Michele H. (bookmeter) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Best Girlfriends Getaways Worldwide
Best Girlfriends Getaways Worldwide
Author: Marybeth Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/1/2011


I want to go to very place in this book! What fun! The book is brand new!! Just got it today.


Hope Springs from Mended Places: Images of Grace in the Shadows of Life
Review Date: 1/28/2011


I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Komp when she treated my daughter. She is a remarkable doctor with a heart for children and families.

The inside cover jacket reads:
Who do children belong to?
Why would a mother refuse to touch her dying son?
How could a father walk out on his family when they need him most?
What do parents do when one child refuses to save her twins life?
These and other haunting questions emerge from life's shadows as the themes for Dr. Diane Komp's reflections on family life in Hope Springs from Mended Places.

As Dr. Komp cares for sick children, she learns that their parent's earlier relationships as child,sibling,spouse,and friend shaped them to handle the crisis at hand. In each story, we recognize a link with an ancient family who stood at a similar crossroad. Most deeply, these profound stories reveal the inner heart of a mother-her private dreams,disappointments,and courageous struggles.

Dr. Komp has also written : A Window to Heaven:When Children See Life In Death and,

A Child Shall Lead Them: Lessons In Hope From Children With Cancer


How to Satisfy Your Woman Every Time: The Straight Guy's Guide to Housework and Good Grooming
Review Date: 1/31/2011


It's not really about good grooming as much as the title suggests but it is about every aspect of married life and keeping a home "together" etc. Gives the guys great tips on ways to help out around the house etc. It's humurous as well. The cover is misleading.


The Pampered Chef Busy Mom's Cookbook
The Pampered Chef Busy Mom's Cookbook
Author: Doris Christopher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/28/2011


I'm a Pampered Chef addict. I love pampered chef recipes and I especially love cooking some of these on my baking stones which is not a prerequisite to using the cookbook. If you do own any of the Pchef baking stones then you too will love using them with these recipes.
This book is in brand new condition and would make a wonderful gift as well.


Sam's Letters to Jennifer
Sam's Letters to Jennifer
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 476
Review Date: 12/4/2010


Until I read this book I thought Patterson only wrote suspense/thrillers/mystery novels. This was a wonderful book and I could not put this down. I read it in a few hours. I even got emotional towards the end.
If you liked Bridges of Madison County you will like this!


So You're Going to Be a Dad
So You're Going to Be a Dad
Author: Peter Downey, Nik Scott (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/31/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A great book that dispels some of the fears and myths of becoming a father and explains what to expect when your partner is expecting. It is very funny and tastefully done but done with humor which is great for holding a man's attention to get through the book!


We Are Their Heaven: Why the Dead Never Leave Us
We Are Their Heaven: Why the Dead Never Leave Us
Author: Allison DuBois
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/5/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! I love the author! She is such a sincere and loving spirit. It's such a quick read it left me wishing she would write another book quick!
If you have ever wondered what happens when we lose a loved one and whether or not they are around us...this is a great book for you.
This book helps us to understand how death is only a seperation of the soul from the physical body but the soul lives on. It's so comforting especially when you have lost loved ones.
Allison is a phenomenal medium with a wonderful gift and she uses it for the good.


Who Moved My Cheese? An Amazing Way to Deal with Change in Your Work and in Your Life
Review Date: 2/1/2011


A wonderful tool if you are one of those people who does not like change. This is a very short story,easy to read and very easy to grasp. it will help with business and personal life alike. I highly recommend this book.


1 to 8 of 8