Sonja P. (silverdracos) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Deathstalker: Being the First Part of the Life and Times of Owen Deathstalker (Owen Deathstalker, Bk 1)
Review Date: 2/20/2015


'S OK. . . But I was really hoping for more.


Fire in the Mist
Fire in the Mist
Author: Holly Lisle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/7/2014


An enjoyable read, but nothing groundbreaking.


Fix, Freeze, Feast
Fix, Freeze, Feast
Author: Kati Neville, Lindsay Tkacsik
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/22/2014


I have three or four of the other very popular freezer meal/bulk cooking books but I hardly ever use them. This one is my family's favorite and they often request specific meals out of it. I haven't bought spaghetti sauce in the three years I've had it - the Red Sauce is awesome and inexpensive enough that IF I run out I can find enough to throw together another batch buy collecting change around the house.

I love this book, don't expect to see me swapping it anytime soon :)


The Invention of Murder: How the Victorians Revelled in Death and Detection and Created Modern Crime
Review Date: 3/25/2014


VERY interesting. But the text-book like writing style made it hard to become absorbed. I'd still recommend it to anyone interested in this aspect of the Victorian Era.


Out of Oz (Wicked Years, Bk 4)
Out of Oz (Wicked Years, Bk 4)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/25/2014


I did enjoy it more than the third, but I was still disappointed. I found most of the characters two-dimensional and without actual personality. A couple of the secondary characters had a spark, but the primaries just plodded along whatever path they were taking with no real investment. Running for your life isn't interesting if you don't really care one way or another. Fascinating mysterious objects are introduced only to be dropped at the end of the scene and only mentioned later in passing. Wicked was interesting and showed promise, but every book since has left me wishing for a re-write by a more dynamic author. Such a a great concept, ending with a resounding "thud".


Pussy, King of the Pirates
Pussy, King of the Pirates
Author: Kathy Acker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/19/2014


My best friend gave it to me with the challenge of "See how far you get". We both think it's the worst book we've ever read. It is a wonderful tool for telemarketers though. On more than one occasion I've turned to a random page and started reading out loud to get rid of them.


Soul of the Fire (Sword of Truth, Book 5)
Soul of the Fire (Sword of Truth, Book 5)
Author: Terry Goodkind
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 374
Review Date: 3/18/2014


Honestly, this is my least favorite of the Sword of Truth books. I've read it once and tried to give it a second chance, but had to skim through the last quarter of the book. I'll keep it in my collection, but would rather read just about any of the others instead.


To Your Scattered Bodies Go
To Your Scattered Bodies Go
Author: Philip Jose Farmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/19/2015


Interesting concept, but it feels like only part of a larger book. Main character is also not the most endearing at this point.


Whitechapel Gods
Whitechapel Gods
Author: S.M. Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 7/19/2015


A grim take on steampunk. But I enjoyed it and would probably read a follow-up.


1 to 9 of 9