took me a while to figure some things out. But a nice story!


Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine: A Novel
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine: A Novel
Author: Gail Honeyman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/22/2017


I just loved this book! I laughed and cried throughout the story. Such a quirky woman, the story slowly unfolds about her life, giving an explanation of why she is the way she is. A story that will touch your heart as you grow to love all the characters in it.


1 to 20 of 92 - Page: