Clare S. (ClareS) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 85 - Page:
10 Days to a Less Defiant Child: The Breakthrough Program for Overcoming Your Child's Difficult Behavior
Review Date: 9/21/2013


Book provides clear steps that we can take with our child and helps us understand his behavior.


101 Things I Hate About Your House: A Premier Designer Takes You on a Room-by-Room Tour to Transform Your Home from Faux Pas to Fabulous
Review Date: 12/29/2015


The book is organized into room by room chapters so that you can easily break up your housework into more manageable tasks. I like the author's suggestions and the humor with which he presents them.


All Things at Once
All Things at Once
Author: Mika Brzezinski
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/14/2011


Very helpful to all Moms who have a career outside the home. It's a challenging life and Mika has insights that have helped me juggle "all things at once" with grace and peace.


Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
Author: Michael J. Fox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/15/2013


Interesting and insightful. I learned a lot about Parkinson's and Michael has a nice writing style.


The Art of Making Money: The Story of a Master Counterfeiter
The Art of Making Money: The Story of a Master Counterfeiter
Author: Jason Kersten
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/22/2010


Full of suspense.
Fascinating.
Hard to put down.


The Aviator's Wife: A Novel
The Aviator's Wife: A Novel
Author: Melanie Benjamin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 3/29/2018


Wow! I learned a lot about the Lindbergh family and a lot about Anne Morrow Lindbergh. She is a hero in her own right. This was an exceedingly well written book.


Bad Monkey
Bad Monkey
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/18/2016


Hilarious !


Banana: The Fate of the Fruit That Changed the World
Banana: The Fate of the Fruit That Changed the World
Author: Dan Koeppel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/27/2014


I learned a lot about the fruit, economics,
relations with Central America - very interesting


The Bear: A Novel
The Bear: A Novel
Author: Claire Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/24/2018


The beginning scene of the bear and the campsite is suspenseful.


Because I Said So!: The Truth Behind the Myths, Tales, and Warnings Every Generation Passes Down to Its Kids
Review Date: 6/4/2018


Outstanding! Jennings is as funny as he is smart.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1034
Review Date: 1/17/2011


Absolutely amazing!!!!!


Break the Skin: A Novel
Break the Skin: A Novel
Author: Lee Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/27/2013


Characters were very well developed. The author takes his time, unrolling the tale little by little, building the suspense. Very nicely written.


Breaking Blue
Breaking Blue
Author: Timothy Egan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/19/2012


Suspense & intrigue. Egan is a great writer.


Breaking the Food Seduction : The Hidden Reasons Behind Food Cravings---And 7 Steps to End Them Naturally
Review Date: 7/7/2014


I learned a lot about why we are driven to consume sugars, chocolate, meats & cheese. Very eye-opening


Bringing Up Bebe: One American Mother Discovers the Wisdom of Parenting
Review Date: 2/6/2018


I learned a lot about French family life and culture . And I got some good ideas to help me as I raise my four kids .


The Chaperone
The Chaperone
Author: Laura Moriarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/7/2015


Moriarty does a great job of drawing her characters and places for us. You can vividly imagine the scenes, dialogue and feeling that each point in history had.

This was quite an enjoyable book.


City of Thieves
City of Thieves
Author: David Benioff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 6/28/2016


This has become one of my new all-time favorite books.


The Company Car
The Company Car
Author: C. J. Hribal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/4/2009


Excellent character development.
Incidents that happen to the characters will surprise you throughout the novel.
Can't wait to read more by Hribal.


The Conflict: How Modern Motherhood Undermines the Status of Women
Review Date: 9/3/2013


She shows clear evidence to support a theory that many of us are experiencing but aren't brave enough to advocate...our child-centric society is too hard on moms these days and it is having dire consequences for the happiness of families as well as the development and future success of our children.


Cooked: My Journey from the Streets to the Stove
Cooked: My Journey from the Streets to the Stove
Author: Jeff Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/25/2016


Fascinating and inspiring.


1 to 20 of 85 - Page: