Reviews - Lana K. (mazeydazey) - Louisville, KY

1 to 20 of 120 - Page:
9 Dragons (Harry Bosch, Bk 15)
9 Dragons (Harry Bosch, Bk 15)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 4/5/2010


"Another good book by M. Connelly. Harry Bosch at his best! Recommend to others."


Acts of Violets (Flower Shop Mystery, Bk 5)
Acts of Violets (Flower Shop Mystery, Bk 5)
Author: Kate Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 3/1/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is my favorite so far of the Flower Shop Mystery books; although I have liked them all. They are fast reads! I liken them with the Janet Evanovich number books. If you like those you will like these."


Always on My Mind (Lucky Harbor, Bk 8)
Always on My Mind (Lucky Harbor, Bk 8)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 12/4/2013


"Loved Jack and Leah's story. Nothing better than long term friends realizing what they felt all along was really more than friendship. It's hard for me to pick between the Lucky Harbor series and the Animal Magnetism series as to which is my favorite.....let's just say Jill hits it out of the park with both series and I recommend them both to all contemporary romance lovers!"


American Wife
American Wife
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 4/2/2010


"If you think this book is about Laura and George Bush then think again. It might loosely be based on Laura Bush's life but really it is just a good fictional book. I liked the book, at times it was slow, but overall it was a good read. I recommend it to others. There were times when I thought I was reading about Laura or George and then something would happen that would yank that image right out of my head. So I have to say, read the book, enjoy it for what it is -- fiction!"


Anything But Love (Cupcake Lovers, Bk 3)
Anything But Love (Cupcake Lovers, Bk 3)
Author: Beth Ciotta
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/3/2013
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I enjoyed this book until the end. I really liked Rae & Luke's story but the book just ended. I didn't feel like it wrapped up the loose ends.

I read somewhere Ms. Ciotta had a hard time with this book and maybe she just couldn't come up with a better ending. I'm glad I read it in the fact that it still had most of the characters from previous books plus another new character or two. I will still continue with the series as I like the folks in Sugar Creek. Just hoping the next book will have a better ending."


The Art Forger
The Art Forger
Author: B. A. Shapiro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/7/2013
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book. It started out slow but about 60 pages in, it clicked for me and I couldn't read it fast enough. I enjoyed how it was written....going back and forth from past to present. The past primarily represented by letters of Belle Gardner and the present, the meat of the story, which included the forgery or as it was referred to, a copy of a copy. One of the things that struck me as so true is we often see only what we want to see and that we all have lines we are willing to cross for whatever reason...we just have to figure how far we will go.

Though this book is based on an actual event most of it is fictional but there was a lot of accuracies regarding art, the art world, paints, textures and forgery techniques; maybe more than most people want to know but I found it fascinating. I definitely recommend this book to others."


Barefoot
Barefoot
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 558
Review Date: 1/27/2010


"I normally read suspense, thrillers or suspense romance novels so this was definitely out of my genre. I enjoyed the book but I must say when I finished it, I couldn't get it off my mind. I loved the characters but I wanted it to end differently, not that it ended badly. It left me unsettled which is not necessarily a bad thing. I just can't explain how I felt. I've read a lot of books over the years and this book just grabbed me. I immediately went out and purchased another book by Ms. Hilderbrand "A Summer Affair" and I felt the same way after I read it. It couldn't have ended any differently but I wanted it too. I know this is a weird review and I hope it doesn't discourage you from reading her books because I defintely recommend them. I have The Castaways on my "Wish List". Ms. Hilderbrand's unique writing style, subject matter and descriptions of Nantucket keep me wanting more."


Black Silk
Black Silk
Author: Metsy Hingle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 6/4/2010


"I enjoyed this Metsy Hingle book. I have read others by her and this one does not disappoint. I liked the mystery with a little bit of romance mixed in. The setting is based in New Orleans which always gives a little extra zing to any story. I recommend this book to others."


Blame It on Paris
Blame It on Paris
Author: Jennifer Greene
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 5/11/2010


"You gotta love a book that is set in Paris, the City of Lights! Sweet, light read. Jennfer Greene does not disappoint."


The Bungalow
The Bungalow
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 3/6/2013


"I enjoyed this book. Loved the time period -- 1942 and the South Pacific, what a great setting. Ms. Jio made me feel as if I were there...the white sandy beaches, the beautiful blue-green sea and the magic of love and the tragedy of war. Though I found the storyline to be a little predictable it was still a very pleasant read. I definitely recommend this book to others and I will be reading more Sarah Jio books."


The Care and Feeding of Unmarried Men
The Care and Feeding of Unmarried Men
Author: Christie Ridgway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 10/5/2010


"Light read but enjoyable nonetheless. I liked the characters. I did not read the first book but have just ordered it. Doesn't appear that you need to read them in order."


The Carrie Diaries
The Carrie Diaries
Author: Candace Bushnell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 2/21/2011
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I am a huge SITC fan! I love Carrie. I read the reviews before I read the book so was not expecting much from the book but I must say I was surprised. It is a YA book and I can honestly say I am glad I am way finished with my high school years. It was defintely a reminder that I never want to do that again!!

Having said that,I liked the book. I could picture a young Carrie -- the funky clothes, the way she thought, smoking, drinking singapore slings instead of cosmos, etc. I was surprised by her attitude and feelings toward Sebastian but I think in the end she came round and that relationship defined her future attitude toward guys including why she had committment issues. And then Walt...wow, a whole other relationship that helped with the portrayal of future friendships on the TV show, SITC. So was she at times wimpy in the book? Yeah, who wasn't in high school?

But the ending in the book???? How could you not like the last page??? She got a real dose of NYC and then we got to see how she .... oops can't spoil the ending.(even though it was different from SITC) still a cute ending nonetheless!)

Overall it's a book, it's fiction, it's entertainment. Take it for that! I did and was happy with it."


Charmed and Dangerous (aka Bobbie Faye's Very (very, very, very) Bad Day) (Bobbie Faye, Bk 1)
Review Date: 9/30/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"What a hoot! Bobbie Faye could sure give Stephanie Plum (Janet Evanovich's character in the By the Numbers books) a run for her money! I adore Stephanie but Bobbie Faye and her myriad of characters, oh my, they are just too funny! I have the other two books in the trilogy on my wish list but I may not be able to wait. I feel a quick trip to Barnes & Noble on the horizon. If you like to laugh with a little mystery thrown in, and a couple of sexy guys to boot, Charmed and Dangerous is your book."


Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 1)
Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 1)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 4/16/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Can't wait to read the series and try out some of the recipes! Love Moishe the cat."


Collateral Damage (Stone Barrington, Bk 25)
Collateral Damage (Stone Barrington, Bk 25)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/23/2013


"With Stuart Woods you always know what you are going to get -- Stone & Dino outfoxing the bad guys, Stone with a woman, this time Holly who is a great character, and food and drink from cool NYC haunts! Even though it is standard fair, I always enjoy reading Mr. Woods. Yes it is a light, fast read but I liked this one -- maybe better than some of his recent stuff. It is a continuation from Severe Clear and though you don't have to read Severe Clear to follow Collateral Damage it will help in understanding the history of the terrorists."


The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder
The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 10/19/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"It's funny how one person can read a book and not like it and another person can simply adore it but that is what makes the world go round! It would be a sad place if we all thought the same thing. eh??? Having said that I thought this book was fantastic! I listened to it on my CD player as I was driving to Missouri. I can't remember who read the book but she was great. Round trip was 14 hours and it took every minute to hear it but it made the trip go by so quickly. I liked it so much that a year later I read the book and enjoyed reading it as much as listening to it. If you like the Ya-Yas you should like this book. The characters are wonderful, the places so mystical. What is not to love about Louisiana?? The book took me back to my childhood and even though I didn't have an unusual family like Calla Lily, it did remind me of the summers I spent on my Grandmas farm. I laughed, I cried and at the end of the book it warmed my heart. Rebecca Wells is a great author and a wonderful person who has overcome a lot of obstacles in her life. I admire her and enjoy her books. I recommend you check out her website. I love the moon and the moon loves me......Yes you must read The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder."


The Darkest Hour (KGI, Bk 1)
The Darkest Hour (KGI, Bk 1)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 6/28/2011


"I love the KGI books by Maya Banks. The Darketst Hour is the first in the series. Ethan and his brothers are HOT!! The book has a great story line and the family camaraderie and dynamics are wonderful. So if you like a book about dodging bullets, drug cartels and unrequited love, this is the book for you!"


The Daughter
The Daughter
Author: Jasmine Cresswell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/12/2010


"Another good book by Jasmine Cresswell. It was a light read but had some good twists and turns. We should all have a Sean McLeod in our lives. Recommend to others."


Dead on the Dance Floor (O'Casey Brothers, Bk 1)
Dead on the Dance Floor (O'Casey Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 8/4/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I liked this book and with all the dance craze going around now with Dancing with the Stars I found it to be even more enjoyable. The book kept me guessing on "whodunit". A little spice, along with the thrill. Definitely receommend to others if you like a fast-paced, light read."


Dearly Depotted  (Flower Shop, Bk 3)
Dearly Depotted (Flower Shop, Bk 3)
Author: Kate Collins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 2/24/2010


"3rd in the Series and another fun read by Kate Collins. As usual Abby is hot on the trail to solve another murder. If you like this series and I do, you will like this book as well. Recommend read for the Flower Shop series!"


1 to 20 of 120 - Page: