Brooks H. (FoundItOnAnAirplane) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 31 - Page:
18MM Blues
18MM Blues
Author: Gerald A. Browne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Good, solid Browne. Great premise, well thought out, paced just right. This guy knows pearls.


19 Purchase St.
19 Purchase St.
Author: Gerald A. Browne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


My favorite Gerald Browne. Great plot, fast paced, dimensional characters; an excellent read!


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 4/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Very good book. Heard it first on tape from the library.


Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 1)
Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 1)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 334
Review Date: 4/15/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a great read for an upcoming teen or tweener interested in life at the turn of the century but its appeal crosses all generations and genders. Equally as good as the Disney real-life portrayal of this 20th century gem!


Anne of the Island (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 3)
Anne of the Island (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 3)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 4/15/2006


Haven't read this book but have read the 1st one and it has proved to be as good as the Disney real-life portrayal of this 20th century gem!


Baby Bargains: Secrets to Saving 20 Percent to 50 Percent on Baby Furniture, Equipment, Clothes, Toys, Maternity Wear and Much, Much More
Review Date: 4/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Helpful. Easy to navigate through.


Days of Atonement
Days of Atonement
Author: Walter Jon Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/21/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Fine and vintage WJW! Everytime I think he has surpassed himself he does so again. This isn't the best work he has done (i.e. Angel Station) but it is different and a good read.


Dead Hand
Dead Hand
Author: Harold Coyle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Back cover promises a lot but I kept waiting for the payoff.


Deep Survival: Who Lives, Who Dies, and Why
Deep Survival: Who Lives, Who Dies, and Why
Author: Laurence Gonzales
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 12/20/2011
Helpful Score: 3


I was very disappointed in this book. The stories of survival are great but he never tells one complete story, instead interspersing his own ideas and/or beliefs as to why things happen the way they do. I actually read to about page 200 before it got interesting and I kept waiting for the book to take a turn for the better. It got better but not by much.


Dies the Fire (Change, Bk 1) (Emberverse, Bk 1)
Dies the Fire (Change, Bk 1) (Emberverse, Bk 1)
Author: S. M. Stirling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Great action, suspense, characterization, and colorful writing. These books are as fine as any others written by Stirling. They could be even better if he would leave off with the ridiculous witches subplot or, in the case of some of his other works (The Draka Series), the exaggerated homosexual subplots. I am all for the diversity of characters which makes them more human but Stirling spends so much time describing Western America's conversion to Wicca that he loses a lot, makes it harder to follow, and should have stuck to the story. I mean, c'mon, gimme a break! Several thousand people are not gonna convert to some polytheistic pagan theology that cannot possibly make up even 1% of the current population based largely on the choices of a group of 20 people or less . . . not in any crisis. Thanx for letting me rant! Otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed the book.


Down in the Zero (Burke, Bk 7)
Down in the Zero (Burke, Bk 7)
Author: Andrew Vachss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 8/27/2006


Excellent Vachss. He seems to get better and better!


Empire of the Eagle
Empire of the Eagle
Author: Andre Norton, Susan Shwartz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/12/2006


Interesting premise. Weak on movement and plot. I kept hoping I'd get to the good parts.


Gods and Legions : A Novel of The Roman Empire
Gods and Legions : A Novel of The Roman Empire
Author: Michael Curtis Ford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/27/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Very well written. Engaging plot and storyline. Fleshed out characters. Maybe overlong but that doesn't detract from the polished writing. An enjoyable read!


Gone for Soldiers : A Novel of the Mexican War
Gone for Soldiers : A Novel of the Mexican War
Author: Jeffrey Shaara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/29/2006


I've read excerpts from this and other Shaara works (by both the father & the son). Outstanding works but so descriptive that I had trouble following the scenes as they changed from one story to another. One must really have an eye for detail and already be very familiar w/ Civil War commanders, the Mexican War, and the history of the period.


Hannibal (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 3)
Hannibal (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 3)
Author: Thomas Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 711
Review Date: 8/27/2006


Dr. Lecter is back and this time he is free! Excellent writing and ends differently from the movie (but not in a bad way). Also, much better than the movie (which is typical). I was very pleased with this book.


Homeward Bound
Homeward Bound
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 5/1/2006


Didn't read this one but all of the previous Turtledove that I have read is excellent.


I Should Be Extremely Happy in Your Company
I Should Be Extremely Happy in Your Company
Author: Brian Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 12/19/2008


I had gotten half way through with this book before I saw the little "Fiction" emblem on the spine. Really disappointing considering I thought it was a factual account of their travels when I ordered it.

Often hard to follow and barely above the "boredom" category. A real snoozer if you want to fall asleep fast. The action and suspense were few and far between and then lasted only a couple of paragraphs followed by 10 to 20 pages of more waiting for the next action sequence.

I was expecting more from this novel. Possibly because once I found out it was fiction I thought that the author could have livened it up a notch and created some excitement instead of making it very much like what I imagine the expedition was filled with: tedium and regularity interspersed by very brief moments of excitement and adventure.

Not recommended.


Jack Knife
Jack Knife
Author: Virginia Baker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 4/13/2009


I liked this book as it covered Jack the Ripper from a quasi sci-fi perspective and combined the mystery of who the murderer was with how the detectives came back through time to follow Jack's victims around until they caught him. Okay, maybe I over simplified a bit but it was still a quick book.


King David's Spaceship (CoDominium, Bk 1)
King David's Spaceship (CoDominium, Bk 1)
Author: Jerry Pournelle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/12/2006


I enjoyed this book. The novels of Falkenburg's Legion will one day be legend!


Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
Author: Anthony Bourdain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 8/27/2006


Fun and light reading. This guy makes being a chef seem like the best job ever. He writes with great humor and is not afraid to poke fun at himself!


1 to 20 of 31 - Page: