Jill R. (lionjill) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 53 - Page:
The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club, Bk 5) (Unabridged Audio Cassette)
Review Date: 1/29/2016


Interesting story that combines hospital drama and courtroom thriller. From the back: Somebody dies. A young mother is recuperating in a San Francisco hospital when she is suddenly gasping for breath. The call button fails to bring help in time. The hospital 's doctors, some of the best in the nation, are completely mystified by her death. How did this happen? Apocalypse Nears. This is not the first such case at the hospital. Just as patients are about to be released with a clean bill of health, their conditions take a devastating turn for the worse.


An Uncommon Soldier: The Civil War Letters of Sarah Rosetta Wakeman, Alias Private Lyons Wakeman, 153rd Regiment, New York State Volunteers
Review Date: 9/24/2015


actually the introduction is the best part - and is worth getting the book for. It explains about women as soldiers. The letters are pretty mundane - but I do recommend it.


Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing
Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing
Author: Judi Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/19/2012


so clever -the illustrations are funny and the print is easy to read.


Another Stab at Life (Volstead Manor, Bk 1)
Another Stab at Life (Volstead Manor, Bk 1)
Author: Anita Higman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/19/2012
Helpful Score: 5


a romance novel that pretends to be a mystery. I had a hard time finishing this one. It had the stompy foot heroine and the silent, strong but sweet hero. Spoiler alert - They get engaged on their first date. Stupid characters and an implausible plot that relies on dumb luck more than sleuthing. If you like romances and don't care about mystery, then you might enjoy this one.


Antiques Roadkill (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 1)
Antiques Roadkill (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Allan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 5/19/2012


Larger than life quirky characters that slide into the unbelievable. But the plot line is interesting and I enjoyed the story. I hope she dials back the quirky for the next one - I am certainly going to give it a read.


Aqua Erotica: 18 Stories for a Steamy Bath
Aqua Erotica: 18 Stories for a Steamy Bath
Author: Mary Anne Mohanraj
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 2/1/2012


interesting idea and a wide variety of stories


Blind Submission
Blind Submission
Author: Debra Ginsberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/28/2008


I saw this at a bookshop and couldn't resist. I enjoyed this author's writing style. It is an interesting peek in the publishing world as well as a clever mystery.


Corpse Pose (Mantra for Murder, Bk 1)
Corpse Pose (Mantra for Murder, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Killian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 8/14/2011


interesting premise - tended to get bogged down in the middle. Likable characters - nice fast read


The Cracked Pot  (Clay and Crime Bk 2)
The Cracked Pot (Clay and Crime Bk 2)
Author: Melissa Glazer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 6/16/2012


good read with interesting characters and believable plot


Crafting with Cat Hair
Crafting with Cat Hair
Author: Kaori Tsutaya, Amy Hirschman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/1/2015


fun ideas, just not a lot of them. Clever uses for an endless supply of cat hair. Traceable patterns included.


The Crafty Teddy (Bear Collector's, Bk 3)
The Crafty Teddy (Bear Collector's, Bk 3)
Author: John J. Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 7/19/2011


I enjoyed this one - but I have to say - after reading the first two books, I was hoping that the teddies would play less of a pivotal role and more of an accent in the whole crime/mystery. There can only be so many teddy crimes, after all, without it being a very dangerous hobby.


Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 1)
Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 1)
Author: Blaize Clement
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 2/1/2012


fun read - likable sleuth with an interesting job. I want to read more Dixie Hemingways!


The Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber Tree (Darling Dahlias, Bk 1)
Review Date: 4/8/2015


an interesting take on the cozy - set in the depression. The mystery is slow to take off, but it had good characters and interesting descriptions of the time and place. Not a riveting page turner but a good read.


Decorating With Flea Market Finds
Decorating With Flea Market Finds
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/17/2011


nice illustrations and shopping pointers


Dream of Fair Woman
Dream of Fair Woman
Author: Charlotte Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/19/2012


an older book - but a fascinating premise and interesting characters make it very readable.


Duplicity Dogged the Dachshund (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 2)
Duplicity Dogged the Dachshund (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 2)
Author: Blaize Clement
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 3/22/2012


Although I enjoyed solving the mystery, I really really wished the author had not used the images of violence against animals. I enjoy reading mysteries with animals in them - so this was very disturbing to me.


Eggs in Purgatory (Cackleberry Club, Bk 1)
Eggs in Purgatory (Cackleberry Club, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 9/9/2011


good mystery - cram-packed with food. The author lovingly describes many dishes served in the cafe where the mystery is placed. (It was a little too much for me, but some might like all of the descriptions.) Very similar in tone to the knitting series, so if you like it you will like this one.


The False-Hearted Teddy (Bear Collector, Bk 2)
The False-Hearted Teddy (Bear Collector, Bk 2)
Author: John J. Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 5/14/2011


another great teddy bear mystery. Even though I am not a teddy bear collector I enjoy the story and end up appreciate the collectors and bear-makers by the time I am finis reading Lamb's stories.


Flea Market Decorating: Creating Style with Vintage Finds
Flea Market Decorating: Creating Style with Vintage Finds
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/29/2012


nice photos, good ideas


Gone with the Groom (Bridal Mayhem, Bk 2)
Gone with the Groom (Bridal Mayhem, Bk 2)
Author: Janice Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/16/2009


I just kept waiting for this one to catch fire and get interesting. If you don't mind the slow paced writing, you might enjoy it - just not for me.


1 to 20 of 53 - Page: