Lindsey G. (LinzluvsGJ) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 113 - Page:
A-10s Over Kosovo: The Victory of Airpower Over a Fielded Army as Told by Those Airmen Who Fought in Operation Allied Force
Review Date: 7/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The NATO-led Operation Allied Force was fought in 1999 to stop Serb atrocities against ethnic Albanians in Kosovo. This war, as noted by the distinguished military historian John Keegan, âmarked a real turning point . . . and proved that a war can be won by airpower alone.â Colonels Haave and Haun have organized firsthand accounts of some of the people who provided that airpowerâthe members of the 40th Expeditionary Operations Group. Their descriptionsâa new wingman's first combat sortie, a support officer's view of a fighter squadron relocation during combat, and a Sandy's leadership in finding and rescuing a downed F-117 pilotâprovide the reader with a legitimate insight into an air war at the tactical level and the airpower that helped convince the Serbian president, Slobodan Milosevic, to capitulate.


Adventures in Tandem Nursing: Breastfeeding During Pregnancy and Beyond
Review Date: 1/9/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book was an amusing and helpful read when I started my time in tandem nursing my two children. I wish I had gotten it while I was pregnant, though, because a lot of the book focuses on the time nursing during pregnancy, not as much the time postpartum when nursing two children.


The Attachment Parenting Book : A Commonsense Guide to Understanding and Nurturing Your Baby
Review Date: 5/25/2006
Helpful Score: 10


Wonderful book that discusses the basics of "attachment parenting" as coined by Dr Sears which is actually an ages old method of raising children. The 7 baby "B's" such as babywearing, breastfeeding, belief in baby's cries, beware of baby trainers, balance, etc. make for a relaxed and balanced approach to parenting where the children are a part of the family, not just accessories to the parents. This book is aimed largely at children under age two, though Attachment parenting obviously stretches throughout the entire process of raising children.


Attachment Parenting: Instinctive Care for Your Baby and Young Child
Review Date: 5/25/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This book was a great book about Attachment Parenting during infancy. It covered breastfeeding and cosleeping in depth with scientific evidence to back up the methods of being a positive influence on your children. I wish it had covered beyond infancy a bit more, however.


The Baby Book
The Baby Book
Author: William Sears, M.D. and Martha Sears, R.N.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The ESSENTIAL guide to children under two, this book discusses everything from breastfeeding/bottle feeding with love, babywearing, sleep issues, development of a child, physical concerns such as illnesses, etc. This book is a wonderful alternative to the popular "what to expect" series which has numerous instances of medical misinformation in them. Dr Sears and his wife, an RN, have successfully raised numerous children and taught many parents in the pediatric practice.


The Baby Book: Everything You Need to Know About Your Baby from Birth to Age Two
Review Date: 5/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The ESSENTIAL guide to children under two, this book discusses everything from breastfeeding/bottle feeding with love, babywearing, sleep issues, development of a child, physical concerns such as illnesses, etc. This book is a wonderful alternative to the popular "what to expect" series which has numerous instances of medical misinformation in them. Dr Sears and his wife, an RN, have successfully raised numerous children and taught many parents in the pediatric practice.


The Baby Book: Everything You Need to Know About Your Baby from Birth to Age Two (Revised and Updated Edition)
Review Date: 5/25/2006
Helpful Score: 6


The ESSENTIAL guide to children under two, this book discusses everything from breastfeeding/bottle feeding with love, babywearing, sleep issues, development of a child, physical concerns such as illnesses, etc. This book is a wonderful alternative to the popular "what to expect" series which has numerous instances of medical misinformation in them. Dr Sears and his wife, an RN, have successfully raised numerous children and taught many parents in the pediatric practice.


Baby Laughs : The Naked Truth About the First Year of Mommyhood
Baby Laughs : The Naked Truth About the First Year of Mommyhood
Author: Jenny McCarthy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 7/9/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book was a major disappointment to me after all the hype. I didn't find it humerous at all... moreso very negative towards parenting experiences. Rather than giving good information to new moms in her book, Ms McCarthy purported myths regarding breastfeeding, co-sleeping, infant feeding and sleeping schedules, birth, and more. She gave incorrect information about many things and was very derrogatory about situations such as breastfeeding even calling lactation consultants "Nursing Nazi"s. She showed her lack of true information when she described a let-down of her milk in the shower as it appearing that there were many holes not just one in her breast... when if she had sought out information on nursing, she would have learned that it is true that there are many openings in a nipple, not just one. She also compares sleeping with a baby to rolling over on her pet dog and pushing it off the bed. She gives incorrect information regarding postpartum depression and postpartum psychosis as well.
Overall, this book was a major disappointment and one that I am sad some new moms may read and view having a baby as a burden and hassle rather than the blessing it is. I would much rather recommend Girlfriend's Guide books for humor or Dr Sear's Baby Book for accurate information.


Baby Scrapbooks: Ideas, Tips, and Techniques for Baby Scrapbooks
Review Date: 3/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Great ideas for journaling and scrapbooking about your infant. Is in the "old style" of scrapbooking from the 90s which is nice and simple rather than overly embellished like some techniques used today to an extreme. Very good for actually getting work done in that baby's scrapbook! LOL


Baby Signs
Baby Signs
Author: Linda Acredolo, Susan Goodwyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 3/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great book for teaching your infant beginning sign language as well as recognizing your child's own natural signs for different things to aid in communication before your child has the verbal skills to convey their wants and needs.


Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 10/5/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This book certainly was not what I expected. It was very vivid in its description of sexual acts and the characters internal feelings about the lives they are living. A decent read that leaves you longing for more at the end.


Biblical Parenting
Biblical Parenting
Author: Crystal Lutton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book about the many misconceptions and misinterpretations of the Bible regarding how we should parent our children. God calls us to love and treat our children with Grace, not with physical punishment. This book discusses how you can discipline your children and work with them to bring them closer to you and to God without spanking or yelling at them.


Boy Meets Girl : Say Hello to Courtship
Boy Meets Girl : Say Hello to Courtship
Author: Joshua Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 5/17/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Wonderful book with new insights into "dating" vs. seeking a relationship leading to marriage. Covers engagement from a Christian point of view-- abstaining from sex, not living together, premarital counseling, etc. I enjoyed this book as a college freshman and it helped me to see dating in a different light as something I could guard my heart against foolish relationships that would go nowhere.


Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason
Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 659
Review Date: 3/8/2006


Hilarious book about Bridget, a slightly neurotic woman, and her (lack of) dating life as she struggles with the mind games prescribed by her self help books and friends advice to win back the heart of her love.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 797
Review Date: 1/11/2006


Funny book by Kinsella again... just as humerous as the shopaholic movies!


Cheap Talk with the Frugal Friends
Cheap Talk with the Frugal Friends
Author: Angie Zalewski, Deana Ricks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/9/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I had high hopes for this book, but the authors didn't put in much info I didn't already know, and actually recommended against some things like couponing which I have used efficiently to save a ton of money! I liked "Shop Save and Share" and "Miserly Moms" a lot more.


A Child's First Bible
A Child's First Bible
Author: Kenneth N. Taylor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book goes through bible stories very nicely with more text than some children's first bibles (better for bedtime in my opinion!) and good illustrations. I do wish it had more in the new testament!


Come Help Change the World
Come Help Change the World
Author: Bill Bright
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 9/5/2005


A book about the beginning of Campus Crusade for Christ.


The Complete Book of Christian Parenting  Child Care: A Medical  Moral Guide to Raising Happy, Healthy Children
Review Date: 1/21/2007


This book seems like a Christian variation of "THE BABY BOOK" by Sears. It is a great combination of medical advice, parenting tips, and discipline through the early years with Christian viewpoints to help back it up.


The Complete Marriage and Family Home Reference Guide
Review Date: 3/14/2006


This book is best with advise regarding teenages in my opinion. Dobson gets very specific about his personal opinions not necessarily biblically based regarding handling infant and toddler issues. Has some good ideas about how to introduce family devotions, etc., in your home, though.


1 to 20 of 113 - Page: