Dorothy R. (obsidianfire) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 134 - Page:
Abstinence: Members of Overeaters Anonymous Share Their Experience, Strength, and Hope
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 21


While I'm not a member of a 12 step program and don't really like them at all I did get alot out of this book. Insperation, ideas, and a new way of thinking. Anyone who has problems with overeating can get at least a little something out of this book and if you do follow the 12 step progarms or are part of OA then it is a great companion book to help you along the way.


Adventures of a Continental Drifter : An Around-the-World Excursion into Weirdness, Danger, Lust, and the Perils of Street Food
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 28


I laughed so hard I got an ab workout! I loved hearing about his adventures abroad, although I'd rather be living some of them myself. If you can't travel then reading about it by a great writer is the next best thing.


An Invisible Woman
An Invisible Woman
Author: Anne Strieber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 23


While I never really took to the maine character, I ended up really enjoying the book. It got my attention and I ended up reading it in a day just to find out what happened and who the guilty party really was.


And All Between
And All Between
Author: Zilpha Keatley Snyder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/4/2007
Helpful Score: 13


Excellent YA fantasy, which I still reread as an adult a few times.


Asylum (Vintage Contemporaries)
Asylum (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Patrick Mcgrath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 20


This is the first I've read of Mcgrath. His writing is very haunting and beautiful and the story stayed with me long after I read it. Very gothic.


Audrey Hepburn's Neck: A Novel
Audrey Hepburn's Neck: A Novel
Author: Alan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 18


First book I've ever read written from a Japanese perspective. Very interesting. Like the comment made by Toshi's mother that Westerns are lighter skinned because we have more access to milk. We don't often get to hear such wives tales from the other side of the world.


Becoming Finola
Becoming Finola
Author: Suzanne Strempek Shea
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 19


Other than the maine character Sophie acting like a dodo at the end, there is nothing I didn't like about this book. The characters were well developed, and the setting of Ireland really takes you away. While there is a definate romance that happens in the book, it isn't overly mushy and while it's sort of the focus toward the end, the main plot to me seemed to be Sophie really finding herself and becoming the person she always wanted to be.

And really even her acting like a dodo at the end wasn't so bad, and kind of funny. Sort of made me want to yell at her though. She definately needed to learn the lesson of never assuming anything.


Best Recipes from the Backs of Boxes, Bottles, Cans, and Jars
Best Recipes from the Backs of Boxes, Bottles, Cans, and Jars
Author: Ceil Dyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 2/9/2006
Helpful Score: 21


Oh so many recipies. Almost 600 pages of mouth water recipes. Most of them are easy to make and use simple ingredients most of us have on hand in the pantry. Using common brand name ingredients.


Blinded (Dr. Alan Gregory, Bk 12)
Blinded (Dr. Alan Gregory, Bk 12)
Author: Stephen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 18


Great plot line and an ending that blindsides you. Definately recommend this one if you are into murder mysteries. For me it was on a whole other level than most of them out there, and very intense.


The Blindfold
The Blindfold
Author: Siri Hustvedt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 17


Can a book hold you captivated even if you don't understand it? Well that's what this book was to me. I loved the story and the writing, but in the end I have to admit I felt like there was something I didn't understand. I felt like it wasn't the author's fault though. I feel like I missed something as a reader. But the writing and story did captivate me through the whole book.


Blood Orange
Blood Orange
Author: Drusilla Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 20


I loved the way it switches the perspectives to different characters in the novel instead of just from one point of view. The plot was interesting and the outcome was a bit of a surprise. All in all an ejoyable read.


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 32


Loved the characters in this book. The author created a whole cast of people with depth and emotion. This book made me laugh out loud and cry real tears since the story is real and raw and it is easy to get lost in their lives and really feel for them. Great writing.


The Boys in the Mail Room
The Boys in the Mail Room
Author: Iris Rainer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 12


Not my usual type, but I ended up loving this book. Very entertaining, light fiction set in the 80s in Hollywood.


Brave New Girl
Brave New Girl
Author: Louisa Luna
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 14


Another great book put out by MTV publishing. YA book, with good writing that grabbed me from start to finish. There is only one thing I didn't like about it and that is an unfinished resolution about a minor plot point that I won't give away. It doesn't distract from the maine story it's self though.


The Broke Diaries : The Completely True and Hilarious Misadventures of a Good Girl Gone Broke
Review Date: 6/18/2006
Helpful Score: 20


Laughed my butt off. Read entire passages outloud to my husband, so he could laugh also. Lent to my friend, but she didn't like it. So I'm thinking the humor of this book is the type you'll either love or hate. Very quick read as it's written like a blog, which is what it first was.


China Shadow
China Shadow
Author: Clarissa Ross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/20/2006
Helpful Score: 19


Good gothic tale that takes place in the lush surroundings of the orient. Writing grabed me right from the get go.


Clutter Be Gone: Cleaning Your House the Easy Way
Clutter Be Gone: Cleaning Your House the Easy Way
Author: Don Aslett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/30/2006
Helpful Score: 17


Awsome book. It's amazingly informative, but the whole format is funny and easy to read, so it's not just another chore on your list but something you'll want to read. And when you are done, while you may have had fun, you may just find that you learned quite a bit in the process!


The Complete Idiot's Guide to Losing Weight
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Losing Weight
Author: Edward Saltzman, Susan McQuillan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/10/2006
Helpful Score: 17


Excellent guide to losing weight. I love that it's not stuffy and reading it is actually fun, with interesting tidbits, and advice from loser's(those who have actually lost weight). Covers everything from portion control to excercise and everything in between.


Review Date: 6/25/2006
Helpful Score: 15


Fun book. I always loved doing the quizzes in the magizine, and this book is filled with them from cover to cover! Plus all sorts of little extras in the side bars like the dos and don'ts of being bare.


Cut
Cut
Author: Patricia McCormick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 7/9/2006
Helpful Score: 14


Interesting book. Very fast read. Of course it is written for a younger audience but I think young and not as young can both enjoy and learn from this book.


1 to 20 of 134 - Page: