Jana C. (kaberle) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Between Friends
Between Friends
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 9/30/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Wonderfully written as a journal from friend to friend throughout their lives. Very good book.


Bloodlines (Star Wars: Legacy of the Force, Bk 2)
Bloodlines (Star Wars: Legacy of the Force, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Traviss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 8/28/2008


Want to learn more about Boba Fett? This is the book for you then. Karen Traviss adds the correct flavors of the Star Wars themes and keeps you on your toes at the same time. This is the second of a series of books that will tug at your heart and make you say Oh No! and Ya! at the same time.


Circle of Friends
Circle of Friends
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 462
Review Date: 8/6/2008


Very different book written about the English commonman in the early 19th century. Well written.


Country Brides: A Little Bit Country / Country Bride
Country Brides: A Little Bit Country / Country Bride
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 328
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Typical of Debbie Macomber's writing style, Country Brides will bring a smile to you face and incite tears in the next moment. Full of the blossom of sweet, young love, this book is a light journey of two women that end up in totally different places then even they expected! Good reading.


The Day Christ Died
The Day Christ Died
Author: Jim Bishop
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/6/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is an amazing book. It makes you feel as if you were there with Jesus and the apostles. As a 20 yr plus studier of the Bible, Jim Bishop has this down pat. A must read even if you are not religious. It will make you cry, so have a hanky near.


For My Daughters
For My Daughters
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 8/6/2008


Moving tale of three estranged sisters that learn about themselves and their Mother-right before it's too late. A very good read.


Home Again
Home Again
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 9/30/2006


Good book with a great ending.


In the Mood (Avon Romance)
In the Mood (Avon Romance)
Author: Suzanne Macpherson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 9/30/2006


Silly and cute romance.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5403
Review Date: 7/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


THE MEMORY KEEPERS DAUGHTER unfolds from an absolutely mesmerizing premise, drawing you deeply and irrevocably into the entangled lives of two families and the devastating secret that shapes them both. I loved this riveting story with its intricate characters and beautiful language.
Sue Monk Kidd

This book was riveting from the moment I picked it up to the moment I set it down. My daughter just read it and felt the same way.
It is hard to let it go but I want another reader to experience this beautifully written book also.


On a Snowy Night: The Christmas Basket / The Snow Bride
On a Snowy Night: The Christmas Basket / The Snow Bride
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 9/30/2006


Typical McComber book.


The Perfect Lie
The Perfect Lie
Author: Dinah Mccall, Sharon Sala
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 7/7/2009


I am not into murder mysteries but this book held my attention from start to finish. It was well done, well planned and an easy read.


The Rescue
The Rescue
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1028
Review Date: 9/30/2006


A wonderful romance by Nicholas Sparks.


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5495
Review Date: 8/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really loved this book, so much so that I rented the movie to watch it. The book was filled with more raw emotion than the movie. But it was also filled with pain, love and redemption.

Written in the first person by a 14 yr old girl named Lily Owens.Set in 1964 in South Carolina, Lily writes about her life which has been shaped by the blurred memory of the day her mother was killed.

Lily's caretaker, the fierce-hearted Roseleen, insults the three worst racists in town and gets beaten and jailed, Lily sets them both free and they escape to Tiburon, South Carolina- a town that holds the secret to her mother's past.

Taken in by three eccentric, educated, beekeeping sisters, Lily is introduced into the mesmerizing world of bees, honey and the Black Madonna.

This is a story about divine female power and love. A worthy read and worthy to hand down to your daughter. I am.


Shoot the Moon
Shoot the Moon
Author: Billie Letts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 204
Review Date: 7/18/2009


This is a great summer book. I was surprised by the ending and pleasantly so. It started out a bit slow but built up speed and ending well. Good book to read on a lazy day.


Someone Knows My Name
Someone Knows My Name
Author: Lawrence Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/6/2010
Helpful Score: 4


This book will have you in its grips from the first page. While the author says a lot of the book was made up to create the novel, it is still based in history and the horrors that made up the slave trade of the 1700-1800s.

Aminata is torn from her family, and sold in America where she is blessed with people who can see her intelligence and strength. Skills that her mother taught her as a child help her to reach a place of importance even as she is sold.

She loses many things in her life but creates a better life for many others in the process. All along you keep hoping beyond hope that she too, will find the happiness that seems to continue to allude her.

Since it is told in the first person you get a more graphic depiction of the horrors of slavery as seen through this young girls eyes, but you never get a real sense of all the facets of her personality.

Great read. I had a hard time putting it down to work!


Sophie's Heart
Sophie's Heart
Author: Lori Wick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 9/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was truly a different romance book. Tender and sweet with real-life situations even if the outcome was fairy-tailish.
Great book.


Susannah's Garden (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Susannah's Garden (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 494
Review Date: 7/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Another one of Debbie Macomber's really great books. A little more detailed than most of her books with a twist I didn't expect at the end. Great reading!


Thursdays at Eight
Thursdays at Eight
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 9/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful book about 4 friendships and the trials of life.


The Unseen Queen (Dark Nest II) (Star Wars)
The Unseen Queen (Dark Nest II) (Star Wars)
Author: Troy Denning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 8/28/2008


This book was great like all Troy Denning books.He really adds the ongoing flavor of the Star Wars theme and makes you feel like you haven't missed a thing in the time-line.
A must read as are all of his SW books.


Voice of the Heart
Voice of the Heart
Author: Barbara Taylor Bradford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Long drawn out story of five people and how their lives are joined and then torn apart-all by one woman. Interesting ending. I quite enjoyed the mystery of the ending.
A good read.


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: