Julie L. (maighdline) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Jonathan Stroud
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 7/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Very well written and fun book. The entire trilogy is entertaining.


Azure Bonds (Forgotten Realms: Finder's Stone, Bk 1)
Azure Bonds (Forgotten Realms: Finder's Stone, Bk 1)
Author: Jeff Grubb, Kate Novak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/9/2009


This trilogy is great! One of the best books I've read this year! Good fantasy with engaging characters.


Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000
Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000
Author: L. Ron Hubbard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 2/9/2009


Don't be fooled by the B Grade movie made from this novel. And don't be fooled by whatever strange stories you might hear about the author. This is a GREAT science fiction book. I didn't expect to love it, but I did.


Both Sides of Time  (The Time Travelers, Bk1)
Both Sides of Time (The Time Travelers, Bk1)
Author: Caroline B. Cooney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 2/9/2009


This is book one of a four-book series. All were very well-written. Romance and time travel at their best.


Call to Arms (The Damned, Book 1)
Call to Arms (The Damned, Book 1)
Author: Alan Dean Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/4/2011


It's always wonderful to find a new author you really like. This book could be just another first contact book, but it manages to break the mold. For once, mankind is not shown as some kind of weak race, easily overcome by aliens. Instead, we are portrayed as actually stronger in many ways (not all of them positive) than our newfound allies and enemies. The main character is likeable, if almost a parody of pacifism. My favorite character is Caldaq, the Massood with a conscience, who is torn between the need for any alliance that might help defeat the Amplitur and his fears that the violence of mankind might tear the Weave apart.


Cuckoo's Egg (Age of Exploration, Bk 3)
Cuckoo's Egg (Age of Exploration, Bk 3)
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/9/2009


A really interesting science fiction story. As with most of this author's works, I really enjoyed it.


Daughter of China : A True Story of Love and Betrayal
Daughter of China : A True Story of Love and Betrayal
Author: Meihong Xu, Larry Engelmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/12/2008


An inside view of life in China. An eye opening read and well worth the time, but I didn't really like the main character very much by the end of the book.


The Deer's Cry (Keltiad: Colloquies of the Ancients, Bk 8)
The Deer's Cry (Keltiad: Colloquies of the Ancients, Bk 8)
Author: Patricia Kennealy-Morrison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/9/2009


I've enjoyed other stories by this author, but found this one, in places, to be difficult to get into. There was far too much detail, which detracted from the story and was really kind of boring.


Deryni Rising
Deryni Rising
Author: Katherine Kurtz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 2/9/2009


The start of the Deryni series. I wanted to love them. I read 9 books from the series. They were quite good in some places and not that great in others. The author spends far too much time relating every small detail of the religious beliefs of the characters and it slows the story down in places to a crawl.


Doomsday Book
Doomsday Book
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 7/12/2008


Incredible book. Impossible to put down. Time travel at it's very best.


Dragondoom (Mithgar)
Dragondoom (Mithgar)
Author: Dennis L. McKiernan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/17/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I've found a new favorite author! What a great book. The entire series is very good in fact. Highly recommended.


Dragonsdawn (Dragonriders of Pern, Bk 9)
Dragonsdawn (Dragonriders of Pern, Bk 9)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 7/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The start of the Pern series. What's not to love? Great book, fantastic series. One of my all time favorite authors!


Dragonsword (Dragonsword, Bk 1)
Dragonsword (Dragonsword, Bk 1)
Author: Gael Baudino
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Disappointing. This author had too much of a political axe to grind. It made it impossible to get into the story.


Elric of Melnibone (Elric Saga, Bk 1)
Elric of Melnibone (Elric Saga, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Moorcock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/9/2009


This series was very good. I've already got several of this author's other books to read. Highly recommended!


Encounter (Deathlands)
Encounter (Deathlands)
Author: James Axler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/9/2009


This prequel is a must-read for anyone who loves the Deathlands series. With that said, it is a bit disappointing in comparison to some of the other books in the series. It's just not in the same league with the better volumes.


How to Make an American Quilt
How to Make an American Quilt
Author: Whitney Otto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 2/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I wanted to love this book. I didn't. I liked it in some places and was bored in others. I found myself skimming (and even wanting to skip) some portions. It would have been a better story without the 'instructions' on how to actually make a quilt.


I Am Mordred: A Tale from Camelot
I Am Mordred: A Tale from Camelot
Author: Nancy Springer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/12/2008


I was very disappointed. I found this book to be hard to get into and boring. I did not read the sequel because I disliked this book so much.


Martin the Warrior (Redwall, Book 6)
Martin the Warrior (Redwall, Book 6)
Author: Brian Jacques
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/9/2009


Brian Jacques is not just for kids! I've enjoyed every one of his books I've read. The Redwall series is well worth the time!


Pilgrimage to Hell (Deathlands, Bk 1)
Pilgrimage to Hell (Deathlands, Bk 1)
Author: Jack Adrian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/9/2009


The start of a really good series. Fast read, plenty of action. Quite violent but still very enjoyable.


Primary Colors : A Novel of Politics
Primary Colors : A Novel of Politics
Author: Anonymous
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 1/1/2011


Most times, the movie isn't as good as the book. I think, in this instance, the movie is better. However, the book is quite good. My favorite character, by far, is the incredible, slightly-deranged, outspoken Libby Holden. Even though I knew the storyline, it held my interest and was just the right mix of funny, sad and disturbing. This is not my usual choice of genre, but I'm really glad I read it.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: