Donna W. (dmwoeckener) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/7/2013


Husband read this, but said it was awesome!


At Home in Covington (Ladies of Covington, Bk 5)
At Home in Covington (Ladies of Covington, Bk 5)
Author: Joan Medlicott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/16/2013


Love this series!


Barefoot
Barefoot
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 7/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I am now hooked on Elin Hilderbrand's books. This is the 2nd one I've read, and I loved it. Perfect summer read!


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 7/16/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Really enjoyed this book. There was a great twist in the plot that I didn't see coming. I love it when that happens. The mix of characters kept my interest.


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book. This was the first "non-romance" of James Patterson that I've read. It was suspenseful, short, easy to read chapters and I couldn't put it down!


The Blue Moon
The Blue Moon
Author: Lorena McCourtney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/20/2010


This was probably one of my favorite books of Lorena's. It had suspense that kept me guessing all the way to the end. If you're a fan of Lorena's writing, you'll definitely want to pick this one up!


The Blue Moon
The Blue Moon
Author: Lorena McCourtney
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 3/27/2010


I absolutely loved this story. It is one of my favorites of Lorena McCourtney's that I've read to date. She kept me guessing as to who the culprit was, and it held my interest. If you're a fan of mystery, and a fan of Lorena McCourtney, you'll definitely enjoy this one!


Buffalo West Wing (White House Chef, Bk 4)
Buffalo West Wing (White House Chef, Bk 4)
Author: Julie Hyzy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 4/9/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Often by the time you get to a 4th book in a series, they all start sounding the same, or the story drags and it's just not as good as the first.

However, Julie Hyzy continues to keep me hooked on the White House Chef books. I love them because the story line is wonderful, and keeps me guessing. There is nothing raunchy or objectionable in the books, which for someone who usually reads Christian fiction, is welcomed!

In the first 3 books, the main character Ollie manages to get herself into trouble, winding up involved in a murder investigation, or the like, somehow. And I admit that when I opened this book, I thought "Oh Lord. Wonder what mess she'll get herself into this time." And I dreaded it, thinking it would be a little predictable. However, she was much less involved than in the previous books, and that was a welcome, more realistic change. Thanks Julie!


Cape Light (Cape Light, Bk 1)
Cape Light (Cape Light, Bk 1)
Author: Thomas Kinkade, Katherine Spencer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 1/8/2013


Took me almost half of the book to get into it... it was slow going. But once the story line picked up, I really enjoyed it and then couldn't put it down. Am anxious to read the rest of the series to see where Kincade takes these characters!


Cemetery Girl
Cemetery Girl
Author: David Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 5/14/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I normally read Christian Fiction, but this just looked so interesting, I had to read it. There was a bit of language in here, but in retrospect, it was just part of the character's personality.

There was plenty of suspense to keep you turning the pages. Definitely worth reading!


Chasing Shadows (Steeple Hill)
Chasing Shadows (Steeple Hill)
Author: Terri Reed
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/11/2010


This book was ok. Didn't wow me. But it was a cute little mystery.


A Christmas Promise (Cape Light, Bk 5)
A Christmas Promise (Cape Light, Bk 5)
Author: Thomas Kinkade, Katherine Spencer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/16/2013


Love this series.


A Christmas Promise (Cape Light Novels)
A Christmas Promise (Cape Light Novels)
Author: Thomas Kinkade, Katherine Spencer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/30/2013


Really love this series!


The Christmas Wish
The Christmas Wish
Author: Richard M. Siddoway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/14/2014


Great little Christmas story.


Code Orange
Code Orange
Author: Caroline B. Cooney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 9/6/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Read this with my son, and it was a great story. For a young adult book, it help my interest (as an adult). Great story, and the characters were hysterical.


Confessions of a Counterfeit Farm Girl
Confessions of a Counterfeit Farm Girl
Author: Susan McCorkindale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 3/14/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book was really quite funny. But honestly, the best part for me was reading about places near where I used to live in Virginia. I could picture where she was, the landscape and scenery. And Susan McCorkindale has quite a sense of humor. I laughed out loud throughout this book. Highly recommend it!


A Covington Christmas (Ladies of Covington)
A Covington Christmas (Ladies of Covington)
Author: Joan Medlicott
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/25/2014


Fabulous book. Love this series.


Delivered with Love
Delivered with Love
Author: Sherry Kyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/29/2012


The story itself was good, but the beginning of the story of Claire's adventures were just too easy. The ease of which things happened and fell into place just don't happen to people in real life. Once she got settled into her new life, the events that happened to her seemed more plausible. Overall, it was a good story and the pace with which I read the 2nd half of the book picked up, as I couldn't wait to find out what happened!


Edge of Honor
Edge of Honor
Author: Gilbert Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/16/2012


I have always loved Gilbert Morris' books. This one didn't disappoint either.


The First Gardener
The First Gardener
Author: Denise Hildreth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/16/2013


Love Denise Hildreth. Every book she's written has touched me whether through hysterical laughter or tears. This one just touched my heart. Great read!


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: