Maryann M. (doxymom) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 54 - Page:
After Dark  (Harmony, Bk 1)
After Dark (Harmony, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 289
Review Date: 3/9/2010


To me this reads more like a Paranormal Romance than a science fiction book. For me it definitely had the same feel as JD Robb's In Death series. If you like those you'll probably like these.


Amber Brown Wants Extra Credit (Amber Brown, Bk 4)
Review Date: 3/2/2007


My daughter loved it and read it in about two hours.


An Accidental Goddess
An Accidental Goddess
Author: Linnea Sinclair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 6/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was a lot of fun and had me smiling and cheering at the end. This is a Science Fiction Romance, though it could be considered a little more fantasy depending on how you look at it. Some of 'aliens', who seem to be a human variation of the far future, are called sorcerers though what happens seems, to me, less magic and more psychic abilities combined with crystals--ala Darkover.

The romance is satsisfying and interesting. The plot is convuluted enough to keep up the tension. The secondary character of Simon is cool and fun. I love how Linnea used an innocuous thing from the beginning as a twist later.

I've read four of Linnea's books and this is my favorite so far, with Finders Keepers a close second. For me, this is a keeper.


Angelus (Stargate Atlantis, Bk 11)
Angelus (Stargate Atlantis, Bk 11)
Author: Peter Evans
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book is for the SG1 and SGA fan. Someone who purely loves SGA might not like it because the SGA characters are off a bit--meaning they don't speak or act quite the same as on the show. Take out the "he saids" and the characters all sound basically the same, which isn't the case on the show.

Sam Carter is the main character. This story is set three weeks after she takes over control of Atlantis. The SGA characters are mostly in the background. Col. Ellis features quite a bit too. McKay and Sheppard have important parts in the plot but only Rodney is "on screen" much and he doesn't sound or act like himself exactly. It's the little things like sticking his hand in something disgusting without much hesitation.

That all said I still gave this story four stars because the plot is good and kept me interested enough to read this in less than three days. The writing good. The editing okay (some typos, etc.) but not the worst I've seen. The ultimate villain is bad. The twists are good and the imagery is vivid.

This is a HORROR story. It's creepy and sometimes gross.

I'm glad I read this, but it's not a keeper for me since I buy the books for the SGA Team characters foremost.


Atlantis Found (Dirk Pitt, Bk 15)
Atlantis Found (Dirk Pitt, Bk 15)
Author: Clive Cussler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 2/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


An intriguing book.


Beyond Varallan (Stardoc, Bk 2)
Beyond Varallan (Stardoc, Bk 2)
Author: S. L. Viehl
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 6/9/2010


Very good. Love this whole series. Not my favorite, but still good.


Body Master
Body Master
Author: C. J. Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/10/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is a terrific introduction to SFR for those who've never read it and/or are afraid to try it due to possible Tech. There's no Tech in this story. It's much more of an SFR that reminds me almost of a cop novel.

The characters are engaging and interesting. There's no overload of sex or cussing, though there's a bit of each. It's a fast read.

As an SF fan did I long for more SF? Yep. It's really vague in this story. I missed some of the same things that the other reviewer did--the alien language and names, explanations about the aliens and Seneca's abilities, etc. But I still enjoyed this anyway.

Having read several of Ms. Barry's Un- novels I did find this one a bit more predicatable and more like an old cop movie than that series.

Will I read the rest of this series? Yes. Maybe they'll go into the aliens in more detail. Was I happy with the ending? Yes. Even if I could see it coming.


Breaking Point (Troubleshooters, Bk 9)
Breaking Point (Troubleshooters, Bk 9)
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 6/17/2008


Excellent story. I couldn't put it down.


Caillou-Good Night (North Star)
Caillou-Good Night (North Star)
Author: Christine L'Heureux, Gisele Legare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/9/2010


Excellent book for toddlers. My three-year-old loves it.


Cetaganda (Miles Vorkosigan, Bk 9)
Cetaganda (Miles Vorkosigan, Bk 9)
Author: Lois McMaster Bujold
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 3/9/2010


Good political intrigue. Strong female characters. Some surprising twists. Very tight writing, as usual. I admit I didn't quite like this one as much as some of the others, but I still enjoyed it and read it in a week.


Children of Scarabaeus (Scarabaeus, Bk 2)
Children of Scarabaeus (Scarabaeus, Bk 2)
Author: Sara Creasy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent. I loved the first book in the series and I believe I like this one better.

The SF is excellent. There's more Romance in this one, though not all mushy. There are some twists that had me literally saying, "No way!" out loud.

This book will appeal to both Science Fiction and Romance fans.

It's a keeper for me and a wonderful sequel.


The Chosen (Stargate Atlantis, Bk 3)
The Chosen (Stargate Atlantis, Bk 3)
Author: Sonny Whitelaw, Elizabeth Christensen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/4/2010


Started out really slow but picked up and was very good.


Contact
Contact
Author: Susan Grant
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 6/17/2008


Caught my interest almost from the beginning. Nice SF touches throughout, though the book is definitely more Romance than SF. I love that the humans never give up and take care of themselves. The character development is excellent and the attention to little things like language differences is wonderful.


Dark Need (Darkyn, Bk 3)
Dark Need (Darkyn, Bk 3)
Author: Lynn Viehl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 3/13/2007


Excellent book. An alien story in which the aliens not only don't all speak English, but don't look humanoid either. The characters engaged me right off and the plot intrigued me from the beginning. This is a keeper for me.


Darkover Landfall (Darkover, Bk 1)
Darkover Landfall (Darkover, Bk 1)
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/23/2007


An excellent start to the Darkover series. If you read the later books and then this one, you can see the seeds that became Darkovan society and legend. It's very interesting. Also interesting is finding out why the strongest had red hair, and how the names morphed as the centuries passed. I loved this book and had actually read most of the later books before this one.


Dauntless (Lost Fleet, Bk 1)
Dauntless (Lost Fleet, Bk 1)
Author: Jack Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 5/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I was skeptical about this series but read it based on a recommendation on Linnea Sinclair's list. I was hooked almost immediately, quit reading the book I was reading, and have now read the first four books in less than a month.

The series as a whole reads like a single epic tale. But each book has a lot of "recap" since they came out so far apart. If you're reading them in a row like I am it can be a bit trying at times, but the main plot and the huge surprise plot, plus the romantic sub-plots make this book the first step in a terrific journey.

Each book in this series is more than space battles. Each one unwraps another layer in each aspect--character development, backstory, a mystery, and romance.

Read them in order. You'll get more out of them that way.


Death Game: Stargate Atlantis: Sga-15
Death Game: Stargate Atlantis: Sga-15
Author: Jo Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/4/2010


Really enjoyed this one. The characters were well done and sound like themselves. The plot had humor, "Shep whump", and some twists, though I figured out part of it early on.

The author creates plausible backstories for Sheppard, Zelenka, and Teyla. The original characters that play small parts are interesting and unique, and do not take over the story.

Of all the SGA novels I've read, so far, I like this one best.


The Dolphins of Pern (Dragonriders of Pern)
The Dolphins of Pern (Dragonriders of Pern)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 2/5/2007


This is a wonderful continuation of the Pern series.


Driven (Shomi)
Driven (Shomi)
Author: Eve Kenin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 9/24/2010


This book is sort of like a combination of Ice Road Truckers, Mad Max, and Dark Angel but with some (not a lot and not too graphic) sex onscreen. It got better as it went and really picked up about the halfway point. There's action, romance, sparse worldbuilding, and an interesting resolution. I admit to finding it hard to get into the beginning due to some repetition, and the hero's emotionless demeanor and formal speech, but turns out there were good reasons for it that come out around the halfway point. It was a good enough book for me to want to read more by this author.


Everyday, Average Jones (Tall, Dark and Dangerous, Bk 4)
Everyday, Average Jones (Tall, Dark and Dangerous, Bk 4)
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 2/4/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Maybe I'm in the minority, but I thought this book was not very good. This entire plot would have ended if they'd just sat down and talked to each other. Every one of the Seal Team books was so much better to me it was as if a different person wrote them.


1 to 20 of 54 - Page: