Tracy T. (ScoutDarcy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 891
Review Date: 1/5/2008
Helpful Score: 12


I've just finished, and all I can say is... wow. Just wow. I stepped into this book (and the movie) knowing exactly what the ending was, but that didn't prepare me at all. Both movie and book made me cry about five times apiece. (Even on the second time I saw the movie.) You will genuinely feel for these characters-- you will hate Briony, you will empathize with Cecilia, but most of all, you will feel horrible for Robbie. Oh how I loved and pitied him! I credit Ian McEwan for giving a startlingly realistic depiction of the war and being able to evoke such human emotion. Read this book, or at the very least, see the movie. They're both excellent.


Charlie Bone and the Invisible Boy (Children of the Red King, Bk 3)
Charlie Bone and the Invisible Boy (Children of the Red King, Bk 3)
Author: Jenny Nimmo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 7/2/2007


Great book for boys and girls who enjoy Harry Potter. Very simple to read; font is large and text is double-spaced. Great bedtime reading for the family!


Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict
Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict
Author: Laurie Viera Rigler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 6/23/2009
Helpful Score: 4


It seems I agree with the general consensus. The book was just okay. Parts of it definitely annoyed me. The jacket flap proclaims that Courtney, in the body of a 19th-century woman, manages to fool even the most astute observer, and yet she sounds NOTHING like a 19th-century woman! She constantly uses 21st-century slang while speaking, and while this can be attributed to culture shock initially, one would think that this would improve over time. Surely she could listen to how those around her speak and get some pointers. Thankfully, by the end, her narrative voice has become more like that of the time, but it is still jarring to compare how she speaks to how everyone else in the novel does.

While Courtney was generally likeable, it was annoying how she constantly reflects on her ex-fiancé and Wes, and yet doesnt seem to realize how Wes was a much, much better man and how attracted she was to him. Um, hello? Your fiances a jerk, lady. Complain all you want about how you are attracted to deadbeat guys, but I dont feel any pity for you when you cant seem to recognize the good ones in the first place.

Parts of the book were entertaining, Ill give it that. Other parts seemed completely useless, such as the one point where Courtney gets her period while in Janes body. It seemed as though it was only there for the author to say, Look! I learned how 19th-century women dealt with menstruation! And I know what they called it back then!

Perhaps Im being overly snarky. I do think I will read the parallel story, if only to see how Jane Mansfield fares in Courtneys body, though I cant imagine it will be much different.


Fight for Life (Wild At Heart Bk 1)
Fight for Life (Wild At Heart Bk 1)
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/27/2007


I adored these books when I was younger. They're great for any kid who loves animals or wants to be a vet. Even though they're from American Girl, there are guy characters and boys can love them too! This is number one in the series Wild at Heart.


Haunted (Women of the Underworld, Bk 5)
Haunted (Women of the Underworld, Bk 5)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 532
Review Date: 7/2/2007
Helpful Score: 2


My first foray into dark fantasy and definitely my favorite of the series. Eve's connection to her daughter is heartbreaking, and I remember really loving the plot. It's also not as explicit as earlier works by Armstrong.


Inherit the Wind
Inherit the Wind
Author: Jerome Lawrence, Robert E. Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 9/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This play is truly amazing. My favorite next to A Midsummer Night's Dream, and possibly equal to it. I saw it performed on Broadway with Christopher Plummer and Brian Dennehy, and absolutely loved it, possibly due to my courtroom-drama fascination (started by To Kill a Mockingbird). It really makes you rethink some of your opinions on religion and the Bible, and there are some truly funny moments. The true scene-stealer for me was E.K. Hornbeck, the reporter, but Drummond is also very funny with his dry wit. An excellent play and one I highly recommend.


Jane Eyre (Enriched Classics)
Jane Eyre (Enriched Classics)
Author: Charlotte Bronte
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I've finally finished, and oh what a journey it has been! Having read Wuthering Heights, the only novel of Charlotte's sister Emily, I embarked on my journey with Jane, encouraged by the raves of some friends and teachers (and the bookstore clerk who rang up my purchase!). I was moved to tears a few times, and I came to know Jane like an old friend. Indeed, Ms. Bronte spares the reader nothing, and the book is immersed in Jane's thoughts and emotions. The passion between Rochester and Jane is quite interesting (and oh, how I loved Rochester despite his faults!) Highly recommended. I must read it again.


Little Green Men
Little Green Men
Author: Dean Wesley Smith, Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/2/2007


Very enjoyable book for fans of Roswell. Entertaining read and very in-character.


Little Men (Little Women, Bk 3)
Little Men (Little Women, Bk 3)
Author: Louisa May Alcott
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 12/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I read Little Women just a few short weeks ago, and it immediately earned a special place in my heart. The girls were as real to me as my own sister, and I honestly didn't expect to feel the same way about these boys! However, this is a charming continuation of the story of the second-eldest March girl, Jo. Plumfield is a marvelous school, and its inhabitants are adorable, mischevious, and occasionally laugh-out-loud funny (take Demi's story of the Pilgrims in the last chapter). Just as with Little Women, I found myself tearing up multiple times. A beautifully written, marvellously done book, and I look forward to reading the end of the story in Jo's Boys.


Little Women
Little Women
Author: Louisa May Alcott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 11/13/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Oh my God. I can't believe how I ever ignored my mother's suggestion to read this. This has to be one of the most beautiful, worthwhile, funny, and heartbreaking books I have EVER read-- and trust me, I read a lot. Louisa May Alcott is amazingly good at depicting the workings of a small family, and I teared up and/or cried at least five times while reading! As a young writer, I empathized with Jo March, but surely everyone will find some bit of themselves in every one of these four sisters and their "brother" Laurie-- they are some of the most human characterizations I have ever seen. Some believe this book is outdated, but I honestly do not care-- it is an amazing achievement, and those who do not read it due to length or the belief it is "boring" are missing out. Do yourself a favor and READ IT!


A Mango-Shaped Space
A Mango-Shaped Space
Author: Wendy Mass
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 10/26/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Since I am interested in synesthesia, it was a stroke of luck when I found out about this book. I've just finished it this morning, and must say that I was very pleasantly surprised. I'm old enough not to read many YA books anymore, but this one was delightful-- funny and fascinating at the same time, and very touching at the end. Synesthesia is a fascinating subject to me, and I feel that the author did a great job describing it (though I do not have it and neither does she). Mia was a great narrator, sweet and sarcastic, even a little scatterbrained, but hey, we're all human. I most definitely recommend this to people of all ages who want insight into a fascinating condition-- and even those who don't!


The Nanny Diaries
The Nanny Diaries
Author: Emma McLaughlin, Nicola Kraus
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 8/26/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This book is sometimes heartbreaking in its portrayal of the rich people who have children-- and then do not bother to take care of them. The narrator, Nanny, remarks that it is truly sad that the only people who care for these children are the ones who are paid to take care of them. Don't get me wrong, I loved this book-- Nanny was a great narrator, and her humor was spot-on. But at times I was also crying because the neglect of little Grayer was so sad. A great read; I recommend it.


The Pact: A Love Story
The Pact: A Love Story
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1185
Review Date: 7/31/2007
Helpful Score: 14


The second of Picoult's books that I read, the first being the excellent My Sister's Keeper. She does a great job portraying families in crisis, and also making the court cases convincing, so you wonder whose side is really right. The characters were well-drawn, though there were some predictable elements, and I do wish there had been some more flashbacks to Emily and Chris' youth. Overall, though, a wonderful book.


Persuasion
Persuasion
Author: Jane Austen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 1/23/2008


The second Austen I read, and how dearly do I love her men! Wentworth's letter to Anne had me in tears. This is easily relatable to anyone today, and half the time you'll be thinking, "LOOK AT EACH OTHER, FOR GOD'S SAKE!" (At least, I was.) An excellent book that will most definitely hold a special place in my heart.


The Strange Power (Dark Visions, Bk 1)
The Strange Power (Dark Visions, Bk 1)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I know that LJ Smith is a much-praised author, but I very honestly did not see the appeal behind her books (granted, I only read these three "Dark Visions" books). They were just all right. Many elements were predictable, the dialogue was stilted, some plot twists were just odd, and the overall outcome left you with a sense of, "... what?"


Sunchaser's Quest (Unicorns of Balinor, Bk 2)
Sunchaser's Quest (Unicorns of Balinor, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Stanton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/27/2007


I remember loving this book, and the rest of the series, when I was a little girl. Perfect for anyone who loves horses or unicorns!


This Lullaby
This Lullaby
Author: Sarah Dessen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 8/19/2008


To start, I've already read two of Dessen's-- Someone Like You and Dreamland. I had high hopes for this one, as most of the people I knew who'd read Sarah Dessen named this as their favorite. However, for some reasons, this one disappointed me.

First, I never did quite see what Remy saw in Dexter. Granted, lately, my literary crushes have been of the Mr. Darcy/Jay Gatsby type, but I wanted to like Dexter. I did. And did I? I actually thought he was plain annoying, for the most part. I felt that there weren't enough scenes of them as a couple to really convince the reader they had something.

Second, some critical reviews call the family and friends of Remy and Dexter well-fleshed out and such. Are they really? In the end, Don is just a jerk, Remy's mother magically no longer needs Remy, and the bandmates just... complain. A lot.

Third, everything was wrapped up a bit too conveniently. Two major events in Remy's family just *happen* to happen on the same day, leading to an epiphany.

There were some things I liked about this book. One of them was the character cameo from another of Dessen's books, and my personal favorite. Another was the occasional bits of humor. But I couldn't sympathize with Remy, and overall I just didn't relate to any of the characters.

I know I'm bucking the trend and knocking a fan favorite, but this one didn't exactly hit the mark for me, sadly.


To Kill a Mockingbird
To Kill a Mockingbird
Author: Harper Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2958
Review Date: 7/2/2007
Helpful Score: 6


My absolute favorite book. I read it for the first time this year and quite honestly fell in love. Great story with great characters.


Trickster (Wild at Heart, No 3)
Trickster (Wild at Heart, No 3)
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I adored these books when I was younger. They're great for any kid who loves animals or wants to be a vet. Even though they're from American Girl, there are guy characters and boys can love them too! This is number three in the series Wild at Heart.


Witch Week (Chronicles of Chrestomanci)
Witch Week (Chronicles of Chrestomanci)
Author: Diana Wynne Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/27/2007


Good for any kids who want more like Harry Potter. I seem to remember some of the language and outdated terms being a little confusing, however.


1 to 20 of 20